We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel des Celestins
Nearby Hotels
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$136
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$245
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,079)
Filter reviews
1,079 results
Traveller rating
459
505
88
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
505
88
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationuntil noonold townboiled eggstiny liftrooms are smallplace bellecourcharming hotelyogurtwithin walking distancestay there againfirst floorsuperior roomfacing the streethighly recommend this hotelrestaurant reservationsfourviere hill
Filter
Updating list...
377 - 382 of 1,079 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Our room was compact (though not as small as some French hotel rooms I have stayed in) but clean, quiet and comfortable; larger rooms are available. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is a really good location for exploring Lyon, sitting between the Rhone and the Saone, with plenty of shops, restaurants and museums nearby. We went pretty much everywhere on foot, but the Metro is very close by.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyBettyMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

We want to thank you so much for your review.
We look forward to welcoming you again really soon.
Warm regards,
Oriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Hotel des Celestins is located between the Rhone and Soane Rivers near Place Bellecour, in an ideal location to explore Lyon by foot or public transport, or to simply shop. Staff were friendly and very helpful, both prior to arrival and during our stay. The staff are the best attribute of this hotel. Our 'Superior' room fitted the hotel's description in terms of space (but note rooms are small), facilities (comfortable bed) and outlook, but the walls and carpet were shabby through age and shoddy maintenance, rather than poor daily room service. From other Tripadvisor reviews it may be that some rooms have been refurbished, but our's had not, and it needed it. The original conversion to a hotel was not high quality, and time has taken its toll since then. The lift did not work one morning, the wi-fi was out for three days, and the shower fluctuated wildly between scalding hot and cold (reported three times but not fixed). Breakfast was good, and good value, although local cafes and boulangeries also offer excellent breakfast (try Francotte around the corner). The hotel entrance is a narrow hallway (shared by other building occupants) leading to a tiny lift and staircase. It is not particularly salubrious, or so it appeared to us when we met a young woman on the stairs one night who was dressed as if for window display in Amsterdam. The lift takes you to a narrow hallway that enters into a room that serves as hotel reception and breakfast area, that we felt was crowded on some of the mornings we ate there. The hotel has many good attributes, but if you value quality in room fittings and/or tasteful decor, and good maintenance, be prepared to pay more and go elsewhere nearby.

Room Tip: Roadside rooms have an outlook, and noise is not a problem with the double-glazed windows closed.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petercorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Only spent a night...but very happy with the experience. Bed and pillows were offering the best comfort we had in a long time. Air conditionning was quiet and working very efficiently. Our room was giving on the street and was very quiet. Personnel was friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: Although the small room would of met our standards; it's pretty small. You need to ask for the medium size room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RT320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We’re delighted you liked your stay in Hotel Celestins. We look forward to welcoming you next time.
Best regards,
Oriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My Husband and I spent 4 nights in Lyon May 2013. The hotel Celestin is small ,charming and very well located in a central part of the old town between the 2 rivers .It is surrounded by upmarket stores . We had the Petit Prince suite overlooking the rooftops ,which meant peace and quiet especially if you like the windows open. The room was very well appointed with a separate toilet and shower . The reception staff were most helpful in arranging authentic restaurants that the locals frequent and even a dentist.We highly recommend this hotel if you don't want to stay in a chain and wish to experience French hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Mrs. Ellis, thank you so much for your comment. It was a real pleasure for us to welcome you. We are delighted you liked your stay at hotel Celestins. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards,
Oriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We spent two rainy, cold days in Lyon and were saved by this nice little hotel and the accomodating staff. It's not much as you approach the doorway but the room was modern, spotless and very comfortable. Emelie at the desk spent a huge amount of time helping us book oyr train to France. She couldn't have been nicer really went out of her way. She should get a bonus immediately. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All face the quiet street.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredinVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you very much for your comment. We are delighted you liked your stay in Lyon and especially our hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Oriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews