We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay!”
Review of SLO Living Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SLO Living Hostel
Ranked #2 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

What a great place to base myself while in Lyon. The hostel in clean and maintained throughout the day. The location is great and price is good. The staff are friendly and go over and beyond to assist you or provide advise. Dorms rooms are comfortable with space for all and lockers provided to keep valuables safe. There is a nice common area with seating and breezy courtyard to unwind.
Secure access to the front door. Neighbourhood is fine for female travellers going alone.

A must stay for Lyon on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kswan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed 2 nights in SLO hostel and absolutely loved it! It is like no hostel I've ever been to. Very stilish and trendy, great and confortable common area to spend time. The rooms are amazing, really clean. Each has its own night light and charging. There is a common safebox to use for valuables.
If I ever go to Lyon, I am definitely staying there again.
The location is perfect, 15 minute walk from all of the historical area. Just two stops from the train station and very near by the Metro entrance. It is really perfect.
People were very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

The only negative comment might be, if you like to cook your own food, you don't have a kitchen so as to do so. Breakfast was 5 Euros, and it wasn't that good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GrettGallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien R, Gérant at SLO Living Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear GretGallo
First of all thanks a lot for your comment ! It was a pleasure to welcome you in Lyon.
Just to reply to the 2 negative points you pointed out :
• The kitchen is for our staff because we have to use it to prepare the dinner and breakfast. Unfortunately, according to the french regulation about food safety, our kitchen was too small to share this space with our guests…In order to fix that issue, we let people bring their own food from the supermarket (3 minutes walking from the hostel), use our fridge, microwave or our kettle.
• Regarding the breakfast, sorry if you didn't enjoy it. We try our best to bring fresh and local products (croissants and bread are from a very good local bakery & some jams are home made…) and to keep it cheap (5EUR for a all you can eat breakfast in France is VERY cheap)
Thanks again for staying with us and for your rating ! See you
Julien, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you're staying in Lyon, this is definitely the hostel to stay at. It was really clean, relaxed, and everyone at the reception was really nice. The bathrooms were the cleanest bathrooms I'd ever seen for a hostel. For 5 euros, the breakfast was pretty good and cheap. Did I mention it was clean?

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hosts were friendly and helpful. The space was incredibly clean and new. I loved the courtyard and the common area. All and all it was one of the best hosteling experiences i have had and would love to go back at some point.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Justaguyinhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was tempted by the reviews on TA and by the photos of the hostel. We had just come back from Portugal where we had also opted for hostels instead of hotels so we thought that this place looked quite similar in terms of the modern design. It was slightly more pricey than in Portugal but it was Lyons so we decided to try it out. Our first impression was of the district...dirty, noisy and, as we discovered the next morning, unsafe as our car was vandalised during the night.
The style of the hostel is modern but it is at the bottom of an apartment block and feels very enclosed. We had the double room with bathroom and toilet, which was right next to the patio. We were kept up all night by the noise, supposedly meant to stop at 11pm but continued throughout the night. The next morning I asked for a refund but was offered free breakfast instead and multiple excuses and apologies...they are apparently still having issues with the windows not closing properly, or they even blamed the noise on the people in the apartments above. Breakfast was ok but you can have other things if you are smart enough to ask.
All in all, not worth the money, too expensive for a youth hostel and especially with the inconveniences that are attached to this one. Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank belledebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien R, Gérant at SLO Living Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear belledebbie, First of all thanks a lot for choosing our hostel during your trip in Lyon. and sorry if your experience was not as good as expected. To reply to your different points : First of all, our price are more expensive than Portugal because as you may have noticed, cost of life in general is much more higher in France than in portugal… For such a room with this comfort, design and location you would have paid maybe 150EUR in Lyon. Our room is 85, I stayed in hostel in Lisbon in Portugal and it was 70EUR during high season with no private bathroom/toilets (we offer one)… Not a huge difference ! Then, the district was a little bit dirty because it was the end of Ramadan and there was a big market during several weeks in the street perpendicular to ours, I confess it was maybe a little bit messy during your stay. Unsafe ? We never had a problem in 3 years working and living in that area and none of our clients had a problem in the district. We are sincerely sorry for your car, but, as in every big city in the world, that kind of things can happen when you are traveling by car and we can call that "bad luck"… Many guests are traveling by car and park in our sreet and you were the only one to have such a problem. I hope it was not to serious and you could keep on traveling with your car. We remind you that there is a 24h secured parking right in front of the door of the hostel at a cheap price (13EUR). Regarding the noise in the hostel, our night receptionist asked all our guests to come back inside to prevent any noise in the patio from 11pm (as written on our rules) and in the hostel in general. We never had a complaint about noise neither from other guests (in general, and particularly those who slept in the room you chose) nor our neighbors (that are supposed to be so closed according to your review). I tried the door of your room this morning and it works perfectly, maybe you should have asked our staff if you had any difficulty to close it properly. Last point, your remark about our breakfast "you can have other things if you are smart enough to ask" will maybe show to other travelers what is your state of mind when you post a review or try to get a refund… We accept bad reviews and critics (that's why we offered you the breakfast for both of you) and will always do our best to take them into account to improve our services, we even refunded people in the past when we made some mistakes, but in your case all your remarks are not justified and not really honest. Wish you safe travels and maybe to see you in Lyon another time ! Best regards, Julien (Slo living hostel manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Lyon, thanks mostly to the fabulous Slo living hostel. Recently opened, the decor is absolutely beautiful - just how I'd love to decorate my home! The staff were also very helpful and hospitable. Breakfast was delicious and well priced, although you do need to get there early for the croissants! Location was fine, around 10minutes walk and you were in either the centre or the old town. Only thing I would recommend is perhaps some sort of cooling system - I was there in mid July and it was quite warm and as all the windows face an inner courtyard, very little breeze reaches the room, sometimes making it uncomfortable to sleep. Otherwise, as absolutely loved this hostel! There should be more like this around :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I had a fantastic and relaxing stay here. I stayed in the hostel 2 weeks after it's opening and everything was well organized, comfortable, clean and well designed. The staff was very helpful; Pierric helped me understand the gastronomic culture in Lyon and he provided recommendations for restaurants. I also enjoyed picking his brain on the conception of the hostel. Charlotte helped me plan transportation out of the city. Merci!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Meers8540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Premiere Classe Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Griffon - Royale
Away Hostel
Away Hostel
#3 of 61 in Lyon
119 reviews
Ho36 Hostel
#5 of 61 in Lyon
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SLO Living Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SLO Living Hostel

Address: 5 rue Bonnefoi, 69003, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Voltaire - Saint Amour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Lyon
Price Range: £26 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new generation hostel situated in the heart of Lyon. You will be able to reach Bellecour square, the city centre, in 10 minutes by walk. We welcome travelers from all over the world in our comfortable and stylish hostel designed by local architect and artists. We provide private double rooms but also small capacity dorms for more intimacy. You will be able to enjoy our wine bar and gastronomic specialities from Lyon. After a long day visiting Lyon, meet fellow travelers and just relax in our private and sunny patio. At night we also provide dinners 100% from Lyon. In our hostel, traveling is not a question go age but a state of mind. We will make you discover Lyon differently ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your SLO Living Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing