We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Celestins
Ranked #15 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We arrived by train and were able to walk right over to Hotel Celestins and were received very well by reception. Our room, although small - but great by European standards was very clean and neat, and a very nice size bathroom. We had a view of the Opera and I enjoyed watching the happenings on the street. We were close to old town and easily found our way over the bridge to the sites of the Old Town. This hotel is in a great location, the price if right, staff were very friendly and accommodating. Would return again and highly recommend Hotel Celestins!

Room Tip: make an early reservation and ask for a room viewing the opera house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocklake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    463
    84
    17
    7
See reviews for
160
508
62
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed two nights and the hotel was in a great location, very clean and lovely friendly helpful staff. We had a room looking at the theatre which was great, next time we would book a larger room - 12m2 is very small, but we really enjoyed our stay and it was excellent value for the location, being in the centre of Lyon. The bed was large and comfortable, the furnishings were great, the bathroom was a good size and very clean. Breakfast was ok, they offered eggs and cold meats and cheese, however only small crossaints (like out of a packet??) and not very nice bread, we think this could be improved by having lovely fresh bread and crossaints. We will stay again..

Room Tip: Spen the extra €10 per night for the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great location being quite central. Parking you need to park at one of the underground car parks but Parking Celestin is very close so all good. I had a room at the front facing the street and was quite noisy from the local bars (plus a huge thunderstorm!). Staff vey friendly and attentive. Overall good impression and good place to stay for 1 or 2 night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benson12379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thanks for your review.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards,
Oriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel worked very well for us on a recent one night stay. (We should have booked an extra night. Lyon deserves a full day.) The hotel is right on the edge or the Presqu'ile section of Lyon with its numerous restaurants and trendy shops. It's only a short walk over the Saone River to the funiculars which take you to the Basilica and Gallo-Roman sites in Vieux Lyon on Fourvière Hill. In other words, it's an ideal location. Once you park your car, you won't need it again.

The hotel itself is very nice. You ring a doorbell for entry (or at night you use your room key), then you enter into a hallway and go up one level -- either by stairs or elevator -- to the reception desk, which is staffed until 10:00 p.m. This is a little unusual for a hotel, but it works fine, and the controlled access at the front door gives you an added measure of security. More security is provided when you get off the elevator on your room's floor. Your room key is required for access to that hallway. Our room was their least expensive and was on the hotel's back side. This might not work for everybody, because it's very small, and the window faces across a narrow alley to another building. It was ok for us for a one night stay, but if we were going to be there longer, we'd probably try to book one of the larger rooms on the front, or theatre side, of the hotel. The room was immaculately clean. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was modern with a large tub that also had a shower head. You have your own thermostat and fan control. The breakfast area is located by the front desk and has plenty of room. The hotel breakfast was similar in variety to what you find all over France, but it was attractively presented and kept well-stocked. A major plus is the extended time for breakfast, which is served from 8:00 to 12:00 noon. That was great for us.

The staff was truly first rate -- very professional. They have excellent English language skills. In fact the woman who checked us in had the best English we encountered during four weeks in France. My wife and I are from the southern U.S., but she had no problem with our idiom or pronounced accents.

The hotel doesn't have a designated parking garage. They recommend the garage underneath Place Celestins, and so do I. It's expensive, but not any more than what you find in any other large city. It's very well lighted and security seems pretty good. If you take every guidebook's advice and leave nothing of value in your car, there'll be nothing to make your vehicle stand out from the hundreds of others there and you should be just fine. When you come up the elevator from the garage, you'll be directly in front of the Theatre Celestins and literally only about 50 to 75 yards from the hotel entrance. We found driving in to Lyon to be one of the easiest urban experiences of our trip. (Ask us what a driving nightmare Nantes and Albi are right now due to construction.)

To summarize, this is a clean, comfortable, attractive hotel, that is well located and professionally managed.

Room Tip: Get a larger room on the theater side of the hotel. However, if you're a budget traveler don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OtherMountainDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you so much for your comment.
We are delighted you liked your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Oriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Celestins for two nights. We had a room on the theatre side which was very comfortable. Close to shops, restaurants, bars and the old town. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Claire. They also stored our luggage for us until our flight was due. Would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends. The breakfast was also good for 9 euros.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We want to truly thank you for your review.
We hope to see you again very soon at hotel Celestins.
Warm regards,
Oriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel des Celestins for four nights in early October 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay both at the hotel itself, and in Lyon. The staff at HdC are fantastic. They were not phased by our poor command of the French language, spoke English and couldn't do enough to help during the entire stay. The hotel is very well located. There are plenty of places to eat at within a 10 minute walk and it is also a short walk to Place Bellecour, the old city, the metro and other attractions.

The hotel has one small lift, which is fine for getting to the upper floors. We stayed in a larger room, Les Toits de Lyon, which was really good. Good continental breakfast available for about 8 euros. Free WiFi (can be a bit temperamental on upper floors). We'd happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are quite small apparently, although they are priced accordingly and would still p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimM466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at hotel Celestins.
We are glad you liked your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back during your next visit.
Warm regards,
Oriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Ab
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Great hotel with friendly, helpful staff and a very good location within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Our room was small and not as modern as others shown on the website, but it was clean and had a very comfortable bed (although the foam pillows were a bit hot and hard). The 2 windows had shutters as well as curtains so the room was dark for sleeping, and there was a small sofa with pillows - a good spot to read or use the free wi-fi on our netbook. We had emailed reception in advance of our trip and asked if they would make a restaurant reservation for us, and this was done very efficiently by Claire with a follow-up email to confirm. We loved Lyon and would definitely stay at the Hotel des Celestins again.

Room Tip: Theatre/street side rooms are quiet, with shutters and curtains for noise reduction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review.
During your next visit, feel free to ask for other pillows.
Warm regards,
Oriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 194 in Lyon
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Hotel des Artistes
#32 of 194 in Lyon
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Celestins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Celestins

Property: Hotel des Celestins
Address: 4 rue des Archers, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#11 Family Hotel in Lyon
#17 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Celestins 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the city,between Place Bellecour & Place des JacobinsYou will be within walking distance ofThe old town & the nicest shops.The Célestins CarPark & Bellecour underground station: 50 yards away. Access by elevator 25.6 p X 45.3 p.Air-conditionned & Non Smoking Hotel, free wifi.Charming Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel des Celestins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Celestins Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing