We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not long enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Celestins
Ranked #15 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Sadly, we only had one night in this gorgeous little hotel on our way from the ski-fields to Paris. We stayed in the 'Rooftops of Lyon' room and it was really lovely - a good size and with lots of little personal touches, such as the antique furniture. As others have commented, the location was pretty much perfect and the staff were really helpful, friendly and spoke excellent English. We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perth_traveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

The hotel is located in the heart of the city in which shops, restaurants and Vieux Lyon are all within walking distance.

The staff had been very helpful in recommending restaurants to us as well as helping us to make reservations. Given that we were there during the Christmas period, one particular restaurant required a deposit for the Christmas eve reservation. One of the staffs of Celestins actually walked over to the restaurant and deposited a cheque for the reservation. What a service!!!

We stayed at the Bouillotte room which was spacious and relatively well kept. One suggestion is to replace the CRT TV with a Flat screen TV given that the TV is very old and the remote control is not functioning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLOWPTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

To all concerned the Hotel des Celestins is a great medium sized hotel in a great city! As the other reviewers stated it is in a prime location walking distance from all the great shops, sights, and restaurants! The ladies at the front desk were extremely helpful recommending restaurants. The rooms were quaint and clean. My room faced the front of the building which had a nice view but a bit noisy in the morning.
All things considered I would stay here again and recommend to anyone traveling to Lyon which I think is one of the prettiest cities in the world!
Cheers

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Its in a great location (good shopping and site seeing and a quick walk to the Old part of Lyon). Even though you are in a busy part of Lyon, it is still quiet. The rooms are very comfortable and each room seems to have their own unique elegance! The staff is very friendly/helpful, and Claire (one of the receptionists) was extremely sweet and wonderful!

The breakfast was yummy and if we ever go back to Lyon, we will be staying here. It was a great experience...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyBass1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent location is probably the highlight, very close to trains main shopping area, bellacour, a 10 min walk to old town lyon! Rooms are ok for the price you pay and very clean. Besides if you are hardly in the room it doesn't matter! The girl at the reception was so helpful and friendly on guiding us and also assisted us to book restaurants - something that positively added to the personal touches of the stay. Overall for the price you pay, it was good.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Gwholovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights during my honeymoon. Hotel was centrally located, easily accessible from the Bellacour Metro, nicely appointed rooms, modernized bathrooms and great service from the staff. Found the hotel from its high tripadvisor reviews and was very pleased. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed 5 nights at this lovely "boutique" hotel in the heart of the city. Great location close to high-end shopping, theatre, and old town without being too close to the touristy section of Lyon. Staff was wonderful during our entire stay and the extra security levels of locked front door and locked door to enter each level was reassuring. Our room, a superior Theatre view, was just large enough to be comfortable for our 5-night stay. We are a heavy user of WIFI in our room so we were exceptionally pleased that we could get a strong, consistent signal. Lots of small restaurants/brasseries nearby and one of the central restaurant districts is a 10-minute walk. Not a touristy section, which is what we strive for in a location. Launderette is a 10-minute walk (do not opt to do laundry on weekends as they are very busy) with easy to use washers and dryers. Safe. Breakfast was delicious with a wide variety of continental-type options, including choice of cooking your own soft-boiled eggs. When we return to Lyon, will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Our Superior Theatre view room was comfortable, windows opened onto main street, but totally quiet w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wetravellight11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 195 in Lyon
428 reviews
Hotel des Artistes
#25 of 195 in Lyon
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Celestins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Celestins

Address: 4 rue des Archers, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lyon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#17 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £85 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Celestins 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the city,between Place Bellecour & Place des JacobinsYou will be within walking distance ofThe old town & the nicest shops.The Célestins CarPark & Bellecour underground station: 50 yards away. Access by elevator 25.6 p X 45.3 p.Air-conditionned & Non Smoking Hotel, free wifi.Charming Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel des Celestins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Celestins Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing