We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in the word if you like food, design and mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
300 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“The best hotel in the word if you like food, design and mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Its something out of this world; a very cozy, smart, well-designed, beautifully located, well-run, personal little five star hotel with food prepared by a genius. I am so thrilled about this place that my only concern is really that more people will find this little gem of a hotel. There is just no place like this anywhere. It even offers a great SPA and a pool and hot tub. The restaurant is well worth a trip alone, which in fact most people do. Try some of their local selection of wines as well; truly unique. We spent one evening in the kitchen of this world star of a chef - he acts like a local chef on the corner, not a 3 star chef with an attitude. He and his wife (she runs the place with him) are just nice people, like everybody who works there. Service is 100% and then some. Staying in this hotel combines the best of staying in a private chalet with a five star hotel. The only two remarks I have is that the mattress is not to my liking (too soft), and that I would love to have locally brewed beer in the minibar. We will come back to this place as long as they are letting us!!!! Thanks!

Room Tip: Any room or chalet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gudleiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    13
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
126
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Best meal I have ever had. Worth every single penny and each star well deserved. The superior room was also quite lovely. Loved to sleep off a big meal with the sound of cowbells gently rigning in the background. Clearly this is an exceptional restaurant with rooms, so I have been generous on some other areas of service outside of this but still would return

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70Michela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights last summer, and loved it! We came to Megeve from Zermatt, and the drive was spectacular - through lots of charming towns. The hotel itself is mostly built around the restaurant, which is amazing! We ate there two of the three nights, and at the bistro in town the third night. The chef / owner is incredibly nice and hospitable, and in addition to serving us amazing food, was excellent in directing us on hikes etc. The weather was a bit rainy / misty while we were there, but it was perfect to stay in, and get massages etc. The hotel has a cool hot tub / jacuzzi type thing outside, with stunning views.
The rooms themselves are nice - a bit rustic in decor. Ours came with its own fireplace which was great. The staff could not be friendlier - one of the ladies at the front desk (I think her name was Victoria, from England) drove us into town for dinner, and was generally very helpful and nice.
While it was definitely pricey, we felt like it was worth it. We would definitely return if we come back to Megeve.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floconsdesel, Responsable réception at Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write us.

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel and restaurant.
It is important for us to receive your impressions because we work every day to improve our services.
We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Megève!

With kind regards

Audrey, Front desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

We wanted to celebrate my birthday and wanted to go somewhere very special. Where we could enjoy great food and relax.

If you want to be pampered in a very cosy and homely way this is the place to go. From the minute we stepped into the door and were greeted by Victoria, we fell in love with this place. The room was perfect, the Spa a delight. The surrounding was magical and you just feel that this place has a lot of love put in to it by Mr and Mrs Renault, and their wonderful team. We have been to a lot of nice establishments all over the world, however it is extremely rare to experience this warm friendly loving feeling. It is not stuffy and ostentatious but very casual and friendly. A discreet, hidden luxury which makes you feel very welcome. A lot of people might feel overwhelmed and uncomfortable in 3 Star Michelin establishments but here it is very different. You actually see the Chef Mr Renault walking around which is just so lovely to see. In a lot of establishments you do not see the Chef very often and we thought this was just so wonderful! We dined at the restaurant and of course have only great things to say. Our culinary experience was just out of the world. Every dish was a work of art and so very creative. A real orgy of the senses created by Mr Renault which we look forward to experiencing again very soon. All the staff were fantastic and our thank you to the charming sommelier who understood just what we liked. Thank you to everyone at the Flocons de Sel for their hospitality and making us feel wonderful. We will be back for another culinary adventure!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegirls68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

I just went in quickly for their spa. As 8 months pregnant vocation in megeve, I was desperately looking for somewhere I can unwind and relax preferable with a hot Bain or spa.. I called many places their facility are only reserved for hotel clients or they don't receive pregnant woman.
The reception was really friendly when she respond, she said there was no special care for pregnancy, however they are happy to adapt my needs. Good start. I arrived and had a wonderful massage by changing postures on different parts, the staff was very helpful try to help me relax.
After I had a beautiful time relaxing at a outdoor jacuzzi with 40 degree hot water, totally relaxed, with beautiful snow mountain view...
After returning in door, found a tisane is waiting, I could have had a nap in the elegant detent space if I don't ave to pick up my daughter from ski class.
As a sum, great place, not huge, but human design and friendly service doubled the satisfactory.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruyigeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Moderm beautiful room and bathroom. Amazing view from room. Pampering service. Above megeve - a little bit secluded and so quiet. Unfortunately we came when therestuarant was closed ( which we knew) so the price was really fair and very good value for money. Next time we will be happy to come and enjoy the restaurant as well. Great place

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
161 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Flocons de Sel has eight rooms and an apartment attached to the restaurant of the same name, which was awarded three Michelin stars in 2012. It is 4km outside the town of Megeve, perched on a hillside and with beautiful views over the surrounding mountains and woodland. The room I stayed at (room 3) was not particularly large and was not that well lit, but it did have a balcony with a pretty view, and a small lounge alongside the bedroom. The shower was excellent and the bathroom quite large, the bed comfortable. Breakfast, incidentally, is superb, since croissants are made from scratch in the restaurant kitchen, and a warm peach flan was magnificent. There is a spa here, but I was only staying one night so did not have time to take advantage of it. Service was fine, though bear in mind that this is a small place so, for example, the reception desk is not always staffed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy Hayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Megeve hotels
1.9 mi away
Les Fermes de Marie
Les Fermes de Marie
#3 of 37 in Megeve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le M de Megeve
Le M de Megeve
#7 of 37 in Megeve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel L'Arboisie
Hotel L'Arboisie
#11 of 37 in Megeve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet d'Antoine
Hotel Chalet d'Antoine
#1 of 37 in Megeve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.4 mi away
Le Fer a Cheval
Le Fer a Cheval
#13 of 37 in Megeve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel

Property: Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel
Address: 1775 route du Leutaz, 74120 Megeve, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Megeve
#1 Romantic Hotel in Megeve
#1 Spa Hotel in Megeve
#3 Family Hotel in Megeve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kristine and Emmanuel Renaut invite you to discover the Flocons de Sel: spacious, comfortable, authentic to escape the daily routine, why not come for dinner or simply for a massage or beauty car in our spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais & Chateaux Flocons De Sel Hotel
Relais And Chateaux Flocons De Sel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing