We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel well situated close to the vett centre”
Review of Au Vieux Moulin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Au Vieux Moulin
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Decent hotel well situated close to the vett centre”
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Nice staff, clean, good breakfast, rooms ok. Perhaps we felt it was à little bit overrated by the Hotel ibe's, we expected some more charm.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reseapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    47
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
57
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We staid there for a night only. Very clean hotel, good service. We did not ski but it looks to me a bit fare away fromt he slopes and not very practical if you want to ski.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cajoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We stayed here out of season, which costs about half what it would cost during ski season, so it was a bargain. The room was clean, basic, and reasonably comfortable, staff was very friendly and helpful. There's a nice swimming pool. I would not recommend the hotel's restaurant, since I found the food a bit odd.

The only other negative thing is that I could see that this would not be a quiet, relaxing place to stay during ski season - there were rules posted all over our room cautioning against noise, wetness, food and drink in room, luggage storage, etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidnora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Easy find central location just outside the pedestrian mall, this chalet style 3 star hotel looks charming.

Unfortunately the rooms are very tired, stained carpets and tired furniture. We had 2 superior rooms each with a balcony and ensuite, the bathroom basin was completely cracked and the plastic toilet seat definately needed to be replaced. The mattresses are well past their due date.

We booked dinner on a saturday night at the hotel restaurant, we were very impressed with the decor and the abience as we were shown to our table. Low lighting, candles and wooden floors which lifted our spirits somewhat. We were served by a young boy less than enthusiatic about his work, who spoke only french (surprising?) and who when not serving tables (ours & 1 other) stood behind the cash register on a raised step surveying the dining room and right above the other table who were italians.

Entrecote steaks were almost inedible and tirumisu these days somewhat resembles berry triffle with not a drop of coffee or a dollop of marscapone. Dinner was so sad, it was almost laughable.

The following evening was lots of fun because we had a picnic party in our room with french bread, pate, local cheeses & local wine, to top it all off we indulged in some delicious pastries from the local corner patisserie.

Breakfast at the hotel (12,50 euros) consisted of cereals, breads, pastries, fruits, yoghurts, fromage fresh, cold meats, fresh orange & grapefruit juice, butters & jams, all buffet style. The breakfast room is very charming, in an Alpine way, but again the stained tablecloths need cleaning and thorough washing.

Nice looking swimming pool but it was too cold to swim. Reception staff were acceptable. The owner spoke perfect english only after i struggled with my french.

  • Liked — Appearance, it looks like a pretty chalet
  • Disliked — Grubbiness & the cracked basin
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mila08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2008

Lovely hotel only a few minutes walk from the centre of town. All rooms were very clean. We had a superior room which was a very good size with a big bathroom. Breakfast is extra but worth paying for as they offer a great selection. I would highly recommend and certainly go back. Only downside was that the staff on reception were not overly helpful.

Pool closed in summer.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CK1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 March 2006

Had a long weekend in Megeve and stayed at the Aux Vieux Moulin. It is nice an central, 5-10min walk to the bottom of the ski lift, quicker without the boots on and carrying skis :) The village/town itself is very pretty with a good range of restaurants and shops to browse. The ski area is extensive and great for intermediates, the restaurants on the slopes are great and you have to try the desserts at L'Alpette.

Back to the hotel.....We had a standard room, which didn't have a bath, was wetroom style, but finished in a high standard, modern contempory fittings. Not too much of a problem for us, though could be for some. The bedroom itself, yes a little small but adequate and tastefully furnished.

Communal areas were quite, though it was the end of the season... though we used the bar before going out for dinner and breakfast was your usual continentel (not hot food) but when food ran out, it was replaced immediately.

Staff were very courteous and although we arrived at lunchtime got in our room straight away, meant we had that afternoon on the slopes. Day of departure, left our luggage and came back to change after skiing with no problems having somewhere to change.

Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 February 2006

Hotel Au Vieux Moulin, Megeve:
If this hotel was half the price, it would be absolutely fine. It is a lovely old chalet just a stone's throw from the pedestrianised centre of Megeve. The rooms are small and a little tired, but the service was ok and the hotel is very central... perfectly acceptable if it were half the price we paid.

We are well-traveled and ski several times a year, usually in the French Alps, staying mostly in 4 star hotels. So we think we have a pretty good measure of competitive value. Our double room at Au Vieux Moulin was very small (it was a 'superior' apparently!), the decor was worn, & we overlooked a rather ugly concrete car park. Various things in the room were broken - e.g. coat hooks, a towel rail, lightbulbs, radiator, and everything about the hotel just seemed mean (only 2 very small bath towels, and when we asked for an extra one it was removed the next day, although the other towels weren't changed!). When we asked whether they could make a room available on our last day for us to shower and change after skiing, they offered us an office and told us that we couldn't shower in a room because the cleaners had gone home, although there were empty rooms that day. And we paid an astonishing 240 Euros per night excluding breakfast and taxes. This is 3 star standard at best; it sells itself as a major spa/beauty centre, but there was just one person working in the spa and she was fully booked outside skiing hours for the next 2 months! So no massage for us on our 5 day trip. The hotel doesn't even have a restaurant any more, although you can order dishes from the (very expensive) place next door, and eat them in the hotel dining room. But we wouldn't have eaten in anyway.

Be warned, there is much better value in Megeve; we went for dinner at the gourmet hotel Le Fer A Cheval nearby, and were shocked at how much better it was in every way (a truly stunning hotel) for about 20% LESS per night! When we mentioned this to our hotel receptionist, she shrugged and said in that case we should stay at Fer A Cheval next time! Even the staff can't vouch for Vieux Moulin, clearly!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Megeve hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chalet d'Antoine
Hotel Chalet d'Antoine
#1 of 37 in Megeve
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Au Coin du Feu
Au Coin du Feu
#9 of 37 in Megeve
123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel L'Arboisie
Hotel L'Arboisie
#11 of 37 in Megeve
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Gai Soleil
Hotel Le Gai Soleil
#3 of 37 in Megeve
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Fermes de Marie
Les Fermes de Marie
#4 of 37 in Megeve
573 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Vieux Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Vieux Moulin

Property: Au Vieux Moulin
Address: 188 rue Ambroise Martin, 74120 Megeve, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Megeve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Au Vieux Moulin 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel benefits of a calm and privileged location in the centre of Megève, next to the pedestrian area, the main shops and the activities of the resort.The hotel "Au Vieux Moulin" has 41 rooms divided into two categories, standard or superior, including 1 suite. All our rooms are equipped with flat-screen TV, telephone, mini bar, individual safe, free wifi, and hairdryer. Free cot available on request.Reception is open 24/24h. Internet point at the reception.The hotel has a space for seminars and other events. This space can accommodate up to 40 people and is equipped with wifi.For your comfort, there is also a Beauty centre and a heated outdoor swimming pool in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Au Vieux Moulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing