We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel lets down good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Celestins
Ranked #15 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tired hotel lets down good staff”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Hotel des Celestins is located between the Rhone and Soane Rivers near Place Bellecour, in an ideal location to explore Lyon by foot or public transport, or to simply shop. Staff were friendly and very helpful, both prior to arrival and during our stay. The staff are the best attribute of this hotel. Our 'Superior' room fitted the hotel's description in terms of space (but note rooms are small), facilities (comfortable bed) and outlook, but the walls and carpet were shabby through age and shoddy maintenance, rather than poor daily room service. From other Tripadvisor reviews it may be that some rooms have been refurbished, but our's had not, and it needed it. The original conversion to a hotel was not high quality, and time has taken its toll since then. The lift did not work one morning, the wi-fi was out for three days, and the shower fluctuated wildly between scalding hot and cold (reported three times but not fixed). Breakfast was good, and good value, although local cafes and boulangeries also offer excellent breakfast (try Francotte around the corner). The hotel entrance is a narrow hallway (shared by other building occupants) leading to a tiny lift and staircase. It is not particularly salubrious, or so it appeared to us when we met a young woman on the stairs one night who was dressed as if for window display in Amsterdam. The lift takes you to a narrow hallway that enters into a room that serves as hotel reception and breakfast area, that we felt was crowded on some of the mornings we ate there. The hotel has many good attributes, but if you value quality in room fittings and/or tasteful decor, and good maintenance, be prepared to pay more and go elsewhere nearby.

Room Tip: Roadside rooms have an outlook, and noise is not a problem with the double-glazed windows closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petercorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    457
    80
    17
    7
See reviews for
160
493
60
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Only spent a night...but very happy with the experience. Bed and pillows were offering the best comfort we had in a long time. Air conditionning was quiet and working very efficiently. Our room was giving on the street and was very quiet. Personnel was friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: Although the small room would of met our standards; it's pretty small. You need to ask for the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RT320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We’re delighted you liked your stay in Hotel Celestins. We look forward to welcoming you next time.
Best regards,
Oriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My Husband and I spent 4 nights in Lyon May 2013. The hotel Celestin is small ,charming and very well located in a central part of the old town between the 2 rivers .It is surrounded by upmarket stores . We had the Petit Prince suite overlooking the rooftops ,which meant peace and quiet especially if you like the windows open. The room was very well appointed with a separate toilet and shower . The reception staff were most helpful in arranging authentic restaurants that the locals frequent and even a dentist.We highly recommend this hotel if you don't want to stay in a chain and wish to experience French hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Mrs. Ellis, thank you so much for your comment. It was a real pleasure for us to welcome you. We are delighted you liked your stay at hotel Celestins. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards,
Oriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We spent two rainy, cold days in Lyon and were saved by this nice little hotel and the accomodating staff. It's not much as you approach the doorway but the room was modern, spotless and very comfortable. Emelie at the desk spent a huge amount of time helping us book oyr train to France. She couldn't have been nicer really went out of her way. She should get a bonus immediately. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All face the quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredinVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. We are delighted you liked your stay in Lyon and especially our hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Oriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilassar de mar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This hotel is located between the Saone and Rhone rivers and just north of Place Bellecourt, so it is very easy to walk to the old city and to all the interesting sites. The building is old and charming. The room was furnished with antiques but also had a flat screen tv. The bathroom looked completely new, with everything sparkly clean and modern. The staff were all very friendly and helped us with restaurant recommendations. My only criticism is that I think the breakfast is a little pricey for the content, but this may be par for the course in Lyon. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thanks for your review. We loook forward to welcoming you during your next trip in Lyon.
Kind regards,
Oriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel was in an excellent location a short walk from Place Bellecour. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and took care of all our questions and needs during our stay. One of the biggest conveniences was their laundry service which was efficient and prompt. The rooms were comfortable and clean and having the breakfast on site was a huge convenience. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have been updated and it would be a good idea to specifically ask for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuztoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted you loved your stay at Hotel Celestins. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again during your next visit in Lyon.
Best regards,
Oriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My partner and I spent five nights in this hotel over Easter. Sadly we were ill for the whole period of our holiday; however the hotel staff were very nice and helpful when we wanted to spend longer than expected in the room.

The location is superb, a stone's throw from Place Bellecour which is a good starting point for a lot of places to visit. The area is rather chic with a lot of smart expensive shops; we had hoped for a hotel in Vieux Lyon, but were glad we weren't staying there as we found it quite tacky and touristy.

The room (theatre view) was not huge but there were adequate storage options for our large quantity of luggage, and it was kept very clean. This is not a luxury hotel, but quite comfortable as a base.

The breakfast is at an extra cost and was quite nice - recommend Pignol Patisserie down the road.

Room Tip: Superior theatre side rooms are (apparently) more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussy_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
I would like to thank you for your comment. We truly hope to welcome you again very soon. Best regards,
Oriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Hotel des Artistes
#32 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Celestins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Celestins

Property: Hotel des Celestins
Address: 4 rue des Archers, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#11 Family Hotel in Lyon
#17 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Celestins 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the city,between Place Bellecour & Place des JacobinsYou will be within walking distance ofThe old town & the nicest shops.The Célestins CarPark & Bellecour underground station: 50 yards away. Access by elevator 25.6 p X 45.3 p.Air-conditionned & Non Smoking Hotel, free wifi.Charming Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel des Celestins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Celestins Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing