We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel by the River on the Outskirts of Lyon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale
Ranked #2 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel by the River on the Outskirts of Lyon”
Reviewed 30 March 2011

When my flight home from Paris was cancelled by the Icelandic volcano (you know, the one with the long, unpronounceable name), I had 5 additional days at the end of a business trip to spend in Europe. Having already visited Paris 10 times, I decided to venture out to see other places. Unfortunately, France was in the midst of a two-week long rolling train strike, so getting to where you wanted to go (in this case, the Loire valley) was difficult at best. So I hopped on one of the few trains leaving the deserted Charles de Gaulle airport that day, bound for Lyon. I did some quick research before leaving, and thought I would give the highly recommended Hotel de las Cite Concorde a try. I am very glad I did.

Although the hotel is ~15 min by electric bus from the Part Dieu train station, it is in a lovely area: bounded by a park on one side, the Rhone River on the other, and in a collection of modern buildings called Cite Internationale that include hotels, restaurants, theaters and museums. The bus stops mere meters from the entrance to the hotel. The room was ultra-modern and clean, with a wonderful view of the river. It was large by European standards and tastefully decorated. The rate of 145 Euros included a great breakfast buffet, with a myriad of choices (eggs, meats, cheeses, fruits, yogurt, hot and cold cereals, juices, coffees, teas and hot chocolate). I spent only one night at this hotel, but wish I had stayed longer. Lyon is a wonderful big city, with several nice sights, that is ofter overlooked by travelers. If you are headed to Lyon, and you would like a nice, modern hotel in a quiet area, away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, then the Hotel de la Cite Concorde is for you.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpikeMeister226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordeLyon, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear SpikeMeister,

We would like to thank you for this wonderful comment! By the way, your pictures are awesome.

We are sorry that you got stuck in France during the volcano episode last year, but very happy that you got a nice experience of our hotel in the meantime.

Your compliments on the buffet breakfast were passed on to the restaurant and they would like to thank you warmly. You can really make a true meal with our buffet breakfast!

To follow up on your words, it is true that the hotel’s environment is ideal with the large park Tête d’Or, the panoramic view on the River Rhône and the up-and-coming Cité Internationale neighbourhood.

The access is very easy thanks to public transportation, both from the airport (20minutes) or from the train station (10 minutes). Being built in 2006, our rooms are very modern and our location allows for bright, calm rooms and scenic views.

As you say, it is true that Lyon is sometimes overlooked by tourism travellers, although the city is worth taking some time visiting: the old Lyon, the Parc de la Tête d’Or, Fourvière or the classic French restaurants and “bouchons lyonnais”.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again, maybe a longer stay,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    410
    56
    12
    10
See reviews for
130
460
60
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

The hotel is somewhat outside of Lyon proper, but can easily be reached by bus. And the park is an added bonus. Rooms are fairly regular in size and clean. Nice view: the Rhone on one side, the parc on the other.

WiFi is free, which scores extra points in my book. There are too many business hotels that charge huge fees. The personal is friendly and do their best to offer a special stay.
They send out questionnaires afterward to see how they could improve their service (but don't report back on suggestions)

I'm a repeat visitor to this hotel, it's one of my favorites in Lyon.
I've had some adverse situations: an outside door that didn't close, and a safe that couldn't be reset, but they tried to resolve this as soon as possible.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeakFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordeLyon, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Dear SpeakFreak,

We would like to thank you very much for your nice words. We are happy to read that, as a repeat guest, you appreciate our hotel for its quality and consistency and high level of service – especially reactivity to problems.

Also, as you mentioned, at Hotel de la Cité Concorde, we feel that nowadays, wifi should be free in hotels. Therefore, we do not charge extra for this service.

Quality and customer satisfaction is the first of our concerns. We give a very high value to our customers’ comments and the questionnaires we send out after the stay allow us to improve every day. Your words are passed on to the whole team and we try to be as reactive as possible to any issue.

However, we must admit that we have been victims of our success on this point. We do apologize for the inconvenience and will do our best to be more reactive in the future.

Yet, we hope that this word will find you, as we would like to thank you again for your loyalty.

In the hope of welcoming you again soon in Lyon,

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

I really liked this hotel. The location was great for my personal taste (a bit outside the hustle and bustle of the city and opposite a beautiful park). It was just 10 minutes away from the main train station on the tram which stops right outside the hotel. One day we went walking to the old part of town. The walk was lovely and took about half an hour. The desk staff was very friendly and spoke a number of languages. The breakfast seemed insanely expensive (about €20) and we didn't try it. The beds were comfy and clean, and the bathroom was also clean although not anything fancy (no marble or expensive finishings). The room had a flat screen teleivision and there was almost no noise at night - great for sleeping! The price was a bit high (€120), but I am not sure if this is standard or if it was because we went on a long weekend. The free WiFi was a nice feature.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bentotata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

I came to the Hotel de la Cité for a weekend with my wife and what a surprise!!! The staff and the service were amazing ! we were advised on all the good spots to see the Fêtes des Lumières.

Our bedroom was clean and overviewing the Park and Fourevière cathedral. There was lot of space and the bathroom amenities were labelled "bio" which is for us essential.

The location was perfect not to far from the city centre and also the airport which is linked by a train to Part Dieu and then the Tram C1.

We went to the bar for a cocktail which was tasty and then ate at the restaurant of the hotel it was busy due to a show next by linked to the festival. The food was generous and nicely presented. Our waitress was superb and gave such a good experience.

I would recommend definitly some nice place such as Fourvière, Maison des Canuts, Saint Nizier church and the roman Saint Jean area.

We will definitly recommend this hotel to our familly and friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

My husband and I spent a weekend in Lyon to see the Fete des Lumieres light show in the city. All of the downtown hotel rooms were booked for this annual event, so we decided to stay at the Cite' Hotel near the Tete d'Or park. We are grateful that we did. It is true that the hotel is slightly out of the downtown area, but Bus 58 or Tram C stops are a few paces away and both will take you to the city center of Lyon in about 10 minutes. There is underground public parking (for a fee) on-site and within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, a huge multiplex theatre, a performance arena and several un-charming restaurants. The Hilton Hotel is also within this same modern 'city' , which was designed by Renzo Piano. The Cite' Hotel is ultra modern and the rooms are clean, quiet and relaxing. The bath was the cleanest I've ever seen in any hotel in the world. The WiFi was free and the connection was fast. The staff of the hotel were extremely courteous and helpful. Thierry, a Front Desk agent, made us a dinner reservation at a downtown restaurant that was fantastic. In fact, we only got a table at the Bistro des Maquignons because Thierry is good friends with the head waitress. Many walk-ins were turned away at the door of this bistro, so we were very thankful for Thierry's restaurant suggestion and reservation. Our only experience at this hotel that was less than perfect was the bar service. We were served at a table quickly, but it took forever to get the bill and even longer to pay it. Eventually we followed the lead of the other frustrated bar patrons and we walked up to the bar from the table to pay the bill. Perhaps this is customary, but it was puzzling for us that the waiter looked directly at us and saw that we were waiting for the bill (and waiting to pay) but he ignored us. All in all, this is a wonderful hotel for seeing the city of Lyon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsEllen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordeLyon, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale, responded to this review, 17 December 2010
Dear MsEllen88,

Thank you very much for your nice comments on your stay in Lyon. We are happy that you spent your first Fête des Lumières in our hotel. This even is very important and emotional for us in Lyon and we work hard for guests to enjoy it as much as we do!

We also feel like we are in a great location for this event - close to the city centre and yet in a very quiet and green area, which makes our rooms quite relaxing.

Your compliments will be shared with the team, especially the Front Desk, and I am certain they will be touched. We do our best to dig out good plans for our guests and we are glad you liked the restaurant we advised.

As far as the bar is concerned, it is true that waiting for the bill can be frustrating! I understand your concern and thank you for bringing this to our attention. Your comments always help us to improve our service, you know. I’d like to inform you that we already worked with our staff to make bar service prompter, I hope you’ll like it next time.

It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we look forward to serving you again in the future,

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Our experience with Hotel de la Concorde was clearly unusual, but failing to honour a *prepaid and confirmed* reservation and being repeatedly and athletically "economic with the truth" in excusing that decision is appalling by any standard. (Their actions deserve no such euphemism - but my review might be struck out if I do not use one and people ought to know what can happen there.)
Forget the 15Euro overnight car parking charge, forget the tourist-unfriendly location way outside the old centre, forget the industrial, cheap furniture and the fact that there is nothing but industrial complex within walking - these are forgivable in a cheap hotel - but what happened to us is not.
We booked through 0800 Hotels (1800Hotels) and duly had the full cost of the stay (about £65) debited from our credit card account, and received the confirmation slip to present for check-in.
We were checked in using the confirmation slip, and after showering, we had a call from Reception saying that there was a "problem with the reservation". In fact,
we found out much later that 1800Hotels had gone bust between taking our cash and our checking-in. But over a period of 2 hours the hotel "tried to find out what happened" then repeatedly falsely accused us of having not paid, despite our presenting the receipt and confirmation slip. While we were ignorant of 1800Hotels' failure, it is extremely difficult to believe that they were still ignorant that their own agent was bust 2 weeks after it had happened. Easier to pretend their customer had not paid.
But that was not the end of the insult - having paid once they said I must pay again about double the rate - 120Euros - or I must leave the room. I would have paid the same amount again - but double? No movement, no flexibility. I refused to pay double, having already paid once in full, and we left, late evening, to find another hotel in an area which they must have known was heavily overbooked. The hotel refused to release the fraudulent document which allegedly existed, accusing us of having not paid. (Thinks - now why that might be?)
Again - it did not stop there. When I wrote and complained, rather than acknowledge what had actually happened and simply recognise their own error - which would have been enough for me - yet more "economies with the truth" were invented.
Conclusion - this is worse than a homeless hostel - I wouldn't wish Concorde on my worst enemy. If you want to stay somewhere really interested - try Bellecour sur cour,
3 rue colonel Chambonnet. Napoleopn stayed there, incredibly interesting place, very reasonable price, smack in the old centre.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ArkwrightZoborodsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordeLyon, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment about our hotel. We did receive your complain on August 9th and answered you immediately by mail.

You made your booking and prepaid for the reservation on 1800Hotels that filled for bankruptcy in early July 2010. We have no business relation of any kind with this website but we do work with Tourico Holidays that cancelled your booking for lack of payment by 1800Hotels.

Again, we are deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. After you went in your room, we checked the reservation and called you to explain the situation and offer a lower rate (120EUR) in gesture of goodwill when the usual rate for this room was 380EUR.

You first accepted, but without explanation, left the hotel.

We tried to help you with this situation and gave you the travel agent contact information to seek a refund.

We have done our best to satisfy you and stay at your disposal.

Kind Regards,

Julien Lemaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Service was impecable from check-in to check-out. Caters more to business types, but wonderful for leisure travel as well. Room service was great & prompt. Hotel is located in a lovely area of the city near the Modern/Contemporary museum, a casino and a beautiful park (almost all that is open on Sunday), but not right downtown - however public transit is FAST and frequent. Staff was wonderful arranging cabs & suggesting restaurants & opera etc.
Room was quite large for France and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadaleineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 194 in Lyon
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Mama Shelter Lyon
#6 of 194 in Lyon
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale

Property: Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale
Address: 22 quai Charles de Gaulle, 69006, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#3 Family Hotel in Lyon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#5 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Lyon – Cité International stands out as a point of reference in the luxury hotel business in the heart of the famous urban architectural project, the Cite International of Lyon. This hotel was first conceived by the Italian architect Renzo Piano, already well known for the design of the prestigious Georges Pompidou centre in Paris.The Crowne Plaza Lyon – Cité International is located between the banks of the Rhone River and the Parc de la Tete d'Or and just steps away from the largest Congress Centre in Lyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Concorde Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing