We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two stars? Seriously?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Auberge de l'Ile

Auberge de l'Ile
Reserve with
Auberge de l'Ile is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #333 of 3,223 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$123
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: L'Auberge de l'Ile Barbe est recompensee de 1 etoiles au guide Michelin et 16/20 au Gault et Millau, un succes couronne par son acceptation au sein de la prestigieuse famille des Relais & Chateaux en 2006.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Two stars? Seriously?”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The food was excellent and so was wine but the quality of service was very disappointing. I found a piece of a plastic foil in my soup and when I told the waiter, he just rolled his eyes and mumbled something like "parfait". Not a single word of excuse. But the worst was yet to come. When all five tables were served with entrées, both waiters disappeared. Our main courses therefore waited on their plates to be served more than 7 minutes. When the waiter finally arrived, the cook told him that the meal would probably be cold and tested the temperature with his finger. I did not see what happened next but our plates appeared few minutes later properly warm. We were not offered a dessert wine and we had to refill our glasses with water. Once again, the food was really nice and it is a pity that our experience was ruined with service like this.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kooladanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    45
    42
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A memorable meal”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

It is a number of years since I was last in Lyon and visited this restaurant and I was not disappointed. Such a wonderful venue - a very elegant establishment, good ambience and very professional service.

The food did not disappoint - it was amazing - beautifully balanced flavours and finest quality ingredients. The quality of the ingredients stands out - no flavour upon flavour dishes where you can't taste what you are actually eating! The highlight for me was the goose with sweet and sour tomatoes - two succulent pieces of goose breast accompanied by a vine of skinned cherry tomatoes with the most amazing flavour - sweet then the tang of savoury. Then there was the peach souffle with peach sorbet...... congratulations Chef!

Service was excellent and the food delicious and beautifully presented. It was matched with wonderful wines. I recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants an experience they will never forget - its a truly worthy Relais & Châteaux establishment.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireW605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outrageous prices even for Starred restaurant!”
Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

We often dine at 2 and 3 star Michelin restaurants and I am a 5 C member of Relais and Chateaux, but even in the finest of Paris water was not 12 euros. The setting is charming, the service is pleasant and the food mixed. We had the smaller tasting menu for 90 euros. For the main course there was only one small piece of Rouget on a potato. The other was tasty, but tough goose. When I complained, they brought a sharper knife. The crab tarte was pretty and delicious with an interesting red pepper sorbet. The 4 glass wine pairing was 80 euros per person! Total bill for two 432 euros. Not worth it!

Helpful?
Thank Class4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“You're worth it”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Set on a little island on the Saone (better than the Rhone, chef JC assured us), the taxi driver had no idea where this place was and had to phone his control, which was concerning considering it is supposed to be one of the top eateries in Lyon! It was pretty empty too, although to be fair it was a Tuesday evening, but maybe this quaint little 2 star auberge just isnt as widely
known as Bocuse's is, further up the river, with it's 3 shiny stars.
It's worth noting that they do a little ferry to the island during high season, which would really highlight the restaurant's unusual positioning.

Nicely chilled ambience - sit outside the inn with an apéritif before eating, and a small (about 7 tables) dining room (although more upstairs) with a mix of traditional and contemporary decor.

The degustation contained less courses than seen in other Michelin star restaurants, with a couple of optional courses (i.e. caviar and cheese) thrown in for maybe an extra 20 euros. What counted as course 1 was in fact more the bar food we had outside with our drinks (a gorgeous tempora crisp mix), but in my eyes shouldn't have counted as course one. Picky, maybe.

The other 4 courses were good quality, and JC does a great job charming his customers and was very friendly and we were lucky enough that the restaurant was fairly quiet and he spent a lot of time chatting about his influences and life. In fact, he made the visit for me - without our fascinating chat with him (and his recommendations of what he felt were the best restaurants around), the meal would've seemed great, but felt as if it fell far from Paul Bocuse's Auberge De Pont, not far away. L'Auberge De L'ile aims for a different, less luxurious market, but still with a good standard of food - so one should be sure what to expect if you want your Michelin restaurants to be all whistles and bells
Bill for 2 eating Degustation with wine recomendations came to 550 euros.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrightonBecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“One of the top three meals of my life”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We have lived in France for almost two years, and have tried to go to as many highly recommended restaurants as we can. This one surpassed all expectations. We went to celebrate a belated Valentines Day dinner on the recommendation of some French friends, and from the warm welcome by the Chef when we arrived (even though it was 20 minutes before opening) to the tiny chocolate cups of pineapple mousse with our final coffee, there was not one moment of imperfection. The setting is from a fairy tale, a crumbling island fortress with narrow walkways lined with craggy plane trees. The restaurant is beautifully, simply decorated, with an open window to the kitchen through which you can peek at the efficient artists bustling for your pleasure. All of the young wait staff could speak English and did so charmingly and happily, whenever our poor French broke down. We never felt intimidated or uncomfortable. And best of all, Chef Ansanay-Alex checked in with us at every stage of the meal, proudly explaining how he sourced his local ingredients and overseeing every plate that came to our table. And what a parade of plates they were! Four gorgeous amuses to accompany our Champagne aperitif (the green herb beignets and the plump oysters were the standouts) on the Chef's recommendation we chose the tasting menu and wine pairing, which meant that we were delighted by course after course of perfectly balanced in-season fare. Every plate had one brilliant, unexpected element; a pickled whole cherry with the scallops, a baby artichoke so perfectly turned and browned it looked like a mini pear, tiny, crisp-fried onion rings encircling an asparagus spear, and the unexpected crunch of caramelized sugar on the top of the glorious, subtle dessert souffle to highlight just a few special touches. The wines paired beautifully with each course, my favourite being the sweet dessert Beaujolais that was perfect with the unsweetened sorbet and subtle souffle. An intimate, exciting experience that we will remember forever. An expensive treat that was worth every penny, and I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VanFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge de l'Ile also viewed

 

Been to Auberge de l'Ile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing