We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Amazing Stay at a True Five Star Hotel in Megeve!”
Review of Alpaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpaga
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We just got back two days ago from the most amazing ski vacation/honeymoon in Megeve. We decided to book Alpaga for seven nights because we liked their modern design approach to the rustic alpine Megeve. We love modern design. We stayed at the hotel, not the chalets. We loved every single moment of our stay, from the fantastic service, detail and sensibility to design, to the amazing food at La Table de L'Alpaga and L'Onyx. We had several dinners at La Table -- a shout out to the chef.

The staff is very friendly, accommodating and super professional to say the least. I have to highlight all the staff -- from the restaurant to the front desk, to the shuttle drivers and the manager. All of them were just fantastic.

I would highly recommend this hotel. We can't wait until the next winter to go back to Alpaga.

Adrian & Johno

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies second level have amazing views of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adrisays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Well, it's very difficult for me to answer such a nice comment. Thank you for your nice words, thank you for your confidence in us, thank you for your support...
We were very happy to have you with us and we really hope to see you back to Alpaga very soon...this is your mountain home now!
Very best wishes from Megève,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

The chalet is nice and well appointed. The room comfortable and clean, the staff on the whole we're very helpful.

A couple of things were really annoying
1) the wifi didn't work whilst we were there. Staff told us it must be a fault with my iPad - it turned out that there was a problem and an engineer had been already been called. It was not fixed for the time I was there
2) the room was noisy early in the morning as the hotel next door had regular deliveries and rubbish disposals
3) the spa was disappointing and the facilities meagre
4) the hotel is out of town and the shuttle bus is ok but involves a lot of waiting

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank C3506AUTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are happy to read you had a nice stay with us and you enjoyed the service.
We are very concerned by the points you mentionned : we are working hard with suppliers to improve our wifi system, the spa La Colline is well equiped with an indoor part (plunge pool, hammam, ralxing zone, fitness) and an outdoor part (hottub facing the Mont Blanc). We do apologize for the noise you had during your stay which is very exceptionnal in our resort.
We do hope to see you again at Alpaga to show you how things have changed.
Best wishes from Megève,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is a beautiful modern hotel about a 12 minute walk to town (but hotel provides free transport service to town).
Our apartment was comfortable, the staff were friendly and all my family members enjoyed staying here.
Breakfast buffet was good but there's room for improvement in terms of variety.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your nice comment. We are very happy you spent lovely time with us. We do hope seeing you back soon to Alpaga!
Very best wishes from Megève!
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

I have visited the hotel tow times with my wife and hop to follow do it, because it's a beautiful place, whit a extraordinary service, the staff is very professional and the facilities are very comfortable.

Especially I like the design of the chalet, because its a combination of modern and rustic styles.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Very difficult to answer such a nice comment...thank you for these good words, thank you for your fidelity, thank you for your support! Alpaga Megeve is our mountain home!
We will be more than happy to see you again very soon.
Best wishes from Megève,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

In every sense. Staff, rooms, facilities, location, services, food. Win, win, win. We stayed in Deluxe room. Sensational. Loved the breakfasts. Enjoyed the new outdoor Scandinavian wooden bath staring at Mont Blanc. Staff a real highlight. Wonderful hosts. Thanks Alpaga!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tomily13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

What can I answer to such a nice comment except THANK YOU!!
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
You know now you've got your place in Megève.
See you soon at l'Alpaga for a glass of champagne!!
Very best wishes,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A modern and stylish chalet style hotel, restaurant and spa set on the slope of the valley. Expect to hear some traffic and other noise due to the proximity of the property to the town.
Rooms are very stylish, clean and modern with enormous semi-sunken bath with shower over. Clever use of mirrors offsets the arguably quite small bathrooms. A small front balcony proved useful on a very warm evening.
Facilities include bar snacks available at any time which was useful as we booked on a Monday en route to Italy only to discover that the restaurant was closed. Very irritating! There was no mention of this on the website or we would have booked elsewhere such as the Flocons de Sel where we managed to dine. There is a well designed and maintained spa with hamman, sauna and powered water jets in the reasonably sized swimming pool. Externally, there is a Swedish 'barrel' style hot spa tub. A small gym is located to one side of the spa. Treatments are available but we did not indulge. Access is possible directly from the accommodation which is useful. Secure underground parking with secure access card.
Our sole experience of the restaurant was the buffet style breakfast which was excellent. Amazingly, even the scrambled eggs were baveuse rather than the usual solid lump! The waitress on duty that morning could not do enough to satisfy the various requests of the diners. One suspects that the number of tables would proof rather too many for the rather limited space if fully booked at lunch and dinner.
A small negative which affected some clients was the poor front desk administration with clients' requests not being properly recorded. In our case the booking of a taxi and, as witnessed, delivery of another client's vehicle ready for departure at a specific time.

Room Tip: Avoid booking on a Monday or Tuesday as the restaurant is closed. This is NOT made clear on the web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PROLLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your time in sharing your feedback following your stay with us.
We are happy you enjoyed our Property. We are working hard day after day to improve our service and I feel very sorry to hear you did not get the service you expected at the Front Desk.
Regarding our restaurants, l'Onyx, our lounge is open 7/7 and La Table de l'Alpaga is open from Wednesday to Sunday 5/7.
We will be happy to see you again Alpaga Megeve very soon.
Best wishes,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The welcome at Alpaga was very warm. We got just the right amount of information with a very friendly smile.
The room was spacious with a nice little balcony. The atmosphere is warm: an authentic wooden house but with all the modern comfort. The bathroom was small but practical. One sink and a shower in the bathtub.
At breakfast a very friendly lady brought us viennoiserie at our table, the rest we could find on a generous buffet.
We had a pleasant stay at this hotel and would book it again if we’re in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTT_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

What a pleasure to read your comment!
We were very happy to have you at l'Alpaga and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
See you soon in the French Alps,
Very best wishes from Megève,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Megeve hotels
1.3 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
1.5 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel
0.6 mi away
Les Fermes de Marie
Les Fermes de Marie
#4 of 38 in Megeve
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel L'Arboisie
Hotel L'Arboisie
#10 of 38 in Megeve
297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Fer a Cheval
Le Fer a Cheval
#14 of 38 in Megeve
178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le M de Megeve
Le M de Megeve
#9 of 38 in Megeve
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpaga

Address: 66 allee des Marmousets | 66 Allée des Marmousets, 74120 Megeve, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Megeve
#4 Family Hotel in Megeve
#4 Spa Hotel in Megeve
#4 Luxury Hotel in Megeve
Price Range: £215 - £1,503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alpaga 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpaga nestles in natural surroundings just a few minutes from the village, in the heart of Megève and the Aravis range. Its chalets blend seamlessly with the environment yet are an integral part of the life of the hotel, including the main building and its restaurants, the gardens, the bar and the hot tub with a view of Mont Blanc. They offer resort regulars and passing visitors a quiet setting steeped in style and warmth, whether in winter or in summer. People come to the Alpaga to enjoy the luxury of its rooms and the refinement of its restaurant, which won its first Michelin star in 2014, offering an authentic dining experience that is both original and true to the Megève tradition, under the direction of head chef Antony Tempesta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alpaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpaga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing