We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Fermes de Marie
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2011

A truly relaxing and wonderful place for couples and family.
Lots of activities to do in the mountains or around the scenic area, you will be well advised by the excellent concierge that has suggestions for old and young and takes care of your every need.
It is a place we look foreword to return to each year and sink into the arms of nature that is all around you in the hotel and the beautiful cobbled town of Megeve.
The spa is excellent.. book up in advance if you want specific times.
This family run hotel is a must if you are lucky enough to get the chance!

Room Tip: the chalets are excellent for families having 2 or 3 bedrooms and sitting area, balcony and lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014
Google Translation

Merci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

We had a great time. We stayed for 5 nights with our kids and a nanny (two rooms). Perfect to have the rooms on ground floor facing the rstaurant. The boys could walk from one room to the other and the baby was sleeping while we had dinner just outside. Perfect!

The pools were much loved and used. The gym was the best we saw on the trip.
The service - from the serving, cleaning to consierge was VERY good. Just right.

The rooms were a bit small, but it worked. we all loved the style.
The food was soo nice. Because we stayed a few nights we could have used a bit more variaity - especially the kids menu. The buffé - night was really nice.

we moved on to stay at Bastide The Marie and then Villa Marie. Fremes the Marie was the absolute best of the three. So Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to leave these comments about your recent stay with us at les Fermes de Marie.
Not only do they encourage us, but they will help us to improve in the future as I am sure they will be beneficial to other guests.

We appreciate your loyalty to the Sibuet hotels & Spa and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at les Fermes de Marie.
Families and children are very important to us and your comments will help us as we try to create new programs and activities for the holiday seasons.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Megève very soon.

Best regards
Frédéric Pouydebat, general manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Probably the best hotel in France,if not Europe. Understated total luxury, staff with personality and food to die for.

Room Tip: The Classic is good the Club is better. Depends on your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonBuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments about Les Fermes de Marie. We are pleasant that you enjoyed your stay in Megeve!
We hope welcoming you back to Megeve very soon!
Best regards
Frédéric Pouydebat, General manager of Les Fermes de Marie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This is a hidden gem. We learned about this place from a concierge in the South of France. The staff will cater to your every need, the chalets are beautiful, very quiet, food is outrageously delicious.

Room Tip: chalet is very cozy, quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments!
We really appreciate you liked les Fermes de Marie as they are! Genuine, conceptual, with welcoming and helpful staff, varied and full of flavor food,…
We hope to welcome you again in Megeve!
Best regards.
Frédéric Pouydebat, Fermes de Marie’s general manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We didn't stay in the hotel, but ate last night in the restaurant and we would rate it as "average to disappointing". It cost E100/head and the food was average at best.

The pumpkin veloute with truffle creme didn't taste of either pumpkin or truffles and wasn't seasoned. It was obvious that no-one in the kitchen had tasted it. My lamb was tasty but dry and didn't have enough jus or sauce - should have had a sauce boat with it.

Only one of us had the E18 dessert, which is a buffet of lovely looking things, but he said his lemon meringue pie was lovely and the berry tart was okay.

This is a very average restaurant in a lovely hotel with high prices. We eat 5* restaurants around the world and this certainly didn't measure up in anyway.

There is MUCH better food in Megeve than this. Go to La Sauvageonne, it's just down the road, similar pricing, and seriously good food - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank livingitlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014
Google Translation

Merci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

This is a large hotel much of it appears to be new. It is amongst a big development of chalets and is MILES from a lift. The hotel provides a shuttle bus but there is a lot of hanging about waiting for it and they only want to dump you in the middle of the town. You take a series of lifts and after 40mins you are skiing. When we visited I felt we were quite unusual in actually wanting to ski - few hotel guests appeared to show much interest in it.

The room was small but OK, it was quite a trek to get to reception through a series of unpleasant coridoors.

The food was scrummy and the service in both the restaurants was excellent, the bar was fun and buzzy (nice cocktails). Whilst you dont come to Megeve to protect your wallet a pot of tea for 2 at 16 euros was perhaps a little heavy (not even a biscuit!).

I did not like the reception staff - a touch of arrogance about them and not very helpful.

I would not stay again at this hotel.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
5  Thank JimColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014
Google Translation

Merci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Well, first the positives - the hotel is very pretty, the room we had was not huge but nice and comfortable and the staff, in general were very helpful and friendly. However.....

I had clearly explained by email to the hotel that my husband and I were complete beginners when it comes to skiing and that my son had been before so he could go into ski school. I had taken a lot of time to ensure that we had private lessons booked for my husband and I for the first few days we were there as I wanted to be sure we got the best start possible.

On the night before lessons were due to commence, we went to ask the concierge what the arrangements were, only to be told that our instructor had been called away to teach a group lesson and therefore we had no teacher! As you can imagine, this did not go down very well.....I am certain no ski school would totally abandon its pupils and would have tried to make alternative arrangements (someone at the ski school later confirmed this for me). Furthermore the hotel could not tell us the name of the instructor that we had originally been allocated, which made us question even more whether this booking had ever been made.

What followed was a farcical rest of the week. An instructor was found for us at late notice but he had no interest in teaching that we could see and left after an hour saying he had a class to teach. At that point, I gave up! My husband however was left on the nursery slopes and told to "practice" until it was time to pick my son up (another hour and a half later!). Next day he was put into an adult group class but when he returned to it on the Wednesday the group were going further up the slopes and the instructor told my husband it would not be wise for him to come as well as he had had less instruction than the rest of the class. (I do not in any way blame this instructor as he was only being safety conscious and had obviously put my husband in his class as a favour).

Therefore from Wednesday till Saturday when we left we basically took my son up the mountain for his lesson and picked him up at lunchtime and we tried to keep our spirits up and keep occupied. Had conversations with the conceriege, deputy manager and general manager - all resulting in blame shifting and nobody owing up to having made a mistake. As I said at the time - we came there to learn to ski. If I wanted to sit and look at snow I could have done so at home as it was snowing there. Certainly would not have needed to pay over £8,000 for the privilege.

At the end of our trip the general manager deducted the cost of my son's ski lessons and the lift passes off our bill. However we had clearly told him we were happy to pay for these as my son had had his lessons and enjoyed them. What we wanted was a proper explanation and someone to be strong enough to stand up and own up to having made a mistake. That we could have worked with. This constant shifting of blame and side stepping was ridiculous.

We were promised by the general manager that he would investigate and email us shortly after we got home. Guess how much correspondence we have had (despite me emailing him to remind him)? Correct - zero!

We are left feeling angry, let down and frankly rather depressed by the whole experience. The hotel and its facilities are not actually so fantastic that none of this mattered. The pool area is ok but small and can get very crowded with children. The food is ok but rather overpriced. The massage I had in the spa was good and the hairdresser was a lovely girl but 50 Euros for a blowdry?????

You have been warned!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kazpalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014
Google Translation

Merci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Megeve hotels
0.7 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
1.9 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel
0.8 mi away
Hotel L'Arboisie
Hotel L'Arboisie
#7 of 37 in Megeve
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lodge Park
Lodge Park
#16 of 37 in Megeve
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#18 of 37 in Megeve
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le M de Megeve
Le M de Megeve
#10 of 37 in Megeve
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Fermes de Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Fermes de Marie

Address: Chemin de Riante Colline, 74120 Megeve, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Megeve
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Megeve
#2 Spa Hotel in Megeve
#2 Luxury Hotel in Megeve
#3 Romantic Hotel in Megeve
Price Range: £329 - £1,224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Fermes de Marie 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this five-star luxury hotel in Megeve, authenticity meets with the exceptional, offering elegance, calm and distinction. Les Fermes de Marie is made up of authentic alpine farmhouses, rescued from ruin high up in the hills of the French Alps. These buildings, were taken apart beam by beam, numbered and put back together piece by piece in a 3 acre park in the heart of Megeve. Enjoy a getaway in a place full of history where every stone, every beam, every object tells a story... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Les Fermes de Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Fermes De Marie Megève

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing