We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect marriage of charm and comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mont-Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The perfect marriage of charm and comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

We have stayed at this hotel eight times since 2001. In our opinion there is just nowhere better to stay in Megeve, based on: the charming rooms and lounges, the proximity to the ski lifts, the spectacular views of the mountain, the location (right in the centre of town), the comfort and the warm welcome we receive each time we return.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    57
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
66
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arzier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

Super location, close to the lift. Very helpfull and polite staff. Very nice rooms and great restaurant (Les Enfants Terribles). But the whole place needs a bit of renovations; this goes beyond "authentic", this just needs repairs.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

Staff is helpful and nice, they arranged for taxi, suggested a good restaurant in Megeve etc. Room was not extra big, but cosy, with very nice decor. Shower though is not perfect, because hot and cold water keeps alternating, management should do about it.

The hotel is in the very heart of Megeve, two steps away from the telecabine, shops, restaurant. It is a great experience to be really in the center of this beautiful old town.

We had breakfast in the room, croissant is very good, and the Enfants Terribles resaurant in the hotel serves excellent food and you can see how they prepare it in the open kitchen, not to miss.

One thing was bothering but it was not the hotel's fault: some drunk and crazy people walk around in the center at night after bars are closed making awful noise.

We definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MirellaBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

Just got back from our 6th stay (Christmas/New Years) at the Mont Blanc and it has come to feel as though we were staying at a friend's chalet. The not-too-big size of the hotel, warm service and cozy alpine interiors keep us coming back again and again! Each year there are new 'upgrades' and additions. This year for example they renewed all the mattresses on the beds...resulting in truly restful sleep after being on the slopes all day! 2 years ago they put in an indoor pool, gym and cozy but cool little spa. The hotel restaurant Les Enfants Terribles is one of the chicest eateries in Megeve; the food is fantastic and the staff are most charming. According to our teenagers they love the hotel because of its 'unbelievable' central location...right in the middle of town 'where all the action is!'

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

We stayed for two nights at this hotel in late September and it was decidedly off-season in Megeve between summer and winter. The town was pleasantly quiet with none of the bustle of the ski season. This did mean that quite a number of the restaurants and bars were closed although there was still a reasonable range to choose from.

We decided to stay at the Mont Blanc because of its central location and spa. The hotel is in the pedestrian only zone although they can lower the bollards to let you in to drop off luggage. If driving it's best to phone ahead for directions in advance as we did not find it easily when we first arrived!

The wood-lined room was cosy (tending to the stuffy side during the night) with a great balcony to the front of the property overlooking the town square.

What really made our stay though was the spa which we practically had to ourselves. The spa has been really well done in an extension with a large glazed roof and has a small swimming pool, a sauna and a proper hot tub. Lying in the hot tub looking up through the glass at the sky was just so relaxing!

With friendly and helpful staff the Mont Blanc is a really great place for a break at this time of year. The room rate is far from cheap though and breakfast and dinner were really expensive extras albeit the food was very good.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank je22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

We enjoyed our stay here a few years ago, and were looking forward to repeating the experience. Sadly another hotel group now owns it, and standards appear to have slipped a bit. Some of the staff were friendly and helpful, others less so.

We had notified them of our arrival before the official check-in time - in fact around noon, but no room was ready for us, nor would they tell us how soon one would be available, though they must have had a pretty good idea. We thus struggled to change into our ski clothes in a room in their basement, and just as we finished the room magically became available (we would have much preferred to wait a few minutes longer and change in comfort).

The room we were allocated was just about large enough, and had a small balcony with a view over the rooftops and the mountains. It was fairly well equipped with plenty of storage space for clothes, but no spare power sockets (we had to unplug the TV to use a phone charger or laptop), and the light switching was exceptionally eccentric.

However the room maintenance and servicing left a bit to be desired. The room safe had been left locked, and it then took 3 attempts over several hours to get someone to come up and open it so we could use it. One of the room lights worked intermittently, and in fact came on suddenly in the middle of the night, waking me up. One bulb in the bathroom stayed defunct all week (but there were others working, so did not matter all that much). The door to the balcony was hard to open or close as the latch stuck badly. The shaving mirror had a hole in its silvering so that its internal light shone right in one's eye. The lavatory seat was chipped in several places.

The ski room had one locker per room, but on several of them including ours the locks did not work with the room key, and each time we had to call a member of staff to unlock ours, which was tedious. Towards the end of the week the lock failed further so that it was permanently open - this was not fixed for nearly 2 days. The bench in the ski room was removed midway through our stay (apparently because it was broken) but was replaced by just one chair. After we complained about 3 times that we had to sit on the stairs to change our ski boots, they finally brought in one other chair, though there was plenty of space to provide an adequate number. Overall we were not very impressed by the quality of the management.

The buffet breakfast was above average in range of food, but at Euro 25 a person, it was easily the most expensive breakfast that I've ever had, and could not be considered good value. Here also they had background "music" - every morning the same awful recording of some female who could not sing in tune. One day we were the only customers and managed to get them to turn it off; the next day the same thing was playing again.

I have reviewed their restaurant "Les Enfants Terribles" separately - good food, poor ambience and service, so cannot recommend it. There are several other good restaurants within a short walk.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank astronomer-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, Co Durham,
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

We have just returned from staying in this hotel and found it extremely noisy, due to the nightclub and reveller's returning in the early hours (5am most nights)
Ate at the hotel restaurant where you felt as if they wanted you in and out as quickly as possible. Cold starters and sweets. Squashed in a particular area, where the staff had to squeeze past you even tho' there were lots of other spare tables near
Hotel looking a bit tired and need of make over.
Plus side was that the room was very clean, chambermaids were excellent.
Would not stay here again although would come back to Megeve.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gooroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Megeve hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Fermes de Marie
Les Fermes de Marie
#3 of 37 in Megeve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le M de Megeve
Le M de Megeve
#5 of 37 in Megeve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lodge Park
Le Lodge Park
#15 of 37 in Megeve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Arboisie
Hotel L'Arboisie
#10 of 37 in Megeve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.1 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mont-Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont-Blanc

Property: Hotel Mont-Blanc
Address: 29 rue Ambroise Martin, 74120 Megeve, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Megeve
#10 Luxury Hotel in Megeve
#13 Romantic Hotel in Megeve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mont-Blanc 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel Mont-Blanc is a legendary hotel in Megève and THE place to stay in the centre of the village. Its new suites have been brilliantly reinterpreted to pay tribute to some of the artists to which the hotel owes its fame, featuring a new style that is chic, artistic and couture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Hotel Mont-Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mont Blanc
Mont Blanc Hotel Megève

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing