We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, amazing service”
Review of Au Vieux Moulin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Au Vieux Moulin
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Hotel location is excellent, 2 minute walk to the center or to the ski lift. The staff were amazing, very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very clean and hotel is very children friendly. Highly recommend it. The only thing I would recommend to improve, is breakfast. Would have been great to have a bit more variety. Overall we were super happy with the quality of the hotel!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Oliko_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Au Vieux Moulin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed there for a week for holiday and skiing. Very nice, cosy and clean. Good friendly staff. We appreciated very much unexpected early full breakfast at 1.00 pm! Our transfer bus was support to pick us up at 2.00 to go to airport to Grenoble to catch early flight and we asked for a coffe, and were very supprised to be welcomed for full breakfast! Thanks, guys!

Good location, very center, but quiet . Rooms are different, some are small. In the same time all is there. Continental breakfast. Fantastic fresh croussans cover everything!

Free Wi-fi, tv, what else to enjoy evenings after skiing:-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Booked the hotel for winter holidays with my family. Had interconnected rooms. The reservation was very easy and the reception helped to organize transfer from Geneve which was less expensive than other options. Had a nice welcome at reception. Room was ready when we arrived. Reception is super helpful in booking restaurants and helping out in general. Rooms are great with comfortable beds and nice clean bathrooms. Location of the hotel is the best. Just one min from the pedestrian center. Perfect place. Thanks.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank TravellerAABB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We have to stay there for one night by accident. Megeve is the great place to visit in France! The hotel located in close proximity to the central village, shops and cable car station. The personal are very nice and welcome. The standard room is pretty small. Our room overlooking to the roofs and some other buildings with no view at all. The hotel itself is quite old and need renovation. I would recommend to find some more cozy place even if you have to spend higher budget or rent an apartment to be more in line with the spirit of Megeve.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Serezhka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Arrived by bike, tired, wet and hungry and and nothing was too much trouble, stored my bike in a locked shed, dried my kit, gave me milk for a recovery shake. great room, awesome spa and a pro masseuse. Decor is traditional French but modern. Restaurant that is accessed within the hotel is good, modern run by its owners and popular with locals. A place I'd go back to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location of this charming hotel is perfect with a stunning view of Rochebrune mountain ...quiet but within 200m of the pedestrian area which is the centre of the village. Our room #44 was at the front of the hotel with a balcony overlooking a lovely heated swimming pool. All the personnel of the hotel were extremely helpful particularly Virginie. We did not eat in the hotel as breakfast at 13 euros per person as well as the dining room area did not seem very appealing. However we would certainly love to come again and stay Au Vieux Moulin.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manhattan2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We used the hotel as a base to travel around france, italy and switzerland.
The staff were very friendly and spoke good english. Before we arrived we emailed the Hotel to say we would be late and they responded very quickly. We arrived 3 days late which they did not charge us for which was superb.
The hotel was clean and our room was very spacious with a massive bed and a balcony overlooking the pool. There was a view of the mountains and we were next to a fast running stream which added to the relaxation.
From the moment we booked to the minute we checked out they were warm and very professional.If you are looking for a base in Megeve or a short break the hotel is ideal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heirfister72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Megeve hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Gai Soleil
Hotel Le Gai Soleil
#1 of 38 in Megeve
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chalet d'Antoine
Hotel Chalet d'Antoine
#2 of 38 in Megeve
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Au Coin du Feu
Au Coin du Feu
#9 of 38 in Megeve
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
0.8 mi away
La Ferme du Golf
La Ferme du Golf
#16 of 38 in Megeve
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Fermes de Marie
Les Fermes de Marie
#5 of 38 in Megeve
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Vieux Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Vieux Moulin

Address: 188 rue Ambroise Martin, 74120 Megeve, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Megeve
Price Range: £85 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Au Vieux Moulin 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel benefits of a calm and privileged location in the centre of Megève, next to the pedestrian area, the main shops and the activities of the resort.The hotel "Au Vieux Moulin" has 41 rooms divided into two categories, standard or superior, including 1 suite. All our rooms are equipped with flat-screen TV, telephone, mini bar, individual safe, free wifi, and hairdryer. Free cot available on request.Reception is open 24/24h. Internet point at the reception.The hotel has a space for seminars and other events. This space can accommodate up to 40 people and is equipped with wifi.For your comfort, there is also a Beauty centre and a heated outdoor swimming pool in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Au Vieux Moulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing