We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb by all Standards”
Review of Alpaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpaga
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Excellent facilities and superb service. Decor is light and "open" with beautiful views of the mountains (and is far more attractive than other hotels in Megeve who have taken the alpine look to an extreme and are dark and gloomy).
The only issue we had was internet speed and I understand that is a telco issue related to the neighborhood and not to the hotel infrastructure.
A lovely vacation and we will be definitely back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shihabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

A huge thank you for your lovely comment!
We hope seeing you again very soon,
Very best wishes from Megève,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
There are newer reviews for Alpaga
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

It was the first time my husband and I went to Megeve. We were in Courchevel before and we prefer the town of Megeve as we find it more picturesque, friendly and relaxed. On the other hand, the ski area in Courchevel is still unbeatable.
The service at Alpaga was excellent. Even before our arrival, we were sent emails informing us of the hotel and the area. and asking if we needed help with organising ski pass/lessons and booking restaurant. Every staff was on board and was enthusiastic to help. We were greeted by Cecilia, who was always smiling and energetic. We were well taken care of throughout. Great team. The breakfast was excellent with a lot of home-made items. We ordered room service from both the room service menu and from the restaurant. The food was of good quality and reasonably priced for a 5 star in Megeve. The room was cozy and quaint; and the bathroom was luxurious and well designed with all needed amenities. Even though our room was above the restaurant, we did not find it noisy. The decor of the hotel was very pleasant. The location is a bit out of the way but we did not find it a problem as the shuttle service was flexible and efficient. We even enjoyed the peace away from town. The spa was great to relax in after a day of skiing.
If we go to Megeve again, we will go back to Alpaga.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Dear Guest,
What a pleasure to receive your comments! Thank you for sharing you experience at Alpaga and we are also very grateful to know that you appreciated our team and services.
We hope you will be back to Megève and we will be able to welcome you again.
Warmest Regards,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The hotel is beautiful in both the summer and the winter. I have stayed at this hotel during both seasons and jt has Never failed to impress. the staff are lovely and the hotel is beautifully decorated. The spa is really lovely and offers many services with an excellent gym although the jacuzzi is cold. The breakfast could be a little better with more variety but everything is fresh. The hotel is a little in the middle of nowhere but there is an excellent shuttle service that js free of charge although In the summer the shuttle service only runs until 7 pm which can be a little inconvenient. The room is beautiful and the bathrooms are modern and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
Thank pinkandyellowmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Guest,
You are too kind to take the time to post your thoughts regarding your stay at the Alpaga during the summer and the winter seasons.
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we will do the necessary to make you feel each time as you are “home away from home”.
Warmest regards and looking forward to welcome you soon,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We wanted our baby boy to experience the snow, so we planned a brief retreat to a winter destination. When planning, we were between Switzerland and France and finally decided for Megeve as we are not skiers so the town seemed to be more family oriented than its Swiss counterpart.
As we are also not used to the snow and alpine towns, my husband wanted to stay at a chalet style place where we could step out and play with the snow but be able to have all comforts of a 5 star hotel.
We took the 2 bedroom chalet. This was perfect for us. It is located on the top floor of a 3 storie 'cabin' looking building. the interior was all wood and had windows in the ceilings (sorry about my english) that let the light come in and to check how the snow piled up. It also had a nice balcony overlooking the mountains.
On the basement of this building there was a child play area with all sort of toys, games, 1 activity room, 1 playroom and 2 tv rooms. Everything child friendly and was child size.
The hotel is 5 minutes from town and you can easily go and return with the hotel shuttle, no problem at all.
Also, the spa and pool area are even better than what you see in the website so do not miss bringing your swimsuit (like we did!).
To sum up, if we are able to go back to Megeve, alpaga would be our top choice, no doubt.

Room Tip: If travelling with kids, the 2 bedroom chalet is perfect.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VamonosDeViaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for dedicating your time and sharing your gracious comments regarding your experience at the Alpaga.
Needless to say that we are truly honored that you and your family had enjoyed the Alpaga and spent a great time at the snow.
We are looking forward to see you all in a near future.
Kind Regards,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed at Hotel Alpaga for a week's worth of skiing in Megeve end of Feb-early March 2013 with my wife and some friends. The hotel is located far away from the vilage and the ski lifts, however this isn't a problem as the shuttle service they run is quick and efficient. The rooms (we stayed in mid-range deluxe) are on the small side, but the views from the balconies (every room has one) are excellent. The spa is good and the food at breakfast is delicious. One big downside is the patchy service we received, both from front desk/concierge and at the restaurant at breakfast - good on some occasions, indifferent bordering on horrible on others without any consistency whatsoever - owners please take note to invest more in staff training. Overall ok if overpriced hotel, but the poor service received prevents me from recommending it to others and we won't stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for taking time to make your observations regarding L'Alpaga.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and we regret that our staff services did not correspond to your needs. Our main goal is to offer a consistent product and service to each and every one of our guests and we will do the necessary to improve and guarantee the same 5 stars service everyday and every time.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Alpaga.
Kind Regards,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This is a nice hotel. But I d'ont like the distance of the city.
You always need the free navet! The breakfast is ok, diner is not good.
The staff is really helpfull and great, there is nothing to say about it!
But I prefer Courchevel and never go back to Megeve!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sending your impressions about the Alpaga Megève.
We are concerned about the disappointment you had with your dinner experience and we would be pleased to welcome you in the future in a way you can enjoy our restaurant and discover the charm of Megeve, considered the most famous village in the Alps for the last century.
Kind Regards,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed at hotel Alpaga for 5 nights in Feb for a ski trip, fantastic hotel and excellent service. Our room was nice but I did not like the fact it was a 2 stories room (loft) which is perfect if you have children. Food is very delicious and the restaurant is very lovely. The SPA is outstanding and you will appreciate it after a long day on the slope. The only issue we had was for the shuttle bus which will take you to & from the village. In some cases, you might wait for about 30 minutes to get the shuttle. I would prefer if there is a time table for the shuttle (every 15 minutes) so hotel guests can arrange their self’s and know when to be ready. Overall, ALPAGA experience was magnificent and I would strongly recommend staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaz403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments and such good words about us.
We were very pleased to welcome you at l'Alpaga and to contribute to the success of your holidays.
We have well noted your remarks and will do your best to improve our shuttle service.
Seen you very soon in Megève,
Very best wishes,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Megeve hotels
0.6 mi away
Les Fermes de Marie
Les Fermes de Marie
#5 of 38 in Megeve
596 reviews
1.5 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel
1.3 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Fer a Cheval
Le Fer a Cheval
#13 of 38 in Megeve
177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel L'Arboisie
Hotel L'Arboisie
#10 of 38 in Megeve
297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le M de Megeve
Le M de Megeve
#8 of 38 in Megeve
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpaga

Address: 66 allee des Marmousets | 66 Allée des Marmousets, 74120 Megeve, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Megeve
#4 Luxury Hotel in Megeve
#4 Family Hotel in Megeve
#4 Spa Hotel in Megeve
Price Range: £156 - £1,395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alpaga 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpaga nestles in natural surroundings just a few minutes from the village, in the heart of Megève and the Aravis range. Its chalets blend seamlessly with the environment yet are an integral part of the life of the hotel, including the main building and its restaurants, the gardens, the bar and the hot tub with a view of Mont Blanc. They offer resort regulars and passing visitors a quiet setting steeped in style and warmth, whether in winter or in summer. People come to the Alpaga to enjoy the luxury of its rooms and the refinement of its restaurant, which won its first Michelin star in 2014, offering an authentic dining experience that is both original and true to the Megève tradition, under the direction of head chef Antony Tempesta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Prestigia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpaga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing