We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nice!”
Review of Hotel Tete d'or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tete d'or
Ranked #44 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The location was great, in a nice and safe area just 15 minutes walk from the old town. It was public bikes just around the corner, and Lyon is perfect for cycling!! The staff were polite and helpful. Would love to go there another time!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Vilde F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Good quality for 2 star hotel.
Location is ok, walking distance to most of Lyon and nice position for the park which is a short walk.
Breakfast was the highlight- good service and tasty, fresh food.
Our room was clean, slightly small but to be expected in French cities - as we've read!
Overall good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vixhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I have really not much bad to say about this hotel. The first big plus was the cordiality, and friendliness of the staff. I stayed for one night, I asked for an iron, they gave it to me and allowed me to give it back next day (this is not to be underestimated, same request in Rome few weeks after in a 3 stars hotel received as an answer "you know, we are just three star, we have only one iron common for all our guests in the hall of the second floor"). After checkout I left my baggage, came back and still needed more time and it was raining: the staff borrowed me an umbrella to continue my excursion :o.

The room was quite small but at the end quite functional. The only slightly weaker point is breakfast, which could be slightly improved. Otherwise perfect!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZioSeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband, myself and daughter stayed here for 3 nights.
The pros: The proprietors were very nice. It was clean, and was well-located - it was possible to walk to the old town - though a bit far, or it was just a short walk to the metro and an easy ride to all the sights.
We had 3 twin beds in our family room(two were right next to each other to create a double bed)

The Cons: We stayed on the top floor, and the ceiling sloped. To use the toilet, I had to duck down (I am 5 ft, 11in) and to dry my hair in front of the bathroom mirror, I couldn't stand up straight because the ceiling was too low.
It didn't bother us, but the lift was extremely small and narrow. Our family of two adults and a six year old filled the entire space of the lift.

Room Tip: Beware the ceilings slope on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

When looking for a great, clean, friendly, wonderfully located in Lyon hotel, right on budget, with a tasty breakfast in the morning Hotel Tête D'or has it all! Will come back any time. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMaslanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

very close to a main shopping area, a train station and a delicious inexpensive breakfast bakery. the folks at the reception spoke enough English to help us book a very early morning taxi for our departure, which was great! the hotel is a short walk to a huge park with a free zoo, botanical garden and wonderful walking trails. the room was small. from the photos, i thought that the bathrooms would be enormous and on a seperate level... a little confusing. and there was no coffee maker, which i had become very used to in the other hotels that we stayed at. it was also nice that it was just off a busy street...pretty quiet and comfortable. oh, and the curtains were so dark, that when you closed them, it was completely dark. great sleeping atmosphere

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We are happy that we have discovered this new little jewel in Lyon.

The owner and his team give you a very warm welcome and want to ensure that you will enjoy your stay at their place. They all are very involved by making your stay and the hotel to a success. We liked the decor of the hotel and the room, the comfortable beds and we enjoyed the breakfast in the lobby of the hotel, which is a very bright room by the big windows.

We know that there are hotels with bigger rooms than offered in this hotel. But at the end, how longue will you be in the room when you are visiting Lyon ? And on top.... what are you looking for: warm hospitality and people that are interested and are willing to make your stay to a success, or are you looking for just a standard chain hotel with an anonymous check-in ?

It's well placed in a quiet residential area with a beautiful shops of a high standard. We had the opportunity to park our car in the parking of the hotel (places are limited, so ask in advance). Within 10-15 minutes walking you will at the Opera and you will enjoy the 'madness of town'.

we think we have found our 'pied a terre' in Lyon .

Robert & Marco

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Marechal Lyautey - Vitton
Hotel au Patio Morand
Hotel au Patio Morand
#61 of 194 in Lyon
62 reviews
Hotel Le Roosevelt
#59 of 194 in Lyon
427 reviews
Mama Shelter Lyon
#6 of 194 in Lyon
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#5 of 194 in Lyon
354 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel du Simplon
Hotel du Simplon
#52 of 194 in Lyon
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tete d'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tete d'or

Address: 62 rue Garibaldi, 69006, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: £58 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tete d'or 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tete d'or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing