We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value & Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Celestins
Ranked #15 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Value & Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Hotel des Celestins offers clean, reasonably priced rooms in a perfect loaction for discovering the best of Lyon. Our party of four adults booked the top floor apartment for our two day stay. We enjoyed seperate baths and bedrooms with a small sitting area. Parking is convenient and resonably priced just down the street in the underground "opera" parking garage. The staff provided excellent recommendations for restaurants and could not have been more friendly. Breakfast, in a small, bright room was enjoyed both days. This property is not "Four Star" but it has modern bathrooms and appointments and gives you a feeling of staying in a typically French period hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxGolfLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Hello,
Thanks for sharing your experience.
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    449
    80
    17
    7
See reviews for
159
486
60
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

My wife and I spent one night at Celstins in the room at the top with aview to the stars
Very comfortable. and quirky
Staff were very attentive and helpful
breakfats very good
Top location for visiting old town plus shops

Room Tip: All rooms have theri own character and are very French
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zumsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Hello and thank you so much for your comment. We are very glad that you appreciated Lyon and our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you very soon again. Best regards, Oriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed for two nights in July. Our room was small, but we really didn't spend much time there, so that was fine. The room was very clean, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in one of the loveliest parts of Lyon. We didn't try the breakfast, so I can't comment on that.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cawil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you very much for these compliments. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Best regards, Oriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

This was a pleasant surprise. Right in the heart of Lyon's best shopping and eating neighborhoods and just accross from the Old City, is this small hotel with everything a family needs as a base in this beatiful city. The rooms are small, but have everything we needed -- even a hairdryer for our tenage girls. The breakfast buffet (which is automatically added to the room bill) is quite good and is served from 7:00 until noon so there's no pressure to wake up. Internet is fast, free and reliable.

Only problem with our adjoing rooms is that we only have a view of an airshaft (which is very quiet). If that's an issue, make sure to confirm you have a street view.

Staff (English speaking) has been friendly and helpful. We'd definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyBoy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Hello and thanks a lot for sharing your experience. It was a pleasure for us to make your stay a success. We look forward to welcoming you very soon. Warm regards, Oriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed here last year when visiting family near to Lyon. This hotel compares very well with the hotel we stay at in the heart of Paris. It is typical of a French chez nous, historic and with a Lyonnais atmosphere. Small intimate hotels like this are the best way to sample the true style of France. The big plush hotels are more for those who are 'doing' a city with the only objective of crossing it off of a list, and they are welcome to those. Celestins is ideal for couples who wish to explore the wonderful city of Lyons and further out into the countryside, which is beautiful. The amazing thing about this hotel was the attention that the owner paid to the wellbeing of her guests. She even phoned us at the place we were staying at in England to warn us of an impending train strike, parfait.

Room Tip: If you are in Lyon when the light show is on choose a room at the front, spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tebbuch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Hello, and thanks a lot for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay at hotel Celestins. We look forward to welcoming you very soon. Warm regards, Oriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Hotel des Celestins has been accurately reviewed on these pages.We took a recommendation from the Irish Times as we wanted authenticity rather than an impersonal chain - the hotel delivers this in spades. The comfortable rooms could be nowhere other than France but are functional and romantic with AC, TV, Wi-Fi, books and tasteful soft furnishing. Breakfast was adequate but coffee lacked a kick. Location is wonderful and staff are cool in a good way, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

As I was traveling alone and my goal was to discover Lyon, I was very pleased with the hotel.
Old building, perfectly located and ideal starting point to visit the city.
I had chosen the small room (12m2 and without view) because I wanted to be outside all day. The room and bathroom were clean. The breakfast was simple, good and enough according to my needs. The staff was very welcoming, friendly, understanding and providing good tips. A special thank you to Emilie.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for you comment, I hope we can welcome you another time and provide other goods tips to you. Emilie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Hotel des Artistes
#31 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Celestins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Celestins

Property: Hotel des Celestins
Address: 4 rue des Archers, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#11 Family Hotel in Lyon
#17 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Celestins 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the city,between Place Bellecour & Place des JacobinsYou will be within walking distance ofThe old town & the nicest shops.The Célestins CarPark & Bellecour underground station: 50 yards away. Access by elevator 25.6 p X 45.3 p.Air-conditionned & Non Smoking Hotel, free wifi.Charming Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel des Celestins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Celestins Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing