We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and informative bike tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyon Bike Tour

Lyon Bike Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$54.86*
and up
Lyon Electric Bike Tour with Food Tasting
Ranked #2 of 25 Outdoor Activities in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Relaxing and informative bike tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were just the two of us for the 4 h Lyon bike tour in English starting at 9.30 last Tuesday. Alex took care of us together with a very friendly female guide who just started on the job (I unfortunately forgot her name). Although the company just started a couple of months ago, they are very well organised and provide new electric bikes which make the journey very easy (even the steep slopes). We had a nice view of all major buildings and sights, including the wall paintings, the cathedral and the 'basilique' and had a nice journey towards the parc Tête d'Or along the banks of the Rhone river and back through the 'tube'. We had a nice chat with our guides during the food sampling and rate this tour as excellent. The 'tourist' information provided during the tour is not very detailed but that does not matter for us since we tend to forget historical dates and names anyway. The tour is very relaxing and gives a good overview of the highlights of this nice city. A very good tour format. The price is right, do not hesitate to book.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank patvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    21
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five star experience! A must do in Lyon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Fantastic tour of Lyon. Could not recommend this any higher.

We had one night in Lyon and wanted to see it all. This tour hit the spot. Our tour guides were fantastic. They were so accommodating to our needs (ie bike riding abilities and need to store our backpacks) and were very friendly. We changed from the night tour to the day tour - which became a private tour (yey!). The tour was very informative. We learnt so much about Lyon and its history. It's such a beautiful town but understanding it makes it even better. We had a short break from the bike tour to stop at a cafe/shop to try some local treats (delicious!). The guide walked us through some of the hidden passage ways after the tour which was a bonus.
Alexandre followed up with some photos he had taken of us during the tour. The electric bikes are definitely very fun indeed- especially down the hills.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepito_Olive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“At Least It was a nice day...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I have done bike tours in Barcelona, Munich, Chicago and others. I generally understand what to expect - an energetic person who is generally happy and excited to show you around their town and on top has a few fun stories to tell.

The four hour Lyonais tour my wife and son went on was in english and was very tough to stomach as our guides a new fellow who I am not sure has ever even been on a tour himself and Cedric the co-owner seemed to have such limited knowledge about Lyon and no stories that every stop was an erie awkward silence unless one of the tour group members asked a question - which inevitably the tour guides had no answer for and just looked at their cell phones.

The bikes were fine and the route made sense but if my wife and son who speak french were not there to translate for the rest of the english group it would have been even worse.

The company is just four months old and I get you buy some bikes and announce a new company but you need some tour guides with some passion and interest in the city - Lyon being the city for this tour.

I feel bad but I question the 26+ positive reviews on trip advisor in such a short time as our tour was so awkward I can not imagine english tour participants as rating it so high.

I suggest to the team to get some passion and also consider if you feel you are worthy of being the most $$$ bike tour in Europe.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rdkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cédric T, Gérant at Lyon Bike Tour, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Robert,

We appreciate your feedback and we are very sorry to read that you were disappointed.
Our customers' reviews matter a lot to us and since we are a new company we try to learn as much as possible from our mistakes.

This is the first time, since we've opened our business, that a customer has not been fully satisfied with our guided tours.

It is surprising that the other people, who were on the same tour as you, wrote us an email saying how much they appreciated their experience with Lyon Bike Tour. Also I would like to insist on the fact that your tour was presented by a certified guide with a C1 level in English.

On our website you will see that we guarantee a different way to visit Lyon through anecdotes. We do not offer very detailed historical and cultural tours as there are plenty of specefic guides who will provide this type of tour in Lyon.

Last but not least, Lyon Bike Tour offers a discovery of Lyon with last generation electric bikes and a tasting of local home-made products which might explain the difference in price with companies which provide tours with regular bikes and no tasting. Once again, none of our customers have ever complained about our prices.

We are surprised and saddened that you have not had the same positive experience as all of our customers.

Once again please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fan-Tas-Tique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We didn't know Lyon at all. Took the tour and had a BLAST. They were well prepared with water and rain coats just in case. We had a fantastic sampling of Lyonnaise food in the Old Town, and the bikes are SO MUCH FUN! This was the perfect way to see what Lyon was all about. Our tour guide, Etienne, a historian, was fun, informative, and knew his stuff. The bikes allowed us to go all over, from the large streets to the smallest Renaissance alleys. Loved it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawrence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The perfect way to see the wonderful city of Lyon! Interesting and a fun trip. Great guides and a funny way to get around the city. A must in Lyon!

Helpful?
2 Thank Anders S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lyon Bike Tour also viewed

 

Been to Lyon Bike Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing