We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel des Celestins
Nearby Hotels
US$379
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$109
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$245
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,078)
Filter reviews
1,078 results
Traveller rating
459
504
88
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
504
88
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationuntil noonold townboiled eggstiny liftrooms are smallplace bellecourcharming hotelyogurtwithin walking distancestay there againfirst floorsuperior roomfacing the streethighly recommend this hotelrestaurant reservationsfourviere hill
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 1,078 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I booked this hotel for my and my family's first trip to Lyon. I had read the Trip Advisor reviews and hoped that it would be a comfortable, well-situated hotel for us to meet Lyon. My expectations were well exceeded.

The hotel delivers the following:

*very friendly and very helpful personnel (including the proprietors) with excellent English and French language abilities;

*lovely breakfasts in a vibrant comfortable setting;

*a great junior suite easily accommodating two adults and two children; and

*a great location, a short walk from Place Bellecour.

All in all excellent value and we would not hesitate in staying again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad you had a wonderful time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Warm regards,
Oriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We only had two nights here, but the staff and the room were great. We stayed in one of the junior suites (the Magnolia Suite) and enjoyed the view of Fourviere Cathedral and the Opera. All the staff were very helpful and gave us some great suggestions for food and place to be sure to see, Located very close to the Metro made it great to get around. Of course it didn't hurt that we were there during the bi-annual sales events for all the stores.

Room Tip: The Magnolia suite is spacious, with lot of windows and charmingly appointed.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Propriétaire at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

thank you for your fond comments that i am discovering a little late.
laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Sadly, we only had one night in this gorgeous little hotel on our way from the ski-fields to Paris. We stayed in the 'Rooftops of Lyon' room and it was really lovely - a good size and with lots of little personal touches, such as the antique furniture. As others have commented, the location was pretty much perfect and the staff were really helpful, friendly and spoke excellent English. We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perth_traveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The hotel is located in the heart of the city in which shops, restaurants and Vieux Lyon are all within walking distance.

The staff had been very helpful in recommending restaurants to us as well as helping us to make reservations. Given that we were there during the Christmas period, one particular restaurant required a deposit for the Christmas eve reservation. One of the staffs of Celestins actually walked over to the restaurant and deposited a cheque for the reservation. What a service!!!

We stayed at the Bouillotte room which was spacious and relatively well kept. One suggestion is to replace the CRT TV with a Flat screen TV given that the TV is very old and the remote control is not functioning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLOWPTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

To all concerned the Hotel des Celestins is a great medium sized hotel in a great city! As the other reviewers stated it is in a prime location walking distance from all the great shops, sights, and restaurants! The ladies at the front desk were extremely helpful recommending restaurants. The rooms were quaint and clean. My room faced the front of the building which had a nice view but a bit noisy in the morning.
All things considered I would stay here again and recommend to anyone traveling to Lyon which I think is one of the prettiest cities in the world!
Cheers

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews