We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but seriously overpriced hotel”
Review of Le Cottage Bise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Cottage Bise
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Talloires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This was the second time we stayed in this hotel. Stayed there about 5 years ago, with moderate satisfaction. Due to late planning, we returned since it was about the only place with a vacancy in that area.

The view is still fabulous, but the constant feeling of being ripped-off spoils it all.
The standard rooms are worth 2 or 3 stars maximum. The room was small, and we could hear every breath of the neighbours. The tv was not working. The bathroom was VERY small (only one person at a time can be inside) the shower did not work as it should, the water turns from cold to hot to cold again etc.. Not what one could expect for so-called 4* hotel, and in this price range.

Breakfast is 18€/pp, for that you get a very basic "french type" breakfast. No fresh orange juice, and if you want a boiled egg, you need to pay extra.

The staff is reasonably helpfull and the environment is great.

Room Tip: Take a suite if can you afford the price. Standard rooms are poor value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pejobru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

Last year we had a wonderful time at Le Cottage Bise in late July This year we went 4 weeks earlier, arriving on 4th of July. As we drove into the driveway Jean Claude Bise was there to meet us and welcome us back. No need to register as we had been there before, so he just brought us up to our favourtie room (no 3) and there we found a plate of the most delicious fruit and a box of sweets with a little card welcoming us back.

This hotel is really something very special. Quiet and elegant. At dinner under the twinkling lights, there is a peacefulness about it. The food is extraordinary !...and at €47 for 3 courses, the best value we have ever discovered for food of this quality.

The pool most days was very quiet with people whispering to each other and children being told to stay quiet. This was terrific as we are a couple with grownup children so the last thing we want is noise. To get to the pool you walk thru the gardens where the tables are set up for lunch. So for most of our time there, people would get dressed before they ventured back to their rooms. One large German family at the end of our stay tho allowed their teenage daughter to parade around in a tiny bikini which is not appropriate at all.

Jean Claude and Christine run an impeccable hotel. The beds are turned down every night. Breakfast was delivered on time every morning to our balcony where we ate breakfast. We never venture down to the dining room for breakkfast. Why would we when we can eat on our balcony in peace ?

Wifi is now free and generally a good speed too. Early July is less busy in Talloires so we enjoyed if more. There is a less rushed feel everywhere even in Annecy. you can walk the little streets without being bumped all the time.

We are looking forward to our return next year and we will def go in early July again when there are not many school kids from the UK who sort of ruined the last few days last year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Brilliant Hotel - worth the extra - great staff - so helpful - if you are staying in August, make sure when you book that your room has A/C - not all of them have - we had to change, but the manager quickly sorted this out.

The restaurant, the staff, the location, the facilities were faultless - we will stay again - but longer next time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtga6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

The loctaion and building were superb.
The restaurant was fantastic, innovative and good cooking but expensive.
The rooms however were small and in our view overpriced compared to other hotels stayed in during our tour of France. Although breakfast in the room was available - there was no where we could possibly eat it!
Rooms in the eves are always a litlle difficult if you are over 5ft tall, so ask for a room on the lower floors if you stay here!
The charges for drinks were enormous and made you feel you were being ripped off. Our advise would be to drink elsewhere inthe resort, partiularly if you are a crowd as we were!
The incusion of the resort pass for free was a nice touch and made the overall experience better value.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellenanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My husband and I chose the Cottage for our first short break without our children and loved this lovely little hotel. We had a room in the main building which was modernly furnished, comfortable and spotless and although not huge, the views over the lake were amazing. Our only issue with the room was the lack of a shower curtain, so water went everywhere. Also, when showering at peak times, the water pressure was a little weak.

The food in the hotel at dinner was wonderful. I am a vegetarian and they catered creatively and tastily for me. There is a special vegetarian menu with a choice of options – not so common in France. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful.

The hotel is in a peaceful and stunning village and the terrace restaurant and bar make the most of the waterfront location. The pool was surrounded by shrubs and therefore private, but freezing cold – despite air temperatures of 28 / 29 degrees. We were only there for 2 days and used the pool once, so we didn’t experience the irritations of other reviewers. There were however, quite a few English families at the hotel with lots of young children.

We found the staff helpful, friendly and un-intrusive. Service was not too slow, just typically French and unhurried, but efficient. When is such a lovely setting, enjoying wonderful food, why rush? The hotel is not cheap, which we knew when booking, however the costs of drinks really bumped up our overall bill.

We would definitely stay there again; the ambiance, calm and luxury feel of the hotel certainly made the cost worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familylawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful 8 night stay at Le Cottage Bise. We have been to Lake Annecy many many times but mostly for skiing. So summer was a change for us and turned out to be perfect in lots of ways.

The hotel is perfectly situated on the side of the lake. There are in fact 3 buildings but the best place would be the main hotel to stay in. I spoke to one couple who were given a garden room in the building behind the main one and they didnt like it and they were moved.

Reception and lounge are lovely. Gardens are super..very clean and quiet. The staff are great. The owners are very friendly if you speak French to them. I noted the other reviews saying that they were not friendly. In my experience at this hotel, English people did not speak French and were sometimes rather dismissive of the staff too.

ROOM: We had a lake view room with balcony. Rate was 284 euros inc breakfast. The bathroom was recently renovated and was sparkling !..Bed super comfortable, air con very quiet and we used it all the time..Every morning we would have breakfast onthe balcony of our room rather than go down to eat in the dining room where there were many people. We prefered the peace and quiet of our balcony with that incredible view !
Note tho that the doors are highly sprung and slam if you do not hold the handle with your hands which most people would do once they realise it. But there was an english family in the room beside us with 4 children and every morning, they would slam and slam and slam the door...the kids were allowed to go in and out of the room as many times as they wanted. My husband went out one morning after it had started at 7 am and spoke to the Mother and told her that other guests were trying to sleep. The noise did stop then.

DINING; We had dinner in the hotel 3 nights. We were on B & B whereas most people were on halfboard. The food is exceptional !...Small portions but with the most delightful twists on classic dishes. The food blew us away and we are seasoned travellers.

SERVICE. Faultless...truly 5 stars all the way. David the bar man was so friendly to us and chatted every night with us. He even came over the night before we left to say goodbye to us. Lots and lots of staff. Huge amount of experience too which showed

POOL. This is the only quibble that I had the whole time we were there. For the first 6 days everything was great. People would come and go quietly. There are only 14 lounging beds and there are 31 rooms. There are also chairs and tables near the pool. During the beginning of the week, people with families would come early or late in the day as the beach at Tailloires is more suited to noisy kids !...Adults, mostly french and dutch would lie quietly and at lunch would take up their stuff at go for lunch leaving the beds clear for others to use. Then one day I went down at 10 as usual to have a swim and noticed a German family had taken all 4 beds in one area. They had 2 small children. Before this, adults would not take beds for their kids. Anyway they then left for lunch and were gone for 3.5 hours and no one could use their beds. Other people then did the same. The following morning all beds were gone by lunch time and a french couple arrived. I was the only person present at the pool, everyone else had gone to lunch but there were no beds !..The staff member said he couldnt do anything about it.
I do think for a hotel that costs this much, there should be a better way of managing the pool beds. The other small problem we encountered was an english family would come back to the pool area every day at 4.30 pm and create the most awful atmosphere. Noise Noise Noise. Jumping in the pool, running around shouting. Parents thought it was ok to let them do it. On more than one occasion we got up and left. This ruined the quiet atmosphere of the hotel. I know it was only in the afternoon but I do think that people who pay this much expect peace and quiet. Not noisy children. There were other families staying in the hotel but generally they were french and were much quieter than the British.

JACUZZI; In all the time we were there, we didnt use it due to it always being full of children, jumping in it..this happened every day and some of the children were as young as 3.

We will definitely go back but will do it before the english kids get their school hollidays the next time.

INTERNET; Costs €5 for 3 hours of €10 for 6 hours which is excellent. It runs over 24 hours so you could use if for say 30 mins a day and it would last for days !..Service was really good too, fast wifi

We would recomend this hotel highly for couples. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights. 1 on the way to Italy and 1 on the way back. Lovely location. Stayed in the main building on the way out which was great. On the way back some of us were put in a nearby building that was not part of the Hotel. The room was Ok but not as good as the Hotel itself. The lady that ran the other building explained that The Cottage used her when full, but the owner of the Cottage claimed that the other building was still part of the Hotel. Hey Ho. Food was good if the service being a bit slow, but we were on holiday. There is plenty to do locally during the day and its a beautiful area.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiggswanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talloires
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
#3 of 9 in Talloires
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Du Pere Bise
Auberge Du Pere Bise
#5 of 9 in Talloires
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Site
Hotel Le Beau Site
#4 of 9 in Talloires
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Le Palace de Menthon
Le Palace de Menthon
#1 of 2 in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
672 reviews
5.4 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
1,198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Les Grillons
Hotel Les Grillons
#1 of 9 in Talloires
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cottage Bise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cottage Bise

Address: 390 route du Port, 74290 Talloires, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Talloires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Talloires
Price Range: £117 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cottage Bise 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Cottage Bise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cottage Bise Talloires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing