We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's fun for a night, but not sure it's worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostellerie du Perouges
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“It's fun for a night, but not sure it's worth the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We recently spent an afternoon and night in Perouges. Definitely a stunning spot, like a tiny Carcassonne but with very few people (at least on a weekday in June). It's really something to see, let alone walk around these ancient stone streets and go back in time, with few tourists. On the other hand, I expected a little more activity in terms of shops or cafes; there was only one spot for late afternoon drinks and nothing much else to do after a small museum and church.

That aside, I thought that our night in the Hostellerie would be the highlight of our trip. In some ways it was - it's the closest I've ever been to staying in an old castle. We chose a 4* room and it was huge, nicely furnished, with a large and well equipped, modern bathroom. We had a large window for ventiliation and because it is virtually deserted at night, we could leave it open to sleep. (In a heat wave, without a/c, it might be very uncomfortable). There is free wifi and a nice flat screen TV (no English channels however).

We had dinner in the restaurant which obviously comes highly recommended. It was quite busy ,with most people having driven in for dinner. It's an atmospheric dining room, but to be honest, it was the least satisfying dinner of our trip. We found the staff polite, but not warm or friendly -- clearly they are used to tons of tourists and don't have to make much effort to connect with people individually. The food was some of the highest priced of our trip (obviously the setting commands a premium) and it was not the best of our trip, by any means. It was good, but not great. The wine list comes on a fake medieval scroll -- which we found cheesy and silly, not what we expected from a restaurant that had hosted President Clinton.

Breakfast was even more UNsatisfying. Again, the staff was polite but did not go out of their way to be friendly. The final straw was paying 16 euros for coffee, juice, and a basket of breads (good ones, but still). There was not one other item available -- we ate it, because there was no other choice in town - but it's just ridiculous for the price. We are happy to have French-style breakfasts and did so in many other places, but not for 16 euros. Perhaps they are trying to discourage people from having breakfast?

So, for the chance to spend a night in a unique place -- and have the town all to yourself the next morning -- I guess it's worth one night. But given the impersonal treatment and inflated prices, I might actually recommend that other visitors come in the morning for a stroll and coffee or lunch -- or in the late afternoon (to avoid any crowds) for a stroll and a beer -- and not bother to stay overnight.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank efpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    45
    25
    7
    12
See reviews for
14
54
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

My wife and I stayed one night at the Ostellerie de Perouges and very much enjoyed the experience. The hotel was located in the middle of the town and you have to be guided to the car parking lot once you find the hotel itself. The staff were very friendly and competent. Our meal was expensive but worth the money. Our room was functional but the bed could have been more comfortable and the insulation from the room noise above could have been better but overall it was ok. We had a nice breakfast in the veranda which overlooked the village square. It was a great - if not inexpensive - experience that we will remember.

Room Tip: We had a nice room detached from the main bldg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amortizor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

I stayed in one of the Hostellerie's 4* Manor Rooms for a quick weekend getaway. The room was very large and nicely furnished ... very fitting to its surroundings. The staff was very courteous and friendly. I had dinner at the Hostellerie's restaurant, which was excellent. They serve breakfast in the restaurant or in the room.
I generally stay at either luxury hotel properties or those that have an "experience value". The Hostellerie definitely qualifies for the latter ...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chocxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

small little medieval village turned into hotel and restaurants.. the hotel was quaint, a little outdated but the restaurant was excellent. My teenagers really enjoyed the experience. I would recommend as a stop in the region. We stayed in a family room which slept 4. The room was a little drafty but comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kykiminhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoli
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

very very nice and very different....something you cannot find anywhere, sleeping in a 13th century house with period furniture, four-poster bed and all that kind of stuff all around!!
Definitely to come back, of course no more than 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la rippe
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2008

Last Saturday we stayed one night at the Hostellerie.We could choose our room,there were many vacancies.We chose a double room in the annex.Cost 120 Euros.It had two single beds and an adequate bathroom.It was clean but not luxurious.The village is very quiet at night.The meal was overpriced and not very good.I would chose another restaurant in the neighbourhood if I would go again.The staff is also mediocre.The whole place could do with some bright colours and some paint.The breakfast was good but 15 Euros!

  • Liked — calm overnight and the medieval village
  • Disliked — an atmosphere of neglect
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ittagub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2008

We really love the setting and the old atmosphere but... we were first put into an incredibly cold room. Feel sorry for the young couple that ended there after we were moved..and I forgot my favorite nightgown in the room and have never received an answer to my e-mail asking them to please mail it home to Portugal at my cost. Pity....

  • Liked — the setting, sorroundings
  • Disliked — lack of service by not answering to e-mail about lost item
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nazcaPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perouges hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perouges
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or
7.8 mi away
Le Petit Casset
Le Petit Casset
#1 of 1 in La Boisse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel La Table Charolaise
Hotel La Table Charolaise
#1,456 of 2,560 in Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Ibis Lyon Est Beynost A42
12.5 mi away
Hotel Bar les Allies
Hotel Bar les Allies
#1 of 1 in Pont-d'Ain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Berangere
La Berangere
#2 of 6 in Perouges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Perouges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Perouges

Property: Hostellerie du Perouges
Address: Place des Tilleuls, 01800 Perouges, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Perouges
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Perouges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us take you on a journey through time... Our bedrooms are located in various houses around the city, depending on whether you prefer the rustic or medieval style, and sometimes... a canopy bed ! The inn has a closed, free, private car park, within the city, or a garage can be available too. Free wifi in most of the rooms. About the restaurant, a cosy atmosphere combines old-fashioned elegance with refined food and service. Separate dining rooms and function rooms provide seating for up to 180. Local specialties (morel mushrooms, crayfish, lake and pond fish, the famous Bress poultry...) and home-made delights (Pérouges flat cake, the famous "galette pérougienne", reviving Ypocras wine from the Middle Age) are served in period costume. Free wifi. Open daily for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hostellerie du Perouges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Du Perouges Hotel Perouges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing