We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Fer a Cheval
Nearby Hotels
Au Vieux Moulin(Megeve)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Au Coin du Feu(Megeve)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$93
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$349
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Hotel Les Myosotis(Megeve)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Chalet d'Antoine(Megeve)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpaga(Megeve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
112
45
18
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
45
18
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswould love to come backski villagelovely hotelwinterspajacuzzialpinemegeveluxuryslopesalpsskiing
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Megeve is a terrific ski area and Le Fer a Cheval is truly a world class hotel in a lovely mountain setting. Service is impeccable and the rooms are lovely. Even minor requests were treated with eager and efficient dispatch. You could see the staff's willingness to provide guests with every need as they rushed between tasks without ever letting that urgency rush the guests. Top level amenities including separate tub and shower combine a rustic appearance with luxury. I stayed in a two room suite with two balconies. This room would comfortably hold a family of four. Truly a relaxing mountain getaway with all the trimmings.

Room Tip: I have stayed in three rooms, all great but particularly liked room two which has a separate entrance.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gosnold10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I don't know the Hotel Le Fer à Cheval, but the restaurant is a disaster !
French arrogance, poor service, food not fresh. It means below average. Mediocre.
It was a very bad surprise, because this restaurant was presented as the place " you have to be" in Megève.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnaud3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We were there on February for 7 days skiing a family with 2 children 8 and 10 years old.
We had a wonderful time.Fer a Cheval is one of the best mountain hotels I have ever been.Big comfortable rooms great lounge area an excellent restaurant.Hotel offers cars to take you to the ski area and bring you back any time of the day.A big inside pool a gym and a spa wait for you after a day on the slopes.Everyone was very helpful and polite excluded the owner that was unmannerly.A hotel like this of course was quite expensive but it was worth every euro.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I just passed a spontaneously wonderful weekend to resource in the mountains with friends and family at Le Fer a Cheval. The whole experience was positive in all categories. I look forward to going back in the winter.

Room Tip: The restaurant is amazing so definitely count on eating there as much as possible. Try the water bike!!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shevanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

My daughter and I were looking for a 4 or 5 stars Hotel in Megève, which could let us enjoy its SPA, heated pool, sauna and hammam area. Finally, we found "Le Fer à Cheval", a 4 stars Hotel, which was offering a 2 hours package inside their SPA area, during the quite period of the day, for 60 Euro per adult and 30 Euro per child.
The staff were very helpful, friendly and helpful, We were positively surprised by how clean and good looking was the entire SPA area. The heated pool and the jacuzzi were just perfect and we really could enjoy and relax during those 2 hours. Even if the price is quite high for such a short time, it fully worths it. Therefore, I will come back.

So, to resume what we lived :

Positive points :
--------------------

1) Very clean SPA.
2) Not too much people, as we came during the quite hours of the day (between 11:30 - 13:30).
3) Friendly and helpful staff.
4) Towels, bathrobe and special shoes are provided.
5) Tea offered upon arrival.

Points to be improved :
-----------------------------

1) To install a white screen for the video that are actually shown on the wall.
2) To allow kids to jump if there is nobody around that can be disturbed !

Well, that's it. I'll soon add some photos of the SPA area, so that you can have a clear view of how it looks like.

Enjoy like we did, I'll be back ;-)

Room Tip: Use the time between 11:00 until 16:00 to visit the SPA as much more quiet then !
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank otterboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews