We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Nearby Hotels
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Lac(Talloires)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Cottage Bise(Talloires)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Christine(Talloires)
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$460
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveller rating
300
155
50
20
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
155
50
20
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold buildinglake annecybeautiful hotelpark the carmark twainlakeside settingsun chairspeaceful sleepsuperior room with lake viewno elevatorinteresting buildingold world elegancefloor boardswedding receptionimpeccable servicespent four nightslarge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 531 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

excellent hotel service and staff beautiful setting definitely worth a visit one of the most beautiful locations caught the concerts with superb firework show in talloires brilliant once again thnks to the staff for their kindness and thoughtfulness especially the young waitress who kindly put a shawl over my shoulders when it was a slightly cool afternoon such a lovely thing to do ps the food is out of this world at the very least 5 stars xx

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear client,

it was a great pleasure having you among us and we are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay.

The well being of our guests is our first concern and it is nice to hear the small gestures we make for our clients are appreciated.

We would love to welcome you back whenever you should come in our region again.

Very best regards from sunny Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel setting is right on the lake with lounge chairs over the lake and in the gardens. It was very quiet at night so a peaceful sleep was had. One can take a walk along the lake, take a kayak out, go for a swim or take a ferry around the lake. The breakfast setting was in a beautiful garden and the food had everything you could possibly want. The rooms are old monk rooms with high ceilings and small balconies decorated very tastefully. Service was excellent at the dock, dining room and at the reception. I did not eat in the dining room for dinner as other guests had told us that it was not very good. It is a short walk to town for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for liking our beautiful property. We were glad to have you among us.
Pity that you did not try the restaurant on yourself: as you can read in the reviews, some people really do not particulary like the cuisine and the others would give us a Michelin star for it.
We sincerly hope to be able to greet you in Abbaye at some other occasion.
Very best regards from Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Very comfortable and relaxing hotel in an amazing location: an old lakeside monastery. Spacious rooms, views from balcony, charming garden with old fashioned vegetable patch, herb garden, fruit trees, terraces. Easy and direct access to the lake for boating and swimming. Excellent breakfast offering local produces with great homemade pastries and organic bread. The restaurant however is not up to expectations: fancy menu and star type prices do not compensate for average to mediocre cuisine. We dined twice at the so-called "restaurant gastronomique" and twice the food was dry and over cooked. What a waste for the "omble chevalier" (local fish) badly prepared with a mushy bread crust. Honest lunch prepared at the outdoor kitchen on the front terrace. The jacuzzi was terrible: moldy smelling and grey grime starting to set on the edge. Urgent cleaning needed.

Room Tip: In hot summer, garden view rooms with a balcony are better than lake view rooms as there is no air con in those old buildings. The rooms stay relatively cool thanks to the thick walls though.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Sylvie S,

we were delighted to host you in Abbaye de Talloires.
Thank you so much for all the compliments concerning the hotel, the breakfast and our brasserie restaurant.

You can imagine that we are very disappointed that we were not able to convince you with our fine dining restaurant. Nevertheless we thank you for your comments as we want to improve constantly.

Concerning Jacuzzi it is not the question of cleaning which we obviously do regularly.
At this period of the time it is not being used very often, the water does not circulate enough and with the heath and the sun shining through the window you get this effect very easy. We have decided to completely exchange the water every day and increase the addition of the products during the hot season to resolve this problem.

Hoping to see you again in Abbaye de Talloires,
I remain with warmest regards

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Highlight the excellence service who will always make you feel like a very special guest.

Beautiful location with stunning views and a restaurant which deserved a michelin's star.

Total y recommended in summertime

Room Tip: View to The lake
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fewgiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear guest,

what else to say but thank you for having chosen Abbaye for your stay and for this nice report.

Please keep in mind that every gust for us is special and that we are trying very much to make you a memorable stay.

If we suceed - as apparently we've done with you - then we are very happy and proud!

Please come back, it will always be a pleasure to welcome you again.

With warmest regards from Abbaye

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

As ever, first experience is parking. Here no problem, the staff do it for you. The hotel is right on the lake with only a minor service road between the terrace and the lake shore. They have their own pontoon so swimming really easy. Water was fabulous.
Food in the restaurant (served outside as was breakfast) was first class. Really helpful waiting staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjc992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for this nice report. We are very happy that we could make your stay very enjoyable.
Perhaps we will have the honour to welcome you back one of these days: we are already looking forward to!
Sunny regards from Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews