We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Athena Part Dieu
Ranked #169 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This was a great place to spend a night. Handy to the train station and great service. Very little noise from the street but was a little noisy in the hotel. Doors creaking and noise from other rooms. Breakfast was also good and reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

Rooms : Clean if a little small.
Noise: None that I could recall.
Aircon : A little stuffy, though opening the window will mean that you hear the incessant "alert" from the train station right next door.
Cleanliness : Clean and the towels are changed appropriately.
Breakfast : Nice, filling, generous and GREAT COFFEE.
Budget : It's not a bad price, frankly, and it serves its purpose as a place for travellers to rest between train journeys.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeChatGris11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I got out of the train station late at night & had to leave the next morning at 7am. I wanted convenience. I saw a neon light advertising 52 Euro weekend rates. Came into hotel and saw posting for 80Euros. I'd spent about half that in 2 star hotels in Lyon & the surrounding area that week, but figured I'd pay the price for convenience & for not booking ahead.

Got quoted a rate of 95Euros.
I was exhausted & stressed so I took it, so technically I'm to blame for agreeing to such a high price & not looking for something nicer & cheaper.

In French, I asked the woman who was very brusque if it was possible to get a non-smoking room. I thought her grunted answer was an affirmative.

Got put on a smoking floor, though luckily my room wasn't too smelly.

Good:
Room & bathroom were clean not smelly. They let me use a computer to print out my flight check in.

Bad:
Way too expensive. Stayed at way nicer 2 star hotels on my trip that cost half as much.

Would not return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kyrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We arrived by train to Lyon Part Dieu station, and it could not have been easier to find the hotel. The location was great for access to the metro for sightseeing, as well as the large mall across the street. There were a few restaurants in the square, as well as in the mall. A short walk to Les Halles Lyon, the specialty food market, and many small restaurants and bistros in that area as well. Breakfast at the hotel was quite good, and the room itself was good value, with a desk and chair, nice TV (but only French programs, with one or two German channels) and a nice bathroom. Shower was a bit tricky to operate, with trouble to get the water to the overhead fixture. Bed was comfortable, and room was clean. Windows opened to central square. Overall, a really good value. We booked online through Expedia and paid 40 euros per night for August.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichellefromCanada12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I stayed in three different hotels at similar price or quality standards during my time in Paris and Lyon. This hotel room was noisy to the point of not being able to sleep (lift workings, air conditioning making high pitched noises of metal on metal and another fan wording intermittently).
No way should this be in the top 7 hotels in Lyon. The axotel was much better inside (if in a much worse immediate location)

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tedtrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I've never before encountered a hotel where a) the aircon temperature can only be changed by reception, rather than on the panel in the room and b) it is not possible to get the aircon lower than 21.6C. Given that this hotel overlooks Lyon Part Dieu station, you'd hope you could cool your room in a way that kept the station noise to a minimum, but seemingly not. I never heat my house above 19/20C in the winter, so on a hot summer's night found myself totally unable to sleep in a stifling "air conditioned" room. Eventually I succumbed to the slightly cooler outside air and lay awake listening to the station noise. Awful place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perfectwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed at Hotel Athena for two nights. We were travelling with a lot of luggage so finding a place close to the train station was important. This definitely fits that requirement, the hotel is right in front of you when you step out of the station, very easy to find. However we were pretty disappointed once we checked in. Their wifi was down and when we asked when it would be fixed they made it clear it had not been working for some time and they didn't know when it would be up again. The hotel alternated between smelling like smoke, a foot, and a week old dirty diaper. Room and bathroom were dark and dingy. There has got to be a better option near the train station with nicer rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbflips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
ResidHotel Lyon Part-Dieu
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Premiere Classe Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena Part Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena Part Dieu

Address: 45 boulevard Marius Vivier Merle, 69003, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: £57 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Athena Part Dieu 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Athena Part Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Part Dieu Lyon
Athena Part Dieu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing