We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Megeve”
Review of Alpaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpaga
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My family and I (a total of 9) rented a chalet at Alpaga during July....what a wonderful experience. The chalet was perfect - the furnishings lovely and comfortable - the kitchen well stocked - the views spectacular - wifi that worked well. The location is excellent....very peaceful (I could listen to those cowbells forever!).....but still close enough to town to walk in for a restaurant or shopping. Guillaume and his staff went over and above in helping us organize activities (river rafting, canyoning, climbing and Via Ferrata) as well as taking care of a couple car difficulties we encountered. We had a problem with the washing machine which they resolved immediately. I can't say enough good things about their service. And is there anything better than having warm croissants and baguettes delivered to your door first thing in the morning?! We would definitely stay at Alpaga again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tfwrenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for dedicating your time to share your experience at the Alpaga. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay and got a remarkable experience here. We are looking forward to welcome you again.
Warm Regards from sunny Megève,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

A wonderfully placed Alpine hotel. Views are outstanding, flavour of surroundings is real Haute-Savoie country side, and even with a typical recreational site for city kids in the neighborhood, it feels peaceful, and wonderfully authentic. Architecture is chalet contemporary, well adapted to the particularities of the terrain, and simply comfortable to the guest; underground connections between buildings and parking and spa are a wonderful surprise. Rooms are spacious for this location (Megeve) and well appointed. Hotel is impeccably clean and well-kept, with beautiful gardens and mountain flowers. Deco, somewhat scandinavian but at times with a cold-loft style that now prevails in soooo many hotels around the world - sort of, no matter where you're. Still, details of mountain life here, use of sheep skin, materials, balance make it right. Distance to town not a problem but rather a blessing, with Megève becoming crowded with cars, and the hotel providing an on-request shuttle service. Norwegian bath is on a most pleasant deck, overlooking the Mont Blanc at the distance, perfect for the rosy splendid sunsets. Staff are very courteous, helpful and attentive. We had a major disappointment with food at the charming bistro: ordered a cheese fondue, and it's probably fair to say that we had the worst restaurant experience ever: the maitre was totally distracted, we were neglected in our corner, fondue was over-heated, placed on blue flame constantly for a very long time, accompanying ingredients delivered too slowly at uncoordinated times, no cutlery until we asked for it and when the fondue finally burned and we still had to endure it, there was little in terms of apologies or trying to make it better - we even had to pay for it - and it's generally an over-priced hotel, in line with most in the region. All in all a mixed experience. It has a great potential. The manager and the Brazilian born receptionist were kind and charming and accommodated to our late departing time. With improvements such as improved restaurant service and placing the gym in a real, dedicated space, hopefully taking advantage of the great view, rather than in an appealing dark corner, it could become a great option in a location where competition is fierce and traditionally based on attention to detail and service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - rooms are really nice and views exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIFFYTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for writing a comment about us. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your time with us and your holidays were a success!
We have well noted your feedback regarding our lounge restaurant l'Onyx. We are extremely concerned about your unappropriated experience at the bistro. Your comment is very important in order to improve our quality and services. Once again we apologize for all the inconvenience caused and we will be pleased to see you again at the Alpaga during your next trip to Megeve.
Kind Regards,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

For the fourth time we skied in Megeve and visited several hotels. This time we tried the Alpaga hotel, not 5 minutes by car or a 20’ walk from the city. Don’t bother about this distance, they have a splendid navette service (sometimes you have to wait 15’) and bring you to the city or the skiing station and back. The location is pleasing and the hotels consists of several chalets with nice terraces overlooking the mountains but the terraces do not have a lot of sun because of the orientation of some of them. The interiors, rooms and bathrooms are boutique style and excellent equipped (but please mind your head for the slanting roof in the upper rooms). The service is really amazing. They book your lift pass, transfer you to the restaurant of your choice, are helpful with the renting of ski material. They all do to get you happy. Breakfast is good, we personally prefer some more diversity in fresh fruit. The lunch is basic and there is a minimum of choice but dinner is a very good experience we recommend. There is a very nice pool and hammam and small fitness. If this is a 5 or 4 stars hotels is not the point, it is a very pleasant place to stay and we certainly go back.

Room Tip: If you are tall don’t take a room under the roof. If you want to catch some sun on your terrace plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELJMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your impressive opinion about your last stay. We truly appreciate your kind comments and we are looking forward to welcome you again at the Alpaga.
Warm Regards,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Please do not be put off by the hotels location being just out of town as this only enhances its magical experience and given the excellent courtesy taxi service certainly did not prove it to be problematic. From the moment we arrived at the Alpaga we were delighted with our accommodation choice, is it has a modern alpine charm and a discreteness that cannot be rivalled in the area and is certainly worthy of its rating, completed by the excellent staff and their attentiveness, in particular the hotel manager (or so we presumed!) who from the moment we rang from the UK to book our stay till our return journey when he even took time to show my husband the ideal route home to complete our stay. Perhaps our only words of advice (definitely not criticism) would be that we would have liked to have seen a more varied menu in their restaurant, albeit what we had was excellent, a daily additional choice would have made it complete, together with given its superb location it is a shame that the spa area does not benefit from this, but were delighted to learn of the addition of the outdoor hot tub that’s planed. We will most certainly return and hope that the Alpaga, in the main, remains just as we found!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Guest,
It is so amazing to read detailed and positive comments like yours about the Alpaga. That is a result that we were successful in providing a remarkable and memorable stay. It is so nice to know about your plan to return and we are looking forward to see you again.
Kind Regards,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Excellent facilities and superb service. Decor is light and "open" with beautiful views of the mountains (and is far more attractive than other hotels in Megeve who have taken the alpine look to an extreme and are dark and gloomy).
The only issue we had was internet speed and I understand that is a telco issue related to the neighborhood and not to the hotel infrastructure.
A lovely vacation and we will be definitely back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shihabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

A huge thank you for your lovely comment!
We hope seeing you again very soon,
Very best wishes from Megève,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

It was the first time my husband and I went to Megeve. We were in Courchevel before and we prefer the town of Megeve as we find it more picturesque, friendly and relaxed. On the other hand, the ski area in Courchevel is still unbeatable.
The service at Alpaga was excellent. Even before our arrival, we were sent emails informing us of the hotel and the area. and asking if we needed help with organising ski pass/lessons and booking restaurant. Every staff was on board and was enthusiastic to help. We were greeted by Cecilia, who was always smiling and energetic. We were well taken care of throughout. Great team. The breakfast was excellent with a lot of home-made items. We ordered room service from both the room service menu and from the restaurant. The food was of good quality and reasonably priced for a 5 star in Megeve. The room was cozy and quaint; and the bathroom was luxurious and well designed with all needed amenities. Even though our room was above the restaurant, we did not find it noisy. The decor of the hotel was very pleasant. The location is a bit out of the way but we did not find it a problem as the shuttle service was flexible and efficient. We even enjoyed the peace away from town. The spa was great to relax in after a day of skiing.
If we go to Megeve again, we will go back to Alpaga.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Dear Guest,
What a pleasure to receive your comments! Thank you for sharing you experience at Alpaga and we are also very grateful to know that you appreciated our team and services.
We hope you will be back to Megève and we will be able to welcome you again.
Warmest Regards,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The hotel is beautiful in both the summer and the winter. I have stayed at this hotel during both seasons and jt has Never failed to impress. the staff are lovely and the hotel is beautifully decorated. The spa is really lovely and offers many services with an excellent gym although the jacuzzi is cold. The breakfast could be a little better with more variety but everything is fresh. The hotel is a little in the middle of nowhere but there is an excellent shuttle service that js free of charge although In the summer the shuttle service only runs until 7 pm which can be a little inconvenient. The room is beautiful and the bathrooms are modern and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
Thank pinkandyellowmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Guest,
You are too kind to take the time to post your thoughts regarding your stay at the Alpaga during the summer and the winter seasons.
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we will do the necessary to make you feel each time as you are “home away from home”.
Warmest regards and looking forward to welcome you soon,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Megeve hotels
1.3 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
1.5 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel
0.6 mi away
Les Fermes de Marie
Les Fermes de Marie
#4 of 38 in Megeve
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel L'Arboisie
Hotel L'Arboisie
#10 of 38 in Megeve
297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le M de Megeve
Le M de Megeve
#8 of 38 in Megeve
180 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Chalet Zannier
Le Chalet Zannier
#23 of 38 in Megeve
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpaga

Address: 66 allee des Marmousets | 66 Allée des Marmousets, 74120 Megeve, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Megeve
#4 Spa Hotel in Megeve
#4 Romantic Hotel in Megeve
#4 Luxury Hotel in Megeve
Price Range: £208 - £1,710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alpaga 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpaga nestles in natural surroundings just a few minutes from the village, in the heart of Megève and the Aravis range. Its chalets blend seamlessly with the environment yet are an integral part of the life of the hotel, including the main building and its restaurants, the gardens, the bar and the hot tub with a view of Mont Blanc. They offer resort regulars and passing visitors a quiet setting steeped in style and warmth, whether in winter or in summer. People come to the Alpaga to enjoy the luxury of its rooms and the refinement of its restaurant, which won its first Michelin star in 2014, offering an authentic dining experience that is both original and true to the Megève tradition, under the direction of head chef Antony Tempesta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alpaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpaga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing