We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't go there.....” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Athena Part Dieu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Athena Part Dieu
Ranked #174 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“don't go there.....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

This hotel looked good on the web photos and blogs. We were very disappointed on arrival....
although in close proxmity to station, that is where the good news ended. Unless you require a bed overnight whilst transitting by train, this isn't the place the stay. The staff seemed like they were there just to do a job, with a lack of interest in the clientele. The rooms are very basic, small and aged. The bathroom has been updated and is clean. Overall it is quite a depressing place. The breakfast on offer (included in the cost, is an insult).We stayed for two nights - too long Only good news about this location is the shopping mall opposite !!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JnDPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    89
    122
    88
    43
See reviews for
22
114
61
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We were glad to be so close to the train station for our 7am train but otherwise didn't find the place too flash, though it was cheap and clean. We'd booked a twin, and were originally given a double. We were put into a twin as soon as we told them but the room reeked of cigarette smoke.

There are other hotelsin the area but only stay in this area if you need to be closeto the train.

The C9 bus right outside took us straight into Bellecour Place where the tourist office was located. The hop on hop off bus was the only, english speaking tour available but gave us a great overview of this beautiful city.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed here because of the location and free wifi, the whole surrounding area of the hotel is quite depressing, next to the main train station of Lyon, lots of clochards, drunks and beggars. The rooms are tiny, not particular clean but the shower was working well. I find in overal the choice of hotels medium priced in France way overpriced for what you get

Room Tip: Cannot imagine there are any good rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepsapphyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iceland
Level Contributor
241 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

This was a great place to spend a night. Handy to the train station and great service. Very little noise from the street but was a little noisy in the hotel. Doors creaking and noise from other rooms. Breakfast was also good and reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Rooms : Clean if a little small.
Noise: None that I could recall.
Aircon : A little stuffy, though opening the window will mean that you hear the incessant "alert" from the train station right next door.
Cleanliness : Clean and the towels are changed appropriately.
Breakfast : Nice, filling, generous and GREAT COFFEE.
Budget : It's not a bad price, frankly, and it serves its purpose as a place for travellers to rest between train journeys.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeChatGris11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I got out of the train station late at night & had to leave the next morning at 7am. I wanted convenience. I saw a neon light advertising 52 Euro weekend rates. Came into hotel and saw posting for 80Euros. I'd spent about half that in 2 star hotels in Lyon & the surrounding area that week, but figured I'd pay the price for convenience & for not booking ahead.

Got quoted a rate of 95Euros.
I was exhausted & stressed so I took it, so technically I'm to blame for agreeing to such a high price & not looking for something nicer & cheaper.

In French, I asked the woman who was very brusque if it was possible to get a non-smoking room. I thought her grunted answer was an affirmative.

Got put on a smoking floor, though luckily my room wasn't too smelly.

Good:
Room & bathroom were clean not smelly. They let me use a computer to print out my flight check in.

Bad:
Way too expensive. Stayed at way nicer 2 star hotels on my trip that cost half as much.

Would not return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We arrived by train to Lyon Part Dieu station, and it could not have been easier to find the hotel. The location was great for access to the metro for sightseeing, as well as the large mall across the street. There were a few restaurants in the square, as well as in the mall. A short walk to Les Halles Lyon, the specialty food market, and many small restaurants and bistros in that area as well. Breakfast at the hotel was quite good, and the room itself was good value, with a desk and chair, nice TV (but only French programs, with one or two German channels) and a nice bathroom. Shower was a bit tricky to operate, with trouble to get the water to the overhead fixture. Bed was comfortable, and room was clean. Windows opened to central square. Overall, a really good value. We booked online through Expedia and paid 40 euros per night for August.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichellefromCanada12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Premiere Classe Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena Part Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena Part Dieu

Property: Hotel Athena Part Dieu
Address: 45 boulevard Marius Vivier Merle, 69003, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Athena Part Dieu 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Athena Part Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Part Dieu Lyon
Athena Part Dieu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing