We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Hotel Mont-Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed for a long weekend and although Megeve is not a resort I would hurry back to, this little hotel was a great find. Hands down - the best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel anywhere. Dinner was also delicious - after failing to get a reservation at the restaurants we wanted to go to (be warned eating out requires serious organisation and very advanced booking ) we ate in one night and had a great evening.

The staff literally could not have been more helpful and friendly - and barely batted an eyelid when we asked to move after a night below noisy neighbours.

The club room(s) are small but functional - and perfectly clean, however the rooms are long overdue a refurbishment - with tired faded wall paper in places and bathroom fixtures and fittings that really belong in the 80's.

Its not the end of the earth - but with such great staff and food - and the best location in town - it would just be a whole lot better with a little facelift.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

I did dwell on whether to give this hotel 5* or not because a Four Seasons it is not, but in the end I couldn't resist because the general ambience and service is brilliant. The location is amazing, right in the centre of Megeve. It is not more that a minutes walk to the main ski lift. There is a handy boot room downstairs with lockers and direct access out to the street that makes life very easy. The staff were all amazingly pleasant and went out of their way to help us arrange everything we needed. Now the rooms are on the small side and I would say need a bit of updating, but they are extremely comfortable, warm and have everything you need for a ski holiday. The swimming pool is small, but this is in the centre of Megeve. It is a great place to relax after a day on the slopes and the jacuzzi and sauna are also very welcome. Breakfast can be taken in your room or in the breakfast room and is a very comprehensive spread including beautiful carved hams. The Enfants Terribles restaurant is also very good and I would recommend it. The ski-ing was great this year. Megeve is a real find for us and we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the town square as it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mustbefivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmont-blanc, Directeur général at Hotel Mont-Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for your comment.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, the situation of our hotel "Le Mont Blanc" is unique in the center of the village and next to the ski lift.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best and Kind Regards,
Marie-Geneviève Delacquis Socquet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

From the moment of arriving at the airport (the hotel had arranged our transfer) we found all the staff to be very professional, extremely helpful and most important very pleasant. At first the bedrooms seemed a little dark but soon realised that this only added to the warmth and cosiness of the room. Room service was excellent and the housekeeping I would give 6 stars. We had some of the best seafood in the restaurant and ate there on numurous occasions. I think I can safely say we had a wonderful time and would certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Romms overlooking the mountains are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Great hotel, great stay, many thanks to everyone!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diddemir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmont-blanc, Directeur général at Hotel Mont-Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2012

Thank your for your congratulation. It's very pleasant to share a good moment with you in our charming hotel. We hope to welcome you again for a new cocooning time with my team.
Best Regards,
Marie-Geneviève Socquet Delacquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I had a very bad experience at this hotel and left after two nights. The staff were very unproffesionanl. They did not speak english and were very rude. The shower turned hot and cold and I was burned and the room I stayed in was a prestigious room was small and not worth the money. I would not stay here again even though it is in the middle of town.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pinkandyellowmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmont-blanc, Directeur général at Hotel Mont-Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Thank you for your comment. We apologize about your stay with us. We are very sad to learn that you didn't enjoy your weekend.
Your advices will be useful to progress but are you sure for the dates because in November 2011, our hotel was closed.
Everyone can have a second chance....why not us ?
Best Regards,
Marie-Geneviève Delacquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed here for two nights in July as part of group tavel. The hotel is in the center of town and easy to find. The lobby was small and dark but the staff was very nice. We found our own rooms on the second floor but again the hallways were very dark and we were not at all sure we had the correct rooms. Our room had a really nice balcony/terrace with chairs where we enjoyed relaxing after our day of sight seeing. That said, the terrace was shared with the next room which was fine with us as it was another person from our group travel but would have been uncomfortable if it was someone we didn't know. Our room was very small but others had much larger suite-like rooms. Room was very clean. The town is very quiet so I don't think it matters if you stay in the front or back of the hotel. I suspect that our room is less expensive than the suite type rooms. We sat in the lobby after dinner for drinks and while pleasant, I still had the feeling that this was a dark hotel. Good point was computer internet in the lobby available to all. I would stay here again but am curious to explore other options

Room Tip: Ask for a suite type room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelingcats14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We recently stayed at the hotel Mont-Blanc for 5 days to enjoy this wonderfull region in the Alps. Our daughter celebrated her 11th birthday while we were there. The stay was very enjoyable for many reasons. First of all, the location is perfect, right in the heart Megeve. The staff made us feel at home the minute we walked through the doors. Marie-Genevieve, the general manager was always there, making sure that everything was fine. The food at the hotel was fabulous and my daughter had a surprise celebration during the meal. She also received some gifts for her birthday... It is certain that we will go back to hotel Mont-Blanc soon, hopefully !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rioha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Megeve hotels
0.1 mi away
Lodge Park
Lodge Park
#16 of 37 in Megeve
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Fermes de Marie
Les Fermes de Marie
#4 of 37 in Megeve
646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Arboisie
Hotel L'Arboisie
#7 of 37 in Megeve
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Rochebrune
Hotel Royal Rochebrune
#24 of 37 in Megeve
149 reviews
2.1 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mont-Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont-Blanc

Address: 29 rue Ambroise Martin, 74120 Megeve, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Megeve
#10 Luxury Hotel in Megeve
#11 Spa Hotel in Megeve
#13 Romantic Hotel in Megeve
Price Range: £293 - £904 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mont-Blanc 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star hotel in the center of Megève, the iconic Hotel Mont-Blanc offers a unique experience, in a "new wave" atmosphere that prevailed in the days when there Jean Cocteau, poet and avant-garde artist , frequented this place ... You will discover a unique design and haute couture, and reach the heights of hospitality and exclusivity. Located close to the ski lifts from the village center, you quickly reach a wide range of activities, sports and culture, and can enjoy at any time the entertainment provided by the luxury boutiques, the life of the town square, the magnificent church and the coming and going of horse drawn carriages that pass through the central streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mont-Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mont Blanc
Mont Blanc Hotel Megève

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing