We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Alpaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpaga
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was a great place to stay, especially when you have a large group like we did. We stayed in a house on property and it was very nice. It was great for the kind of trip that we were looking for. It was a little hard to get to at first when we didn't know where we were going but part of that had to do with the snowy weather, driving on the opposite side of the road, and lack of a English speaking GPS. I recommend this place for people that are looking for a safe place to go. Its not really very unique but its comfortable and reliable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you very much for your nice feedback.
We were very happy to have you with us and proud to have contributed to the success of your stay at Alpaga.
We do hope seeing you back very soon.
Warmest regards,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a fantastic stay in the hotel. Everything was taken care off. Views are amazing and it is very quiet. A hot tub outside with views to the Mt Blanc is incredible. Dinner in their star restaurant outstanding. Had some issues with WiFi, but they immediately took care of it and fixed it which really was impressive. Only breakfast could be a bit better selection but the rest is just unbelievably great. Stayed only one night, but then decided to extend another night as we had such wonderful stay. Monsieur Guillaume is a star and makes anything possible. We will be back...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camel-rider2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your feedback! We were very pleased to welcome you at Alpaga.
We have well noted your suggestions and will improve our breakfast shortly.
We do hope seeing you soon with us in the next future!
Warm regards from sunny Megève,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I just spent a long weekend at Alpaga. The hotel is absolutely stunning - the rooms are beautifully designed - modern, yet cosy and comfotable - very practical too! The spa is small but there is a nice indoor swimming pool, hammam and relaxation area.

They serve an excellent breakfast here. There isn't a huge selection, but everything is of very high quality - juices, cereals, cold cuts, fruits, cakes and viennoiserie, as well as hot dishes (eggs, bacon, pancakes) made to order.

Service is top-class - from the front desk to housekeeping and at the restaurant. They do their utmost to cater to your every need, and ensure you spend a fantastic vacation there (special thanks to Guillaume, Sebastian and Cecilia).

The hotel is located a short distance away from the centre of Megeve, but there is a shuttle available to bring you there and back at your request.

We enjoyed our stay at Alpaga so much that we are already hoping to return in the coming weeks for a longer period of time. And this time, we will definitely try out the hotel's one-michelin star restaurant!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Well, very difficult for me to write anything after reading such nice words!
Thank you very much for your nice comment, I'll share it with all the team.
We are very proud you enjoyed our Property and your time spent with us.
You know now you have your mountain home in Megève,
Warm wishes from all the Alpaga team,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Alpaga is a stunning hotel and any poor reviews really do not do it justice at all! It's design is contemporary, managing at the same time to maintain a warm and cosy atmosphere. My room was absolutely beautiful and looked exactly like what is shown on their website (something that is pretty rare these days with hotels). I loved the pale colour palette and the bed was super comfortable. The bathroom is huge and well stocked with Hermes bath products.

The spa area is divine, the pool/jacuzzi in particular perfect for chilling after a day of skiing.

I fully agree with what other guests have written about the exceptional staff - I really could not fault them. They responded promptly to my every request, and were genuinely courteous and friendly. The shuttle service ran like clockwork (the bus appearing minutes after a telephone call to the hotel). Well done Alpaga for the top class service!

The only noteworthy problem I encountered was the hotel's wifi not working properly during my stay. This was frustrating at times, but in all fairness the hotel did make up for it by offering a portable wifi device to me.

Thank you Alpaga for a beautiful holiday!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EveGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you very much for such a nice words about our Property and our Team!
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope seeing you back very soon in your mountain home in Megève.
Thank you for supporting us!
Warm regards from all the Team,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We are very rarely impressed by hotels, having stayed in many supposed five star residences for business and leisure. I am even more rarely minded to feel that my experience warrants a review. What a refreshing change we encountered at Alpaga - it was excellently finished, superbly well appointed but most importantly offered first rate, personal service.

Glad we ignored previous poor review, wifi worked fine (must have been a temporary issue), tough to criticise hotel for noise from bin lorries, we found the spa to be excellent with wonderful staff (my wife is particularly critical of spas when we travel being in the industry herself) and we found the shuttle service to be excellent with the hotel promptly responding to a phone call requesting a lift to or from town on every and any occasion between 8am to 11pm, daily.

I cannot stress how attentive and genuinely accommodating *all* the staff we encountered were. Lauren the shuttle driver was great and it was refreshing to be welcomed by Guillaume, a rooms director who was willing to personally assist on check in, help move bags and even willing to drive the shuttle (they had three) during our stay so we didn't have to wait 10 minutes --- demonstrating a genuine sense of responsibility for ensuring a first class customer experience. The whole team were genuinely proud for the chef, who received his first Michelin star during our stay. They hosted a champagne reception for all guests to celebrate. These may appear to be small points but they were indicative of the nice touches we noticed during our stay.

Our five year old thoroughly enjoyed himself; the kids supervised playroom (complimentary 4pm-8pm) is a great facility.

Two pieces of constructive feedback:

1. Tea/coffee making facilities in room sorely missed, sometimes it's nice to make a quick drink, as opposed to waiting for room service (although service was prompt)...please don't feel that this would detract from your genuine five star offering.

2. A kids menu and more relaxed room service menu would also be appreciated. A kids meal late afternoon in room would be helpful and you make such an effort to welcome children in other ways. Equally, I fully understand your desire to maintain a quality menu in your restaurants but on occasion, an informal sandwich in room would be preferred, for example mid afternoon on return from the slopes.

In summary:

We have always stayed in first class chalets for our skiing holidays, traditionally in Courchevel, but we will, without question, return to Megeve and I truly hope Alpaga are able to accommodate us on our next visit. It was a privilege to stay with you, thank you to all your staff (front and back of house) for your clear, genuine desire to give my family a positive holiday experience, you succeeded.

Roger, Nicky & Ed

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RBM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback, we are really happy you enjoyed your time with us! We have well noted your suggestion and will pay special attention to it.
Once again thank you for your nice words, and please, come back soon, Alpaga is your mountain home!
Very best wishes from sunny Megève,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We just got back two days ago from the most amazing ski vacation/honeymoon in Megeve. We decided to book Alpaga for seven nights because we liked their modern design approach to the rustic alpine Megeve. We love modern design. We stayed at the hotel, not the chalets. We loved every single moment of our stay, from the fantastic service, detail and sensibility to design, to the amazing food at La Table de L'Alpaga and L'Onyx. We had several dinners at La Table -- a shout out to the chef.

The staff is very friendly, accommodating and super professional to say the least. I have to highlight all the staff -- from the restaurant to the front desk, to the shuttle drivers and the manager. All of them were just fantastic.

I would highly recommend this hotel. We can't wait until the next winter to go back to Alpaga.

Adrian & Johno

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies second level have amazing views of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adrisays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Well, it's very difficult for me to answer such a nice comment. Thank you for your nice words, thank you for your confidence in us, thank you for your support...
We were very happy to have you with us and we really hope to see you back to Alpaga very soon...this is your mountain home now!
Very best wishes from Megève,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The chalet is nice and well appointed. The room comfortable and clean, the staff on the whole we're very helpful.

A couple of things were really annoying
1) the wifi didn't work whilst we were there. Staff told us it must be a fault with my iPad - it turned out that there was a problem and an engineer had been already been called. It was not fixed for the time I was there
2) the room was noisy early in the morning as the hotel next door had regular deliveries and rubbish disposals
3) the spa was disappointing and the facilities meagre
4) the hotel is out of town and the shuttle bus is ok but involves a lot of waiting

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank C3506AUTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck J, Directeur général at Alpaga, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are happy to read you had a nice stay with us and you enjoyed the service.
We are very concerned by the points you mentionned : we are working hard with suppliers to improve our wifi system, the spa La Colline is well equiped with an indoor part (plunge pool, hammam, ralxing zone, fitness) and an outdoor part (hottub facing the Mont Blanc). We do apologize for the noise you had during your stay which is very exceptionnal in our resort.
We do hope to see you again at Alpaga to show you how things have changed.
Best wishes from Megève,
Franck Jaulneau
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Megeve hotels
1.3 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
1.5 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel
0.6 mi away
Les Fermes de Marie
Les Fermes de Marie
#4 of 38 in Megeve
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel L'Arboisie
Hotel L'Arboisie
#10 of 38 in Megeve
297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Fer a Cheval
Le Fer a Cheval
#13 of 38 in Megeve
178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le M de Megeve
Le M de Megeve
#9 of 38 in Megeve
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpaga

Address: 66 allee des Marmousets | 66 Allée des Marmousets, 74120 Megeve, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Megeve
#4 Family Hotel in Megeve
#4 Spa Hotel in Megeve
#4 Luxury Hotel in Megeve
Price Range: £215 - £1,502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alpaga 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpaga nestles in natural surroundings just a few minutes from the village, in the heart of Megève and the Aravis range. Its chalets blend seamlessly with the environment yet are an integral part of the life of the hotel, including the main building and its restaurants, the gardens, the bar and the hot tub with a view of Mont Blanc. They offer resort regulars and passing visitors a quiet setting steeped in style and warmth, whether in winter or in summer. People come to the Alpaga to enjoy the luxury of its rooms and the refinement of its restaurant, which won its first Michelin star in 2014, offering an authentic dining experience that is both original and true to the Megève tradition, under the direction of head chef Antony Tempesta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Prestigia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpaga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing