We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting B&B”
Review of Le Grenier a Sel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perouges
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Grenier a Sel
Ranked #1 of 6 Perouges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting B&B”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in a comfortable double room called Les Remparts with good views outside the town. Not a large room or shower room but had everything we needed. A few steep stairs to get to our room but not a problem for us. Interesting house with a pleasant owner who had produced the calligraphy and artwork in the breakfast room. A simple breakfast of coffee, croissant and pastries (no fruit) included in the price. A pity there was no fresh bread given the bakers next door. The terrace looked attractive for outside eating but we chose inside because of the weather. We parked too far away in the main village car park and should have tried to find nearer parking adjacent to the church. Would not recommend driving in the narrow cobbled streets of Perouges itself. A lovely interesting town, however.

Room Tip: Good views from the small window in the room called Les Remparts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DS221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    21
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
54
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Room was quirky and interesting with a nice bathroom, hotel had a lovely little terrace at the back with great views, which made breakfast a real delight, and we sat out in evening with a bottle of wine. Breakfast was good. Owner was very friendly. Great value for money. Lovely village - make sure you wear flat shoes as the cobbles were very difficult to walk on. Be aware there is no parking, we had to park some way away from hotel and carry bags through the village - though you can bring the car outside and unload but only at the end of the day when tourists have gone home. Not even having to do this, on a very hot day, would stop me giving this a good review.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VFT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed in the Remparts room for three days in May and really enjoyed our visit. Parking at the church was not a problem. Very good breakfast with unusual jams and the usual French breads and croissant.There is a sort of one way system which generally works, although coming across a fuel truck reversing towards us and having to turn into a very narrow lane was a bit stressful. We certainly could not have opened the car doors. Good train service from Meximieux into Lyon with very comfortable seats, the station carpark is pretty full during weekdays, so we parked in the supermarket, no hassle at all. The manager was very friendly so I cannot understand one of the other reviews, she is also very creative and the inn has many of her artworks and calligraphy items. The room was up a couple flights of stairs but we didn't have any problem. Altogether a very enjoyable few days

Room Tip: if you want a lovely view then the Remparts room fits the bill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW USA
Level Contributor
277 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed here in late May on our way north from the south. Loved the Inn, the manager was super nice, staying late to receive us. Though we reserved with a card she was fine with us paying cash which we preferred. Free parking just down the street, no problem. Did not understand the complaint about the cobbled streets, isn't that why we visit small villages in Europe? Very pretty town, there was an outdoor market while we were there. There are 4 rooms, 2 for 85 euros and 2 for 95. The two 85 euros were already occupied so we stayed in the 95 euro room that had a terrace facing the countryside. What a room! Free wifi throughout, comfy bed. The other had a kitchenette that we did not need. The room was decorated in a historic and quirky manner, great bathroom, wonderful breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Look at the descriptions for each room. There is one room (95 euros) that has a kitchenette if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNowSwUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed 1 night in this lovely building. We had a room on the top floor. No problem to carry our luggage up the narrow steps, we are used to climbing steps at home.
Our grown-up son came along with us, and he also enjoyed the stay. Charming room, 1 double bed and 1 single bed.
Lovely breakfast downstairs with the other guests the next morning. Sorry we could not sit outside to enjoy the breakfast, as it was raining. Would like to come back. The host speaks a little english, no problem to understand each other.
Perouges at night-time is a quiet village.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SisselOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Somerset
Level Contributor
231 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Perouges is a tiny hill-top fortified Medieval City with narrow cobbled streets - it is a magical place. This is a small (5-room) guest house (bed and breakfast) within the city walls and actually forms part of the city ramparts. It was once the house of the salt tax collector. The building is quite narrow with a fairly steep staircase to the upper floors. The bedroom we had ("Remparts" on the second floor) was excellent with a view to kill for - clean comfortable, well furnished with good en-suite facilities (small but adequate). Breakfast was served on the roughly paved patio on the ground floor to the rear overlooking the valley below and was excellent - fruit juices, bread, croissants, jams and tea/coffee. Remember this is a small B&B, not a 4-star hotel. Do look at their web site. And for what it is, it is wonderful. Payment (even for just one night) was not a problem using a debit/credit card.
There is a small restaurant a few doors up, a small one in the main square (which does have reduced evening opening - OK Saturday night) and a fairly expensive hotel restaurant also in the main square. The city is very quiet after the tourists go home and a delight to wander around (careful on the cobbles).
A word of warning: car access is potentially difficult. It is possible to drive up to the front door to drop/collect cases (the cobbles are medieval and too uneven to wheel luggage very far). Parking was possible inside the city (near the fortified church), or outside the walls near the church. We were advised not to use the public car parks (2 Euros on entry) for safety reasons (I do not know whether this was being over-cautious or not). We parked inside the walls without any problems but it was a weekend in September.

Room Tip: "Remparts" is a double room on the top (second floor). The room is excellent, but all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BloomfieldTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac,MD
Level Contributor
145 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Quaint isn't always good. We had to climb 2 stories with luggage to a very small room. Bathroom was good. In order to get to hotel you have to drag luggage over cobblestone pavements in the old part of town or drive a car up the tricky street. The owner was quite nice but be advised she doesn't arrive until late in the afternoon-this is on the web site. It would be better to see Perouges in one day and stay outside for the night or go on to the next destination. It isn't worth staying overnight in this otherwise lovely town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psdunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perouges
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or
7.8 mi away
Best Western Bridge Hotel Lyon East
7.8 mi away
Le Petit Casset
Le Petit Casset
#1 of 1 in La Boisse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hotel Bar les Allies
Hotel Bar les Allies
#1 of 1 in Pont-d'Ain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Berangere
La Berangere
#2 of 6 in Perouges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie du Perouges
Hostellerie du Perouges
#1 of 1 in Perouges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grenier a Sel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grenier a Sel

Property: Le Grenier a Sel
Address: rue des Rondes | Cite Médiévale de Pérouges 01, 01800 Perouges, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Perouges
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Perouges
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing