We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get much better than this.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We are still reeling from this weekend as we simply have never had a better hotel and restaurant experience. Emmanuel Renaut's Flocons de Sel is simply perfection when it comes to a Relais & Chateau experience. They didn't have any free rooms in the hotel so they proposed their village apartment for the weekend. This was not at all inconvenient as they brought us to and from the hotel whenever we wanted. After our dinner and the morning of our departure, it was even Monsieur Renaut himself that drove us! That's attention to detail, when a world-class chef is ready to take care of him guests to such a degree.

The rooms are wonderful, the dining experience (2 Michelin stars) is superior to even 3-star restaurants we have dined at, the wine list is exceptional, the spa is class, and the staff is simply the friendliest (and somehow managed to be ever-present without us noticing they were there). The fact that it started snowing on the day we arrived only made the place even more magical.

I cannot stress what a perfectly honed relaxation experience this place is. Compared to other Relais & Chateaux, it's an absolute bargain to boot. We have a cynical streak and tend to over-criticize places we stay at, but we simply couldn't find anything wrong with Flocons de Sel. M. Renaut and everyone else there seemed determined to give the best experience possible to their guests and it showed every moment we were there.

Room Tip: If no rooms are free, do not hesitate to take the village apartment if they propose it. You won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

We have stayed at enough luxury properties to see that this one had the right service and attention to detail. And to have chef-owner Emmanuel Renaut cooking a top meal, made this a perfect one-night stay. We will be coming back here, be it in summer or winter.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milehighj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We travel a lot, not on a budget and have experience with great hotels. Flocon De Sel has exceeded them all. The hotel owners Emmanuel and Kristine make you feel as if you are their cherished guest. Your every need, every desire are not only fulfilled but anticipated. We dined twice in Emmanuel’s restaurant -- a very special experience. You can tell that no detail or expense was speared when designing our room as well as the hotel’s common areas, which combine clean modern elegance and comfort with charm and uniqueness of a Savoyard Alpine chalet. Also, the hotel’s location – 3 kilometers away from the center of Megeve – provides both a quiet and peaceful retreat and closeness to all the action. We can’t wait to come back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aipokupka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at the Flocons de Sel for a weekends skiing. Our room was spacious, modern and stylish, with vaulted ceiling, balcony, fireplace and superb bathroom with shower and a bath big enough for 2 with a window next to the bath giving a lovely view over the valley. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room so peaceful we slept well and felt very well rested when we left. The service was exceptional - from the moment we booked to our departure, nothing was too much trouble. We had wondered if the position a little out of town would make it difficult for skiing and going into town, but the shuttle service provided was amazingly responsive and took us where we needed to go whenever we wanted and picked us up again to bring us back to the hotel. The food was some of the best we have ever eaten, delicious breakfasts we could have in our room or in the salon, and an exquisite dinner in the hotel restaurant. Every evening the room turn down service left us with fresh fruit and some delicious macaroons. We also enjoyed a lovely meal with friends in the hotel's Flocon Village bistro in the centre of Megeve where the food was superb and very good value (24 euros 2 courses, 29 euros for 3 courses). As we left the hotel, we were handed a bag with some of the homemade preserves we had enjoyed at breakfast - a lovely touch. Overall an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

"Flocons de Sel" tries to be top-notch but just doesn't make it. Although a lovely place, service varies from very good to very bad, e.g. there are many charming staff members, however our check-in was very weird & uninformative thus off-putting; spa appointment was seriously messed up since the masseuse (who ultimately proved to be very talented) arrived 45 minutes late. I had wanted to make the most of the lovely hotel/spa facilities yet because of these service glitches, could not.

Had this been an ordinary, inexpensive hotel, it wouldn't matter. However Flocons de Sel clearly aims to be a cut above (and prices are steep!), but in our experience it did not come up to standard. It simply did not deliver an all-around great experience for its great-big prices.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zelda88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We were looking for a hotel to celebrate a family event and chose this special place after reading the good reviews in this website. We were 4 couples (no kids).
Each room has different decoration but all of them are just wonderfull and have everything to make the stay as comfortable as possible.
The food in the local restaurant (for dinner) is unique and excellent and also breakfast is very good.
The staff is well trained , english speakers, will help in every situation and will do everything to make your stay unforgetable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arielabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We had a fantastic experience at both the restaurant and the hotel.

First of all, the food was amazing, really innovative, delicious & tasty.
The service was excellent, the best we ever got in France ! They really try their best to make you feel good, without being poshy. Our 2 children were treated like kings and they took them to the kitchen to choose their desserts with the Chef !
The Chef is a very friendly and accessible person who loves to see his customers happy. He even came to say goodbye when we left.

As for the room, it was superb too ! The bed was uber-confortable and the bathroom so pleasant.
We had a nice relaxing view over the valley with some cows in the background, it was really beautiful.

Overall, the service was exceptionnal. We are very impressed and we hope to be back next year !!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hong_Kong_Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Megeve hotels
1.9 mi away
Les Fermes de Marie
Les Fermes de Marie
#4 of 37 in Megeve
646 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
2.5 mi away
Hotel L'Arboisie
Hotel L'Arboisie
#7 of 37 in Megeve
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le M de Megeve
Le M de Megeve
#10 of 37 in Megeve
192 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lodge Park
Lodge Park
#16 of 37 in Megeve
164 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#18 of 37 in Megeve
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel

Address: 1775 route du Leutaz, 74120 Megeve, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Megeve
#1 Spa Hotel in Megeve
#1 Romantic Hotel in Megeve
#2 Family Hotel in Megeve
Price Range: £324 - £808 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kristine and Emmanuel Renaut invite you to discover the Flocons de Sel: spacious, comfortable, authentic to escape the daily routine, why not come for dinner or simply for a massage or beauty car in our spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais And Chateaux Flocons De Sel
Relais & Chateaux Flocons De Sel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing