We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect summer stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Les Fermes de Marie
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here for one night with a friend while on our annual summer motorcycle trip. Prices at 1/4 of rack winter rates and was upgraded to a jr. suite upon checkin. Excellent hotel grounds in hamlet style, nice garden at the back of the hotel with outdoor hot tub and decent indoor spa & pool area. Very clean rooms and nice chalet atmosphere and decor. Great service and an inviting breakfast buffet with a dedicated chef.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Eric,

Thank you very much for your opinion, we hope to have the chance to welcome you soon again in Megève !

Frédéric Pouydebat,
General Manager,
Les Fermes de Marie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

utterly dreamy, faultless and we went when there was no snow in the village!!! i would kill to go here in peak snow season as it must be even more special. the rooms are adorable, wooden, chalet style, furnished in a true alpine style. The food is superb, the concierge Ben utterly brilliant, one night he even picked us up from dinner which was seriously over and above what we expected. The skiing is great and diverse, my husband adored it and he is experienced and i'm a pretty basic intermediate!However do dress up!! I'd packed some glam cashmere and jeans but in honesty could have packed dresses, heels and anything suitable for a special night out in london- next time i will go prepared!!! The spa, my husband and felt ,was the best he'd been to in the world!!! He had a massage every day and before this had rated reethi rah in the maldives, the best, so we are talking seriously exceptional!! Go, go go!!!! professional, civilized, calm and relaxing; and for someone still terrified of skiing it made it a wonderfully enjoyably holiday for me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Alexandra

Many thanks for your comments, we have been very happy to have you with us last winter season, and we do hope to have the chance to welcome you again next season.

All the best,
Frédéric Pouydebat,
General Manager,
Les Fermes de Marie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The hotel:

We stayed at Les Fermes de Marie for four nights during April for a late ski trip and absolutely loved the hotel. Even before we arrived, they were very helpful in corresponding by email to arrange a private transfer for us from Geneva airport and this service/professionalism continued throughout our stay. The hotel itself is just beautiful, rustic wood style with loads of space accentuated by high ceilings everywhere. Fantastic library to read a book in and enjoy wine/coffee. It is just how you would imagine a ski lodge should be! We stayed in one of the junior suites and thought it was excellent - very spacious, modern bathroom, nice rustic/recycled wood furniture and importantly, a large walk in wardroom which coped with all our luggage and ski clothes. A complimentary bottle of wine on our arrival was also much appreciated. The pool area was very nice with an indoor and outdoor Jacuzzi all of which coped well with the number of guests while we were there - a notable problem in other resorts we have stayed at (particularly the US). We also liked the spa which was high end and a nice little oasis. We ate at the two hotel restaurants and both were of a very high standard as you would expect in most decent French mountain hotels - albeit the decent bottles of wine were eye wateringly expensive! The ski shop was also very good, top notch equipment served by helpful staff in a modern and bright environment. Typically, we make a point of staying at ski in/ski out hotels as I hate lugging our gear to the lifts so was a bit concerned that the hotel was a 10 minute drive away from the slopes and was worried that we would spend ages hanging around waiting for transport. This turned out not to be an issue - the hotel vans were always no more than 5 minutes away and pretty much drop you off within 2-5 mins walk of the lifts so I really didn't find this to be a problem despite early concerns. We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful, particularly the front desk, concierge and shuttle drivers. They all helped us with restaurant bookings (NB we did ask to get a table at the 3 star Michelin restaurant Flocons de sal but the concierge were not able to secure a table so would advise that you book directly with the restaurant in advance if you want to go there), advice on where to walk or ski, and suggested walks. Should also mention that the breakfast buffet was really excellent - great selection of hot and cold food, including delicious crepes, eggs to order, and cakes. On our final day, they also went out of their way to allow us to stay in our room for a late departure and this was much appreciated. Overall this was one of the best ski hotels we have to stayed in - great service, great facilities and lovely architecture and ambience - just what you want from a ski lodge.

The town/skiing:

This was our first visit to Megeve and we loved the town - just a short and pleasant 10 minute walk from the hotel down the back paths. There are plenty of shops and restaurants - most high end so don't expect cheap shopping! The skiing is perfect for intermediates - well groomed cruise slopes but will disappoint experts looking for challenging runs - the black slopes are steep but not difficult and you can pretty much bomb down them. The mountains are therefore great for a relaxing ski break but not for those looking for black runs albeit Chamonix is just 45 mins down the road. I would also note that there are a few pomma lifts which I always think is a sign of a lack of investment.

Overall we loved Les Fermes de Marie and Megeve and the resort has moved to the top of our list for a short ski trip followed by Lech. We may also try it in summer as it looks like a great place to visit at that time of the year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for this wonderful comment !
You gave so many details of your satisfaction...

Your stay with us seems to have been enjoyable, we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you as soon as possible, and why not this summer time, time of the green, time of the shadow, time of a pleasant nature in the French Alps !

We re waiting for you ! Many thanks !

Frédéric Pouydebat - Directeur des Fermes de Marie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

In very short words:
1. Check in: excellent and very fast.
2. Staff: very well trained and very helpful, yet the staff at the breakfast need to be a bit more friendly particularly the chef.
3. Concierge: excellent.
4. Rooms:very spacious and well decorated with very nice bathroom and a balcony with beautiful view of the mountains, but definitely need more light as they are very dark specially if there is no sun.
5.Ski shop: exceptional with exceptional staff, the real highlight of the hotel.
6. Wellness area and pool: much less than u would expect from such a hotel and need full renovation, yet the spa treatments were very nice with well experienced staff.
7. Breakfast: average, less than u expect from such a hotel.
8. Shuttle service:excellent.
Overall I think it is an excellent hotel, but lacking the wow factor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahmed s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the observations you made. To make your next stay more exceptional, we have done new equipments, we re sure, you would love it !
Read this :
- New Saunas
- New fitness room
- Brand new, one more swimming pool for adults
- Renovation of our main swimming pool
- New hairdresser salon
- New fitness room...
- ....

All for you, for your nest stay at "Les Fermes de Marie" !

Hope to welcome you soon.

Frédéric Pouydebat - General Manager - Les Fermes de Marie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 6 nights. The hotel has the nicest staff I have ever encountered in a hotel and unlike many of the hotels like Ritz Carltons, Dubai hotels etc they are not false. The one issue I did have was with the directors handshake which nearly broke three fingers.

I was slightly sceptical at first - mainly because I've not stayed in a wooden hotel for a good while.

Positives:

Great staff - really great staff

Very charming in every way. An authentic wooden experience.

Fairly priced

Great food

No one could try harder to make your stay fantastic

Ski hire in the hotel. And good skis. We hired lacroix's at 41 euros per day. Not sure if it was expensive but they were great skis.

Concierge was good at getting us great tables in clubs and restaurants. If you don't speak French it's a challenge. I do but still used the concierge after a challenge at 5 rues (worth a visit if you like live music)

Negatives

A little bit out. Though to be fair it was a nice walk I to town - about 5 mins using the short cut and the driver was never more than a few mins to ferry us down or collect us.

It's made of wood so you hear your neighbours. I guess that is the charm through. I got used to it in the end.

Be better with blackout curtains. I've noticed a few hotels lately without full blackout curtains. I don't know why.

All in all I had a great stay in a big way thanks to the hotel staff.


Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Pingu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Sir
Dear Tripadvisor friend,

We are so happy that you loved your stay with us, so we hope to welcome soon again in Megève !
Thanks a lot for your nice comment.

Frédéric Pouydebat - Directeur des Fermes de Marie - Megève.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

It has to be the best hotel in Megeve at all levels. It is slightly out centered though walking distance from the village (about 10mn). I spent there a memorable stay with my husband a few years back. This time we visited for an equally memorable dinner in the cosy and homy lobby. Chestnuts soup, pumpkin soup, beef, scallops, pasta for the kids and a great wine Volnay Champans were on our menu. For desert, we enjoyed the amazing buffet from the restaurant. Very good service as one could expect in this mythical place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tanmouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014
Google Translation

Merci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Fantastic four day break, wonderful setting, perfect comfort and the staff are fantastic. Nothing too much trouble. Endlessly helpful without being obtrusive. I guess you get what you pay for but in this case money very well spent.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank birchalljc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredericPouydebat, Propriétaire at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your contribution. It's fantastic to read your happiness, we are looking forward to welcome you as soon as possible at Les Fermes de Marie.

Best Regards,

Frédéric Pouydebat - General Manager - Les Fermes de Marie et le Lodge Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Megeve hotels
1.9 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel
0.7 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
0.8 mi away
Hotel L'Arboisie
Hotel L'Arboisie
#9 of 38 in Megeve
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lodge Park
Lodge Park
#16 of 38 in Megeve
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#17 of 38 in Megeve
144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Fer a Cheval
Le Fer a Cheval
#12 of 38 in Megeve
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Fermes de Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Fermes de Marie

Address: Chemin de Riante Colline, 74120 Megeve, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Megeve
#1 Family Hotel in Megeve
#2 Spa Hotel in Megeve
#2 Luxury Hotel in Megeve
#3 Romantic Hotel in Megeve
Price Range: £366 - £1,113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Fermes de Marie 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this five-star luxury hotel in Megeve, authenticity meets with the exceptional, offering elegance, calm and distinction. Les Fermes de Marie is made up of authentic alpine farmhouses, rescued from ruin high up in the hills of the French Alps. These buildings, were taken apart beam by beam, numbered and put back together piece by piece in a 3 acre park in the heart of Megeve. Enjoy a getaway in a place full of history where every stone, every beam, every object tells a story... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Les Fermes de Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Fermes De Marie Megève

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing