We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Lyon & Hotel des Celestins!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Celestins
Ranked #14 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Hotel des Celestins is centrally located for easy walking access to all the great historic sites in Lyon as well as the main shopping district,Presqu'île. It's also close to Place Bellecoeur with Metro access. The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations about local sites & restaurants. Breakfast was wonderful. The hotel & room itself was charming and comfortable.

Room Tip: My room was one of the smallest, which was sized right for a single traveler but would have been too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you very much for your comment.
We look forward to welcoming you during your next stay in Lyon
Kind regards,
Oriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

In the presqu'île, just beside the square of the Celestins theatre, one block from the Jacobins square, and two blocks from Bellecour, the city's main square, there could not be a better location in Lyon. Ten minutes walk to the metro station Vieux Lyon, it takes around 15 minutes to get to la Fourvière.
The room was really small but nicely decorated with a comfortable bed and good linings. The bathroom had just been updated, good shower and good space. The water temperature was not constant, and amenities where rather on the short side
All the staff was professional and helpful. They offered to make reservations and help with the luggage.
Breakfast buffet from 7:00 to noon is very convenient, with a good variety and selection of things.
I've stayed at several hotels in Lyon in this price range, and this is the best one by far. Good price/quality rapport.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank JimBta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.
We are happy you liked your stay in Lyon.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you next time.
Best regards
Oriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

For this price bracket, this hotel will take so,e beating. Small room but bigger rooms are available. Close to most tourist sites. One thing we look for when traveling is clean bathrooms. This hotel scores top points. Great breakfasts as well and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank randa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you so much for your great review. We are glad you liked your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you during your next visit in Lyon
Warm regards,
Oriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in Lyon. Hotel des Celestins was in a great location to walk around the city. Our room was small but comfortable. The highlight of this hotel however was the service provided by their staff, they were always friendly, gave us plenty of helpful advice and organised restaurant reservations for us prior to our arrival in Lyon.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACStravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

thank you for this nice comments and a bientôt
Oriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Fitting with its location in the center of the peninsula, with easy access to beautiful Lyon, we loved our Celestins Suite and the comfort it afforded. It was quite hot during our stay and the AC allowed us to have restful sleep on the very comfortable bed. All functions worked well and the staff was absolutely terrific in making excellent recommendations for dinner, especially a couple of "bouchons" which we thoroughly enjoyed. The owner greeted his guests most mornings, also provided suggestions for seeing the city and current events that day. We made several day trips; to Annecy, Beaunne, and to Chamonix/Mont Blanc. Parking, although not inexpensive, was very convenient and easy under the square adjacent to the hotel/theater. Overnight was very inexpensive, considering location, and if you parked beyond the nightly rate period, you only paid for the additional daytime hours. We would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Loved our room with the view outside (to the left) of theater. The suite provided a comfortable pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpokaneJan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Propriétaire at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

hello again, great haing you here with us. I am so happy you enjoyed so much Lyon as a base for visiting many cities and spots around Lyon. Hope to welcome you next year. laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. We had the "rooftops" room which was really bright and airy. It was a really hot time and the air conditioning coped well. There is a small, but very welcome lift.
Owner and staff have excellent English and are helpful with all requests, including thoughtful restaurant options (dinner is not served on the site).
Breakfast is well priced and better than average. There is no parking.
It seems right in the middle of the action with a walk in any direction proving fruitful.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ItchFeet58Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Propriétaire at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

thank you for chosing us as your host during your stay in Lyon. Your appreciation made us proud and we are so happy that you enjoyed the hotel. For your information the parking of Celestins is 30 yards away and very convenient if you do not find parking in front of the hotel
Best regards
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lyon is lovely city and the hotel is well located in the old part of town. The hotel is walking distance to the main railway station but not far from the tram line if walking is not your thing. The entrance is a bit disconcerting, being an electronically-operated door that allows you to reach reception up some quaint stairs. The rooms were comfortably old-fashioned, with windows you could open and a bath. Claire, at reception, was extremely helpful in terms of where to eat and what to see. As we had to leave very early next morning, we were pleasantly surprised when the most congenial owner made sure that he was there to provide breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynetteKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Propriétaire at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and letting us know your satisafaction. Claire as the other members of the team is very kind and loves to help.
Take Care
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 195 in Lyon
428 reviews
Hotel des Artistes
#25 of 195 in Lyon
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Celestins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Celestins

Address: 4 rue des Archers, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lyon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#17 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £86 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Celestins 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the city,between Place Bellecour & Place des JacobinsYou will be within walking distance ofThe old town & the nicest shops.The Célestins CarPark & Bellecour underground station: 50 yards away. Access by elevator 25.6 p X 45.3 p.Air-conditionned & Non Smoking Hotel, free wifi.Charming Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel des Celestins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Celestins Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing