We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed hotel, good service and excellent food”
Review of La Grange d'Arly

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Megeve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Grange d'Arly
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Megeve
Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Relaxed hotel, good service and excellent food”
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Very friendly and relaxed. Good clean and comfortable accomodation. Little extra's provide a personal touch. Excellent food at a reasonable price. Very pleased we chanced upon it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PloSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    21
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
48
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We spent a week after Christma at this charming hotel; it was absolutely wonderful, and we came back competely relaxed and content. The owners and staff are helpful, kind and attentive at all times; they were always willing to give advice and provided us with English newspapers every morning. The dinners were delicious: proper local food served with knowledge and care. We were with lively teenagers, but no one seemed to mind; however, I feel that this delighful hotel would suit anyone of any age. If you don't ski, it doesn't matter, as Megeve is so pretty to walk in, and the hotel is welcoming all day. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WandsworthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Too much to say really; could not fault anything, it was all excellent.
On the day of leaving the owner even sent an englisg newspaper with my breakfast; how good is that? If you want total quality in this region, at such a reasonable of price, then this is place in my view. Dont miss it please!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simondick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

The hotel is fresh and clean as if it had just opened, despite the fact that it was the end of the (ski) season. Every thing is simple, quaint and in good taste. The owners are there and on-call all the time. They pointed out that breakfast was available 24 hours a day, and the bar was open 24 hours a day; quite a combination for a small hotel. Rooms are not large, but bigger than most moderately priced ski hotels, and are plainly, but nicely furnished. A 5 minute walk from the centre of the lovely village. I would and will strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank massachusetts-yankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2008

We (Husband, kids (6,3) and myself) stayed for a week at the end of March 2008 and had a wonderful time. The Grange D'arly was exactly what we were looking for and turned out it was right next door to the bus depot where all the ski buses to all the resorts started which was a god send we always got a seat and no shoving or long walks wth Ski's!! The food was excellent and the kids were more than catered for, Christine was fantastic every evening and we took a couple of trips into town as we were not tied by half board. Great holiday.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Onchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2008

We decided to visit Megeve after a week in St Anton and a further week in Samoens. Megeve fully justifies its excellent reviews and was for us [ average skiers , early sixties, english speakers, live in the Caribbean ] exactly what we were looking for in a resort and more enjoyable than the other two both from a skiing perspective and as a vacation location. The village is expensive but you generally get what you pay for and all of the logistics both on and of piste are first rate. Another reviewer has dealt with the Grange D'Arly in depth and fairly accurately We enjoyed our stay and had absolutely no complaints - the hotel is just as it portrays itself on the hotel website. The owners are indeed characters but work fantastically hard to ensure the comfort of their guests We ate in only once (there are so many good retaurants in Megeve that any half board deal is bound to be a dissapointment) and the dinner was very acceptable. A huge plus for the hotel is its location within 50 meters of the skibus base station giving immediate access to the three routes.

  • Liked — Location, Service, Value.
  • Disliked — Having to pay for internet access via third party non user friendly site.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank intervale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2007

Reason for stay: Independent Sking holiday
Hotel: This is local family run business. It is under the control of the Madame of the houes very firmly. She runs everything and is ever so slightly mad. A consummate linguist she will switch languages in an instant. You will get her life story on your first dinner. The style is very much traditional alpine house so don't expect anything great on designer toilets. It is about ten years old and has held up well. The decor is very twee I suspect due to the influence of Madame!

Food: She who must be obeyed controls cooking and the menu is the same year after year. I don't think more than five days is wise. Savoyard cooking is not for those on a diet! It is heavy going in many respects.

Clientele: Rather like Chamonix this higher resort has become swamped by UK visitors which somewhat spoils its charm. Most of us want to get away from the loud brigade on holiday. Surprisingly given the high cost of this hotel (around 1600 GBP for two rooms for seven days) some seem to come and do not even ski?

Village: The village is best and easily reached by hire car from Geneva. Snow is quickly removed but equally comes in spades when it arrives so you could be caught out. This is an expensive resort so all the shops tend to be very pricey. The quality of goods is very high so don't be looking for a cheap pair of shoes in Megeve. The tea rooms are great value as are the chocolatiers. You can easily do a lunchtime shop in the local Casino or go down the hill to a Carrefoure if you want to keep the kids eating bills down.

Ski Area: This is good resort for families. There is little challenging so no one is going to get hurt. It is however pretty busy with beginners and the South facing slopes (most) melt very quickly in the sun. In any week you are going to need snow fall and will lose a day when this arrives as it falls very deep.

Overall: Good for families once or perhaps twice. You will not eat in every night as the food is repetitive and too expensive. The bus station is next door so don't waste time walking anywhere. Hire a car to avoid rip off food stores.

  • Liked — LOcation to bus station
  • Disliked — Repetitive menu
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjmacf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Megeve hotels
0.3 mi away
Le M de Megeve
Le M de Megeve
#8 of 37 in Megeve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Au Vieux Moulin
Au Vieux Moulin
#13 of 37 in Megeve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Au Coeur de Megeve
Au Coeur de Megeve
#23 of 37 in Megeve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Rochebrune
Hotel Royal Rochebrune
#19 of 37 in Megeve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Au Coin du Feu
Au Coin du Feu
#11 of 37 in Megeve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lodge Park
Le Lodge Park
#14 of 37 in Megeve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grange d'Arly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grange d'Arly

Property: La Grange d'Arly
Address: 10 rue des Allobroges | BP 68, 74120 Megeve, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Megeve
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
La Grange d`Arly Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing