We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”
Review of Le Cottage Bise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Cottage Bise
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Talloires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I spent several days at Le Cottage in May, as part of a group of approximately 20 people who were in Talloires for a meeting. This was my third visit, and the entire experience was excellent. Particularly impressive was the quality of the food and service, even when serving a large group. M. and Mme. Bize are incredibly hospitable and helpful, and they keep an exacting watch on every aspect of the hotel's operation. This is, in my view, the best place to stay and dine in the lovely village of Talloires, and the cuisine is of Michelin-star quality. Worth every euro!

Room Tip: There are both more modern and more traditional rooms; I prefer the former, which I think have more...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USinBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Le Cottage Bise
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

This really is a great hotel in the best location around lake Annecy. Talloires is a lovely little backwater in an area which has recently become much more developed since I was last there some 10 years before. The grounds of Le Cottage give it a very open feel and it has a unbeatable terrace overlooking the lake where you can take dinner, breakfast or just drinks. Having arrived without any reservation we were greeted in such a friendly way that we knew immediately that this was the right choice for our 1 which quickly turned into a 2 night stay.

We also eat there both nights and in our opinion the quality of the food and the level of service were excellent with very helpful and knowledgeable staff making it a real 'experience' and not just another meal in a restaurant.

We didn't use the spa so can't rate that although there is a nice pool and also a jacuzzi which is a bonus.OK none of this comes cheap but still 100% good value.

Room Tip: Top floor lake view room the best.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayceeGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This review is a little late...but one I must write. Last August ( 2011) my husband and I visited the Lake Annecy region. We had pre-booked our accommodation before we left the UK at another hotel on the other side of the Lake. We were having problems at our hotel, which could not be rectified and it was making us very unhappy. We were so uncomfortable. One day, whilst driving around the lake, we stopped in Talloires for coffee. It is a beautiful village. We had coffee on the patio at Le Cottage Bise. It was tranquil, the service was excellent, the facilities of a high standard and I just wished we were staying there......and by 3pm that afternoon we were! We accepted a ground floor garden view room in one of the cottages. We had our own balcony overlooking the lake and we loved it. The room was perfectly appointed and we spent our remaining 3 nights in total comfort. We did eat in the restaurant on one evening. The meal was exquisite...totally delicious....worth the rather steep cost! It is easy to park at the hotel and I would not hesitate to go back. Staying at this hotel transformed our holiday. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneDi-Pede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The beauty of Lake Annecy is all around Le Cottage. What a wonderful location! This was our second trip there and everything went very smoothly. The staff was helpful and eating dinner on the terrace overlooking the lake was amazing!
We are already thinking of our next trip there!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This was our second stay at Le Cottage in two years. We have been coming to Talloires for over 10 years and until last year had not enjoyed the experience of staying at this gorgeous hotel. Last year we came with our mothers who were in there 80's and the owners could not have been more accommodating. This year we came with another couple who fell in love with Le Cottage and already are talking about returning...

The food is 1st rate, and the service and restaurant is wonderful without being pretentious.

To sum up: fabulous location on shores of Lake Annecy situated in lovely village of Talloires, welcoming and attentive staff, nice accomodation, all amenities including pool were 1st rate.


  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kjr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Unfortunately, we started badly with a mess up on the booking. I had requested (at every stage in several emails over several months) a king sized bed and lake view. We arrived early evening, the hotel was full and we were shown to our room with balcony and partial lake view but standard (about 5') bed. We immediately said that this was not what we had booked, Madame went away, checked the booking and came back, apologising unreservedly and taking full responsibility for the error and offered us the room free of charge. Although they had made a mistake we felt this was a text book demonstration of how such matters should be dealt with and it was quite disarming and generous. Nevertheless, we did spend an uncomfortable night, I have arthritis in my shoulders so sleeping in a smaller bed than we are used to is never good for that and I woke up very stiff. Another negative (and this is one of my pet bugs in hotels) was French windows onto the balcony but no way to let any air in without risking security and getting bitten sleeping with the windows open. It was warm so we did the latter but it was still stuffy (no air conditioning). The service at dinner was appalling, we were sat in what we called 'English corner' with several other English couples. An elderly French couple came in after us and were on pudding whilst we were still waiting for our main courses, they also seemed to be given a different menu. There were obviously people staying there for longer who had their bottles of wine on their tables from the night before and some loud and demanding Americans in pole position by the central window and a small wedding going on in a separate room but attended by the same staff, I think perhaps, as one-nighters and English we came bottom of the heap! Room numbers were on tables and we wondered if we were also relegated due to the room c*** up - a real double whammy! That's all the negatives out of the way, the food when it came was first class, really good. The ambience was lovely, most of the staff friendly and the location breath-taking. The dining room is a large open space and the terrace which goes right down to the lake and jetty and is divided into several areas, one with pool, is delightful. The food at breakfast was again really excellent, lots of home made or local bakery items, tables groaning with goodies, including superb local cheeses. The area is beautiful, truly special and the hotel occupies an enviable position. We would go back on the strength of the location, the food and the way the manager dealt with the error, hoping to be able to escape the issues we encountered this time.

Room Tip: Check booking details the day before.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 5492Cardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Having stayed in the centre of Annecy on many occasions, we decided this time to try a hotel out of town, next to the beautiful lake. It was only for a 1 night stop over on our way home from Italy. The location was perfect. However thats about the only good thing about the hotel. It certainly does not warrant a 4 star status. It is very very tired and in desparate need of redecoration. The bathroom although perfectly clean, had a tiled floor, many of which were cracked - not very hygenic, and the shower screen was only about 12" wide which meant the bathroom floor was flooded each time you used the shower. The decor in the bedroom would have been lovely in its day, but its had its day ! Cigarette burns in the carpets and upholstery, buttons missing from chairs, old springy beds, and a musty smell. Our friends room which was more expensive and had a lake view, was in slightly better shape, but overall the value for money was not good. We ate in the restaurant and were pleasently surprised by the quality of the food. It was however very expensive. After we left the hotel, we checked our bill, and noticed that the wine we had ordered had in fact been charged at 20 euro's more than it stated on the wine list, but we didn't bother to complain as we'd already left the hotel.

The staff were friendly enough, but not very efficient.

Room Tip: If you choose a lake view the rooms are slightly better quality, but at a higher price.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackmurphy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talloires
0.1 mi away
Auberge Du Pere Bise
Auberge Du Pere Bise
#5 of 9 in Talloires
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
#4 of 9 in Talloires
438 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Palace de Menthon
Le Palace de Menthon
#1 of 2 in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Site
Hotel Le Beau Site
#3 of 9 in Talloires
223 reviews
5.4 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#6 of 9 in Talloires
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cottage Bise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cottage Bise

Address: 390 route du Port, 74290 Talloires, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Talloires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Talloires
Price Range: £152 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cottage Bise 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Cottage Bise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cottage Bise Talloires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing