We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnifique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Gai Soleil
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2013

If you want a truly family run business who are warm, friendly, attentitive of your needs then look no further. We have been visiting Megeve for 12 years and spent 6 years of it at the Gai Soleil.

There are car parking spaces, a pool (open in the summer), a jacuzzi to take away aches and pains all complemented by exceptionally good food made by Alan. Cecile runs the hotel when Mdme Mottram is not in town. The service/food is often compared as significantly better than other higher stared hotels in the area.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Youngklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2012

Good location, quite, yet 5 min walk to megeve center and ski lift, extremely helpful stuff, will tell everything you need to know and book whatever you need or want, tasty breakfast and dinner, great bad although smalish room, all in all excellent value for money

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vadim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Excellent place to visit in summer, good for walking, horse riding, golf and close to other places such as Mont Blanc, Pras D'arly Annecy

Room Tip: Choose a south west facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I spent a great five days at le Gai Soleil during early July. We were a party of 20 golfers who took over the hotel for our annual golf holiday. The whole experience was second to none. The Hotel is a picturesque treat,situated in the lovely town of Megeve.The rooms are typical chalet type, with wooden walls,ceilings etc and good quality,comfortable,fixtures and fittings.All rooms are en-suite with a range of decent toiletries.The public rooms are homely and typical of this region.The dining room is bright and spacious with the meals all freshly prepared and cooked by the fab.chef, Alain.The staff are, without exception,excellent. Led by the lovely Beth,a welsh girl with a great sense of fun! The golf courses are fantastic in this area and we were surprised by the fact that this seems to be an unknown golfing destination for the Brits.We would unreservedly recommend this hotel, the town and the golf courses to anyone wanting more than the average.As a footnote, there is also a great pool and jaccuzi for getting rid of the aches and pains of your round of golf,walking,shopping or doing nothing!!

Room Tip: all rooms are equally good.Fantastic 360 degree views so wherever you are situated you will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We spent a lovely week at this charming hotel. Management and staff were friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to ensure that our time with them was a great experience. The hotel has ir's own chef who cooks great food every night except Monday. The menu is put up at breakfast and if the choices are to your liking, simply let the staff know you will be dining in house. We did this most nights, better food and value than most of the places in the village.
The hotel is about a five minute walk to the ski lifts but they also offer a shuttle service.
We would definitely return, thanks guys!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mia7453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is a perfect small family run hotel in a good location just off the centre of Megeve. The rooms are cosy, clean and warm and the breakfasts are superb. We took dinner three times and each time it was very good. Nothing was too much trouble for the management and we were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay. Excellent and we will return

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trevor c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed at the hotel for the week commencing 21 Jan 2012. We were greeted with a very warm welcome and shown to our cosy rooms which had a fantastic Savoyade/Alpine feeling about them. Beds were comfortable and the little extras in the room were fab. It was a refreshing touch to see that this hotel supplies good quality soap and shower gel in the bathrooms too; not like the usual stuff you get elsewhere!
The bar area was cosy with a good range of drinks and the food was fantastic - Tartiflette day and fondue days were my favourite.
This is a great example of a hotel that shows the star rating only shows what facilities the hotel has and not how good it is. Many of the stars are achieved for having services that you don't even care about but for me this is a 5 star hotel and great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Megeve hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Fermes de Marie
Les Fermes de Marie
#4 of 38 in Megeve
631 reviews
1.7 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel
0.8 mi away
Hotel L'Arboisie
Hotel L'Arboisie
#9 of 38 in Megeve
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
0.1 mi away
Au Coin du Feu
Au Coin du Feu
#8 of 38 in Megeve
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Au Vieux Moulin
Au Vieux Moulin
#11 of 38 in Megeve
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Gai Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Gai Soleil

Address: Rue du Cret-du-Midi, 74120 Megeve, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Megeve
#4 Family Hotel in Megeve
#7 Romantic Hotel in Megeve
Price Range: £70 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Gai Soleil 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Gai Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Gai Soleil Megève
Le Gai Soleil Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing