We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great laid back restaurant ”
Review of Brasserie L'Ouest

Brasserie L'Ouest
Ranked #369 of 3,894 Restaurants in Lyon
Price range: US$25 - US$37
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Fantastic food, nice wine, great decor and a really laid back and cool atmosphere. I had the puma pork which was absolutely fantastic. The baba rum was delicious and they left us the bottle of rum on the table. I highly recommend this restaurant to experience the best of French cuisine at a good price

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank T4143VSjamesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2018

So we've done "Le Sud" and now we've moved onto "L'Ouest". I guess this means we have two points on the compass left to do... Strangely L'Ouest is further north than "Le Nord" as I think the L'Est is. But that aside, the objective was a meal not a geography lesson, a really great place.

Being a little way out of the centre of Lyon has its advantages - compared with Le Sud this is a large and open space which, for the customer, has the benefit of parking under it. Things like this do make the whole experience so much better!

The menu of these brasseries do look like they follow a central theme so the food, in my opinion is comparable - in the west you feel more modern - in the south it's more traditional. For me (and I'll have to revisit to confirm this) L'Ouest would work better as a Lunch or early evening (before it gets dark) restaurant - Le Sud works well in the evening as it has that city centre buzz around it.

For the wheelchair user - underground parking, a lift up to the restaurant, a open and flat space and toilets that work makes this an easy place to use.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon--Newton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

0,
WC means Paul Bocuse... Means France... This is a real real French gastronomy.. simple and good. I recommend this place if you want to know what is a real French Brasserie...

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank KimuSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Rather industrial design and Food but very good choice for lunch. Packed with locals who work in the area.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Vlado Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We have been at the Brasserie L'Ouest several times, and we plan to return there next time we will be in Lyon. The location is great, on the banks of the Saone river, with great open air terrasses and a large and pleasant indoor room. The open kitchen is very interesting to observe, showing the skills and dedication of the different chefs and cooks.The food is very refined, with delicate though distinct flavours. The menu offers a balanced combination of meats and fish, without forgetting the many delicious vegetable side orders. The wine list is excellent starting with reasonably priced house wines up to more refined chateaux. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Elio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie L'Ouest also viewed

 
Caluire et Cuire, Rhone
 

Been to Brasserie L'Ouest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing