We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay at the Celestins”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Celestins
Ranked #14 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We stayed here years ago when this hotel was called the Colbert. It has gotten even better. We stayed in a beautiful large "theater side" room, which doesn't mean it fronts the theater, the theater is about a half block down the street, which you can see by leaning out your window. No matter, it is a fabulous little hotel in a fabulous location. Our room was really beautiful, retaining some of an old world feel with all the modern comforts such as A/C, night lights, a little desk. We especially liked the two big casement windows with gorgeous embroidered silk drapes, and the comfortable bed. The bathroom is well equipped and pretty large. We bought the breakfast and it is worth the money, a nice buffet in a pretty dining room. There is a small lift, which is helpful. The staff are very helpful and competent and the owner Laurent seems to be around quite a bit. This is a beautiful hotel with a feel of antiquity in the stone stairways and high ceilings, and it seems to be continually undergoing improvements under the new management. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nwtravelerOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed in the Celestins hotel for two nights. The rooms are not large, but the bathrooms are adequate. The hotel rooms are actually several apartments located on the floors of the building, the reception in on the 1st floor; there is an ancient lift.
The breakfast room is quite nice, the buffet average. The staff is extremely nice, very kind and helpful.
The location is wonderful, just in the heart of the city, in the old town between the two Lyon rivers, close to the Place des Celestins. Lot of beautiful shops near the hotel and plenty of superb places to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sagarmatha8848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed at Hotel des Celestins for one night during our recent trip to France. We recommend this hotel for its location (fantastic - right near the theatre) and very friendly, welcoming staff. They were kind enough to find us a room at a nearby hotel for one night when I goofed up and made our reservation for the wrong nights, and then didn't fuss when we only were able to stay with them for one night (our original reservation had been for two). Our room was clean, but quite small, with windows that supposedly overlooked the theatre, but we couldn't confirm this because the windows were not all that conducive to opening. Didn't try the breakfast (not included) because we had to leave for the airport quite early.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinssing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

After reading Trip Advisor reviews, that the theatre side rooms were better than the others, we found that on the theatre side there are two different sized rooms.We spent the first night in a small room which was totally inadequate for two people with luggage.The staff kindly moved us to a bigger room with more room to move but this cost us 10 euros more per night than we had budgeted for. So check which room you are getting. The rooms both were furnished nicely,however the advertised 11 TV channels were in reality 3 fuzzy channels you couldn't watch.The hotel is well situated and the staff were wonderful to us letting us use their computer as their WIFI was down for all 4 days of our stay. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

A lovely hotel in a great location - rooms are a reasonable size, are nicely decorated and the building itself has character. Reception staff were friendly and helpful - for example recommended a local restaurant. Although there is no nightporter when my arival was delayed the staff were very helpful and left the key at a nearby hotel. Breakfast was very reasonable at 8 euros (there is plenty to eat although quality was just OK) Slight downside - a very dubious lift so I ended up carrying my luggage to hotel reception on first floor.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maisie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Hotel des Celestins is centrally located about a two minute walk to Place Bellacour and about a 15 minute walk across the Pont Bonaparte to the old town. Everything is within a short walking distance. If possible request a room at the front of the hotel facing the Opera house because its beautiful at night.
The room itself is very small but comfortable. The bathroom was larger than I was expecting and quite clean. The hotel is quite old but its had some minor renovations & has a few modern touches like flat screen television in the room. We had breakfast at the hotel on one occasion and it was pretty nice cereal, pastries, yoghurt, cheeses, eggs. Breakfast was about 8 euro each from memory.
We enjoyed our time at this hotel and would recommend it for the location and price. If you're planning on spending alot of time in the room then this hotel is probably not for you.
Make sure you stay in Lyon over a weekend and go to the food markets on Sunday morning along the River Saone (starts at the Pont Bonaparte). You can pick up some beautiful and cheap fresh breads, patries, cheeses, olives, wine and other fresh produce so you can have a picnic in one of the parks.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EbonyPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We stayed at Hotel des Celestins for 3 nights at the end of May. We stayed in a large room on the theatre side (#45). The room was modern, was a good size with a king size bed, and the bathroom is very well laid out. The room faces the street but is very quiet. We were there on a Saturday night and we were able to fall asleep with the window open.
The breakfast is good, with a selection of pastries, cold meats and cheeses, eggs and yogurt. It isn’t incredibly fancy but it is fair value.
The location of the hotel is excellent, about a 10 minute walk across Pont Bonaparte into old town. We were able to walk to Place Bellecour in about 5 minutes.
The front desk is very helpful and offered to make site and restaurant recommendations (we did not take them up on this, but they were very willing).
The reception area is on the first floor (second floor in North America), so when we went in we immediately got in a tiny elevator and went to the first floor. The rooms are on the second – fifth floors.
If we were to go to Lyon again, we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel des Artistes
#21 of 194 in Lyon
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Celestins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Celestins

Address: 4 rue des Archers, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lyon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#17 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £86 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Celestins 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the city,between Place Bellecour & Place des JacobinsYou will be within walking distance ofThe old town & the nicest shops.The Célestins CarPark & Bellecour underground station: 50 yards away. Access by elevator 25.6 p X 45.3 p.Air-conditionned & Non Smoking Hotel, free wifi.Charming Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel des Celestins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Celestins Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing