We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit disappointing really”
Review of Cafe de la Place

Cafe de la Place
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Talloires
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Telephone 04 50 64 40 74
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bit disappointing really”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Been in Talloires for 2 weeks, and place always busy and lively. Friends had a so so lunch there, but we gave it a go all the same. However, the food was bland. Service was not great. The only disappointing meal near Talloires. Expected local French cooking but felt more like a chain. Savoyarde, La Priclaz and Le Club much better. The Abri Cotier and Cuillere a'Omble are both in a different league.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ck991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    272
    70
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dinner in Talloires”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is located in the heart of Talloires it looks great. On the night we visited (Friday) was very busy. The clientele were a mixture of locals and tourists. The food was good. However if you are a vegetarian, check the ingredients. The hot goats cheese salad contained bacon. Service was a little harried due to the restaurant's popularity but fine overall. I would return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GotToGetOutThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for Talloires”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We ate here in the middle of a thunderstorm. The place was packed. Unfortunately, the doors to the tent were closed and so the smoke from those sitting 'outside' drifted inside. My waterproof is still tainted with the smell. Apart from that, the food was very good and the portion sizes generous. Desserts came as very large helping and were ideal for sharing. The Myrtille tart was very good. The salads were very substantial and a nice change from the cheese overload that we had endured elsewhere in Talloires. I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Northern_Rachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Even though it was a rainy cold night in April the restaurant was full and we had to eat outside in the 'tent'. Despite that the service was good and the atmosphere warm and inviting. Good value for money

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Beautyful place”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

a beautyful place to have good food close to the sea with a very good service .My daughters and I enjoy it every time we visit Annecy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe de la Place also viewed

Talloires, Haute-Savoie
 
Menthon-Saint-Bernard, Haute-Savoie
Veyrier-Du-Lac, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Cafe de la Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing