We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a bit out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Les Chalets du Prariand
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“a bit out of the way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Decent family run hotel , pretty basic , food average , staff helpful , a good 30 minute walk from town is the big draw back , but on the other hand that's why it is reasonably cheap for a skiing holiday, if you want good skiing but with no night life , this would be a good choice .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    52
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
25
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Perfect for simple summer family fun. Kids club allows the parents precious down time and the heated outdoor pool means even the coolest mountain afternoons are spent splashing around. Extremely safe environment for kids who can run free. Its not luxury but for R&R it's ideal.

Room Tip: View of Mont Blanc and a balcony a bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostInLochnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

In notoriously expensive Megeve, it was comforting to find somewhere (not too far out of the main town) that wasn't eyewateringly expensive. It has to be said that we were limited as we booked a few days before our stay and it certainly wouldn't have been our first choice but it was great.

We were pleasantly surprised by the reception/bar area and our room as the images attached don't do it justice. There's a free ski shuttle that runs every hour 9am - 6pm to ferry you from Megeve bus station (this does get booked up v quickly so remember to reserve the night before. The free wifi is useful to check out restaurants in the area but the hotel has an onsite restaurant if you prefer to stay in.

The breakfast and room are basic - only one english channel (BBC World) - but this hotel provides great value for money. Highlight for us was the do it yourelf pancake hot plate (such a novelty). We didn't manage to visit the onsite spa / sauna but wish we had!

The staff are very accomodating and did their best to help with all of our requests. They were happy to book us taxis to town on our behalf and shared their knowledge of the area to recommend restaurants and where to ski to find the best snow.

NB. Taxi's are really expensive so if you intend to go out in the evenings, I would advise to invest in a hotel nearer the centre of Megeve. We paid around 20 euros for a one way trip into town and this really adds up!

Room Tip: We stayed in 306 and had a great view from our balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatsoboy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

A three is perfect for this place. It's not luxury, not quite comfy but great if you want to stay away from the center of town but within walking distance and you're traveling with a family. At 7am, the kids running down the hallway will wake up anyone, but after one stop at breakfast, you'll realize this place is packed with families of at least four - often with toddlers in tow. The breakfast is slim pickings though, with tiny bread slices, do-it-yourself pancakes and eggs. Then there's the usual cold cuts, yogurt and fruit. There is quite a bit of noise from other rooms as pointed out but things do die down after about 10, 11pm so, you can get some rest before another day on the slopes. If you are going with the family and want to have a safe place for your kids to play away from town, then this is the spot for you.

One important note, which messed us up during booking, is this place does not have any room with two double beds. They only have two single beds, which can be combined to make one bed. So, book accordingly and enjoy Megeve.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatsoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vila do Conde, Portugal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

An average hotel, in Prariand area, about 3 km of Megève. If you have a car it is an easy route to Megève. The rooms are modest but clean, with a nice balcony facing the mountains, needing restoration works, a lcd tv and a bathroom with shower. Some noise from others rooms, but all quiet around 11.00pm. The breakfast was above average. A good choice of food. The service, as usual in France, was professional. Few smiles would not lack in attendance! All in all, for the expensive Megève, is a very good place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magictrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

I booked here for a last minute trip at Easter, and as I paid £60 a night for two bed and breakfast did not really know what to expect.

The staff are very friendly, and the hotel is very clean and tidy.
The loaction is great, very rural and would be fantastci in summer too.

Vacances bleues main clientele appears to be young families and older groups, taking advantage of budget half/full board packages. The food in the restaurant is good, and a 4 course meal costs €17 , but the portions are on the small side.

The hotel is a fair way out of town, there is a shuttle bus, first on at 9am , last one at 5pm. So if you want to ski hard, you will need a car. If you are fit you could walk in 20 minutes, but it's uphill so don't figure on doing it with skis/boots.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ben20vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Megeve hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel L'Arboisie
Hotel L'Arboisie
#11 of 37 in Megeve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chalet du Mont d'Arbois
0.8 mi away
Les Fermes de Marie
Les Fermes de Marie
#3 of 37 in Megeve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal Rochebrune
Hotel Royal Rochebrune
#20 of 37 in Megeve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.6 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Flocons de Sel
0.9 mi away
Le M de Megeve
Le M de Megeve
#7 of 37 in Megeve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Chalets du Prariand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Chalets du Prariand

Property: Hotel Les Chalets du Prariand
Address: 939 route du Villaret, 74120 Megeve, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Megeve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Chalets du Prariand 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Fastbooking, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Les Chalets du Prariand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing