We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place in a Grim Section”
Review of Cafe Comptoir Abel

Cafe Comptoir Abel
Ranked #72 of 3,258 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$148
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Place in a Grim Section”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Abel is a very nice and homey Lyonnais bistro. The owners and servers are accommodating and friendly. The food was very good, try the escallope de foie or the chicken in a beautiful cream sauce. Generous portions and it's happy to find such a good place in this part of the city

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberto35411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    392
    113
    61
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
101 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great bouchon - a must-try”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I love trying to new bouchons - we want to have as robust an "expérience traditionnelle" as possible - so even though we live in Lyon, we rarely visit the same place twice. We will definitely visit Comptoir Abel again, though. We were late for our reservation, but no problem, they held our table. The staff was friendly and warm; the wine was cold and prompt. We both ordered the formule and completely overate. I had the quenelle, which is the best I've had in the city - really light and airy, with a delicious mushroom sauce. My husband had the andouillette - his favorite plat lyonnais - and agreed that it was very good. The final coup: The bill was really reasonable. Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbarry524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Meal in real Lyonaise restaurant”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We find Cafe Comptoir Abel at very comfortable short way trip from our mooring place in Lyon.on Quai de M. Jofre. We find, that this restaurant was serving meals for local senior citizens. For us it was good reference, so we went in, and we did not regret it. Atmosphere and food, wine in lovely glasses. Nice, young staff, what more can You expect? Bon apetit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prosiaczek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average good bouchon lyonnais”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Location is a bit difficult to find, but the place is well known. Nice terrace (on the sidewalk). Typical menu, but feels a bit standard fare. Chef is said to have been in the kitchen for 40 years, maybe a bit tired of repeating the same menu? Wine (pot de beaujolais) was served warm !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Macou13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“an enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

we went with the family for a dinner at comptoir Abel on a evening on july.reservation was done by internet , the welcome was friendly and a table outside was proposed, which we on this sunny evening accepted;
different menus were proposed, but there was no flexibility on it.everybody found was he liked, service was quick, the starters promising....
for the main menu we took the quenelle which was a "decouverte"
we had a friendly chat with the waiters, so in general good price/quality for the food and a extra for the friendly service

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank giritoninjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Comptoir Abel also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Comptoir Abel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing