We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, great price...”
Review of L'Epicerie

L'Epicerie
Ranked #114 of 3,268 Restaurants in Lyon
Price range: US$9 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Cordeliers - Jacobins
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great price...”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We ate here two nights in a row, and loved the atmosphere and the price of food. Its not a full on restaurant and more of a bistro/cafe. Its meals are of a quick and simple type but are very good size. On the first night I finished with a raspberry pie, and it was just the best so we had to go back the second night in Lyon, so I could have it again.
The food is fresh and tasty, and the restaurant can seat about 70 people I counted. With most as a shared table set up, on long wooden tables, where you sit across from each other. There are probably only about three small tables that can seat two people, with the rest as the long shared tables. If your after a quiet romantic table for a couple it maybe not to your liking but my fiancee and I thoroughly enjoyed the shared tables and this added to our European holiday.
The young staff are very enthusiastic and eager to serve. It seems sort of like a university place as most of the customers are mid twenties, and all are French. But us two Australians had the best time eating here... A great place...
Oh, and don't forget the best raspberry pie/tart that you've probably had since your grandma's...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    313
    90
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
191 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I arrived in Lyon on an early Sunday afternoon, and the clerk at the hotel told me that my best bet for lunch would be on Rue Mercerie. L'Epicerie is just around the corner, and it caught my eye because there was a line to get in (while there was not at any of the other restaurants in the area) and it seemed to be mostly locals. I was not disappointed. Their specialty is tartines, and the one I had was simply amazing, with three different cheeses on delicious bread.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank likeeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Looks old, taste great...”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Perfect combination between taste, price and french vintage atmosphere. The only issue we hot was to find a table, it was crowed....We will be back soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely French Bistrot with excellent service!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

This bistrot/cafe's specialty are "Tartines". Toast made of traditional French bread, with all different kinds of toppings/spreads.
Also all the home-made pie's and desserts like cheesecake-in-a-pot are to die for!
Simply delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty and fun”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We had read about L'Epicerie and it sounded like the right combination of what we were looking for. it was a little earlier than we wanted to eat but since it was already busy we decided to go for it. It continued to get even busier. The crowd was on the younger side but there were plenty of 40- 60 year olds too. There were couples groups of friends and families. We got a nice table in the far corner so we were able to have a vie of the whole restaurant with exposed brick and archways. The green salad was fresh with a mustard vinaigrette dressing. The open face sandwiches ( three cheese and a pesto/tomato) were on very good bread and quite tasty. Apple tart was good too. This was a lively place with all kinds of music. The owner would turn the volume of the music every now and then and people would clap or sing along briefly. This may put some people off but for us it was fun. The patio was full and people were lined up when we left. No complaints here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mojov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Epicerie also viewed

 

Been to L'Epicerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing