We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff have no concept of good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Sejours et Affaires Lyon Park Avenue
Ranked #153 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I stayed here for 2 months in February and March 2011. I got a good deal through an arrangement that the hotel has with the university where I was working - 38 euros per night for a 2-roomed apartment with tiny kitchennette area in the main room. At this price it was satisfactory. I would have been disappointed if I'd paid the full rate.

The bedroom had a double bed in but was very small indeed. The kitchenette had a microwave oven, two-ringed hob and a fridge.

The television was the greatest disappointment and one of the main reasons why I shan't stay there again when I return for my next stay. The volume was set at far too low a level. Since I wanted to improve my French it was important for me to watch a lot of French TV, but I could barely hear it. I had a second TV in the bedroom, but although this was audible it was very old and the picture quality was very poor and I could only get about 4 channels.

The staff - as several reviwers have indicated - were below par. They were civil, but have no customer service ethic. No apologies when things went wrong - like the lift breaking down or the wifi not working. The lift broke down 5 times during my 2-month stay, and since there's only one lift it was a real nuisance when it wasn't operating. And the staff never took the trouble to walk up to each floor and stick a notice on the lift doors telling people that it wasn't working, so one stood there for ages, pressing the button, and no lift would arrive, so eventually one would work out that it wasn't working. The cleaners often took over the lift, too, keeping it for ages on the ground floor while they unloaded sack after sack of dirty linen. A second lift is badly needed.

Staff were uninterested in customer service. They responded to requests when asked, but never went out of their way, and were civil, but not what one could call pleasant and helpful. Seldom did they greet guests as they came in and out.

This hotel is just about adequate when the low tarif is considered, but the low tarif meant that I got a tired and shabby room that badly needs a face lift. The lounge is sparsely furnished - just the basic furniture: a small 2-seater bed-settee, a small coffee table, a desk and hard, wooden chair, and a small dining table and two more hard, wooden chairs. An extra arm chair would've been nice and would have fitted in. Lots of details were lacking that wouldn't have cost much to install but which would've made life much easier for guests: a draining rack in the kitchen; coat hooks by the door, etc.

There's often quite a lot of street noise at night - it's quite a rowdy area, and it wasn't unusual to get yobs yelling late at night.

The biggest issue I had was that there's no staff on duty during the night. I don't know what would happen if there were an emergency, or if one accidentally locked oneself out - there was no emergency contact number given.; no one there to quieten noisy neighbours in other rooms.

On the plus side, it's located right next door to the metro, and there's a supermarket right across the road. But it's not the best of areas in Lyon and a metro ride is needed to get into the centre of town.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smitherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2011

I booked this hotel for 2 nights in January as we were having a short stop in Lyon on our way to Switzerland. This hotel has the potential to be great value as it was only about €90 a night, but unfortunately it is let down. First the bad:
The room was almost vacant of furniture, paint missing on walls, water takes forever to heat up, curtains don't cover the whole window so street lights shine into bedroom, very noisy both from hallways and the street and we were on the 8th floor. But the worst thing was the service. On the day we arrived there were only 2 towels in the room despite being 4 of us. I went down to the front desk and asked for 2 more towels so we could shower the kids. I was told they would be brought straight up. 4 hours later at 8pm I went down to ask again and was by the man that he would bring them up when he isn't the only one on the desk. At 9am the next morning I had to go down to ask AGAIN and the lady at the desk said the cleaning staff would leave extras that day. When i said I wanted to clean the kids before we went out she reached BEHIND THE COUNTER and gave us 2 towels!!!!!! WHY THE 17 HOUR WAIT???
On the good side the room has a small kitchen to prepare your own meals, is spacious (although thats because there is hardly anything in there), there is a supermarket across the street to buy food and groceries and the metro station is on the corner.
Disappointing

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrlove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Aurélie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veroniqueb428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank kellyian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Basna77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Yann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
0.1 mi away
Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland
2.7 mi away
Sejours & Affaires Apparthotel  Lyon Park Lane
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites Lyon 7 Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences
0.7 mi away
Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Lyon Gerland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Sejours et Affaires Lyon Park Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Sejours et Affaires Lyon Park Avenue

Address: 2 rue Marie Madeleine Fourcade, 69007, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: £56 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence Sejours et Affaires Lyon Park Avenue 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Sejours et Affaires Lyon Park Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing