We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and nice. Superb location”
Review of HOTEL DU DAUPHIN

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HOTEL DU DAUPHIN
Ranked #136 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The hotel is located in the first and second floors of the building. It has been nearly renewed and the rooms are clean and nice (although very small, which was OK for me since I just wanted to sleep there). The location is great, since it is on Rue Victor Hugo, few steps away from the Lyon's Bellecour square.

The staff was very helpful during the whole stay, and there is a fair good free WiFi connection available.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Álvaro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

The hotel is in a great location on Rue Victor Hugo which gives immediate access to the Old City of Lyon. The hotel itself was a bit small and cramped however. We weren't expecting a luxury hotel for the price we were paying, but the room and bathroom were small and the bed not that comfortable. We also happened to be on the second floor right on the street which stayed loud late into the night. There was also a neon light as part of the hotel sign right outside our window. The building was secure however and they offer a nice service of being able to park your car in the garage in the nearby Hotel Alexandra. Take care when trying to drive on Rue Victor Hugo however. It's near impossible due to all the pedestrians. We only spent one night in this hotel and it served our purpose of putting us close to the Old City.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fisherow373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Good quality hotel at the upper end of the two-star level. Location is fantastic - right near the Bellecour, and near shopping and a laundromat. We upgraded to a superior room which seemed well worth it (while they were cleaning we peaked into the other rooms and they were s-m-a-l-l). Our room was more than comfortable for me and my husband to walk around in. No amenities beyond free wifi. Did not have the breakfast and they did not push it. Small shower (as many have mentioned). Some plaster falling off the wall and cracks in the ceiling, but as I've found this is par for the course for two star hotels in Europe so no big surprise.
Only real problem was the cleaning - our duvet had a big stain on ti when we arrived and we asked for it to be cleaned. Over 5 nights, they never cleaned it, just kept flipping it over. Pretty gross. Perhaps if we spoke better French, this might have been averted but as is this was the one big downside to our stay there.

Room Tip: Upgrade or ask for a superior room. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tarawow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

What a nice surprise this hotel was. Loved the location. Don't be put off by the ancient stone staircase or the tiny elevator or the broken worn tile entry. Those are the history of the millions of past feet and current landlord. We stuck the luggage in the elevator and used the stairs. One flight up. Passed the camera monitored entrance and the door opened to a bright, clean reception area.

Our room, number 9, was up one (past the book exchange on the stairs) and had a good view of the street below. No problem with noise. After Paris, the room looked spacious to us - maybe 30" from the bottom of the bed to the wall and 60" from the side of the bed to the window. The bathroom got the prize for smallest of the 30 on our trip, but everything was nice, clean, worked well and gave us a good chuckle. No worries

There was a mini-closet, clean fluffy duvets, spare pillow and blanket, a radiator for drying all our laundry, flat screen tv, small table, chair and luggage rack. A great room for E99/E108. We would have stayed longer if we could have.

We came to Lyon on the TGV-1st. BTW- we were disappointed in the Express Bleu food (croq' M/ assiette/ 2 fromages/ 2 cafe = E20.7) and very happily surprised by the cold lunch box on the train (we got one for the two of us and were full - chicken/ mashed potatoes with cheese and almonds/ green beens with lentils/ zuchinni with mint/ creme carmel E19.90)

Transport from station Part Dieu to Dauphin - E13 by taxi, return to station by bus E 3.6 for two. Bus was faster, but remember to cross the street to the station, don't go straight in to the mall. (I tried to do that, but hubby wasn't buying my story.)

For breakfast - I'm gluten-free so chose to turn right, cross the field and grab goodies for Maison Pignol and espressos (turn left) at SAS brioche doree.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruznut1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I arrived at this hotel with few expectations, which might explain why I was so pleasantly surprised.
The hotel is comprised of 2 floors within a residential building (which quite appealed to my taste) and is very clean. Decor is average, and the bathrooms are a bit on the smallish side, but not so small you can't manoeuvre in it. And the hotel is very clean.

I didn't opt for the breakfast (why would you when you can go to any number of cafés in France's Gastronomic capital?), so can't explain, but as some other reviewers have indicated, the price for the hotel's breakfast did seem quite steep.

The location is ideal with lots of shops around, and very central. Convenient to walk almost anywhere you want to go, otherwise could hop on the Metro just a short 5 minute walk away, or rent a bike.

All in all.... the hotel definitely added to my recent trip being a relaxed and memorable one.
And the free wi-fi throughout my stay was a definite plus.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank scooterboy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The hotel is situated in a pedestrianised area, in a myriad of one way streets so don't rely on your sat nav if driving there. There is secure garage parking available at a partner hotel on the same street (bit pricey, even for a city centre) but again the one way streets make this a little tricky to locate. The room itself was small but clean, with the bonus of a balcony. Breakfast was standard continental fayre of bread and croissants. Staff were pleasant and hotel is right in the city centre. Take a walk to Vieux Lyon for lots of eateries.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DitchChich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I didn't like much this hotel. The rooms are tiny, the hotel itself is in fact two floors in a building located in a pedestrian street. The entrance is scary: dirty, dark and looks almost abandoned. After you enter it, the hotel is actually remarkably clean. But I think it is a choice for business travellers, alone in a city, that just want a place to sleep and nothing else.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandrebrasil1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel Bayard Bellecour
#100 of 194 in Lyon
336 reviews
Republik Hotel
#86 of 194 in Lyon
210 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#64 of 194 in Lyon
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Residence
#37 of 194 in Lyon
557 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Best Western Saint Antoine
Hotel des Celestins
#14 of 194 in Lyon
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL DU DAUPHIN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL DU DAUPHIN

Address: 9 rue Victor Hugo, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: £57 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HOTEL DU DAUPHIN 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don’t miss Hotel Du Dauphin, a charming and cozy two-star hotel entirely refurbished for an even greater comfort, right on place Bellecour.Its warm and individual welcome will advise you about where to go and what to see in our beautiful city of lights.Two steps from the old town come and stroll into the pedestrian streets and discover our museums and our famous "bouchons", irresistible food of Lyon!Hotel Du Dauphin and its renovated rooms with free internet wifi access will definitely be a source of sweetness during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your HOTEL DU DAUPHIN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing