We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would go back tomorrow!!”
Review of Le Cottage Bise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Cottage Bise
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Talloires
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We would go back tomorrow!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My husband and I chose the Cottage for our first short break without our children and loved this lovely little hotel. We had a room in the main building which was modernly furnished, comfortable and spotless and although not huge, the views over the lake were amazing. Our only issue with the room was the lack of a shower curtain, so water went everywhere. Also, when showering at peak times, the water pressure was a little weak.

The food in the hotel at dinner was wonderful. I am a vegetarian and they catered creatively and tastily for me. There is a special vegetarian menu with a choice of options – not so common in France. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful.

The hotel is in a peaceful and stunning village and the terrace restaurant and bar make the most of the waterfront location. The pool was surrounded by shrubs and therefore private, but freezing cold – despite air temperatures of 28 / 29 degrees. We were only there for 2 days and used the pool once, so we didn’t experience the irritations of other reviewers. There were however, quite a few English families at the hotel with lots of young children.

We found the staff helpful, friendly and un-intrusive. Service was not too slow, just typically French and unhurried, but efficient. When is such a lovely setting, enjoying wonderful food, why rush? The hotel is not cheap, which we knew when booking, however the costs of drinks really bumped up our overall bill.

We would definitely stay there again; the ambiance, calm and luxury feel of the hotel certainly made the cost worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familylawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    61
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
46
159
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful 8 night stay at Le Cottage Bise. We have been to Lake Annecy many many times but mostly for skiing. So summer was a change for us and turned out to be perfect in lots of ways.

The hotel is perfectly situated on the side of the lake. There are in fact 3 buildings but the best place would be the main hotel to stay in. I spoke to one couple who were given a garden room in the building behind the main one and they didnt like it and they were moved.

Reception and lounge are lovely. Gardens are super..very clean and quiet. The staff are great. The owners are very friendly if you speak French to them. I noted the other reviews saying that they were not friendly. In my experience at this hotel, English people did not speak French and were sometimes rather dismissive of the staff too.

ROOM: We had a lake view room with balcony. Rate was 284 euros inc breakfast. The bathroom was recently renovated and was sparkling !..Bed super comfortable, air con very quiet and we used it all the time..Every morning we would have breakfast onthe balcony of our room rather than go down to eat in the dining room where there were many people. We prefered the peace and quiet of our balcony with that incredible view !
Note tho that the doors are highly sprung and slam if you do not hold the handle with your hands which most people would do once they realise it. But there was an english family in the room beside us with 4 children and every morning, they would slam and slam and slam the door...the kids were allowed to go in and out of the room as many times as they wanted. My husband went out one morning after it had started at 7 am and spoke to the Mother and told her that other guests were trying to sleep. The noise did stop then.

DINING; We had dinner in the hotel 3 nights. We were on B & B whereas most people were on halfboard. The food is exceptional !...Small portions but with the most delightful twists on classic dishes. The food blew us away and we are seasoned travellers.

SERVICE. Faultless...truly 5 stars all the way. David the bar man was so friendly to us and chatted every night with us. He even came over the night before we left to say goodbye to us. Lots and lots of staff. Huge amount of experience too which showed

POOL. This is the only quibble that I had the whole time we were there. For the first 6 days everything was great. People would come and go quietly. There are only 14 lounging beds and there are 31 rooms. There are also chairs and tables near the pool. During the beginning of the week, people with families would come early or late in the day as the beach at Tailloires is more suited to noisy kids !...Adults, mostly french and dutch would lie quietly and at lunch would take up their stuff at go for lunch leaving the beds clear for others to use. Then one day I went down at 10 as usual to have a swim and noticed a German family had taken all 4 beds in one area. They had 2 small children. Before this, adults would not take beds for their kids. Anyway they then left for lunch and were gone for 3.5 hours and no one could use their beds. Other people then did the same. The following morning all beds were gone by lunch time and a french couple arrived. I was the only person present at the pool, everyone else had gone to lunch but there were no beds !..The staff member said he couldnt do anything about it.
I do think for a hotel that costs this much, there should be a better way of managing the pool beds. The other small problem we encountered was an english family would come back to the pool area every day at 4.30 pm and create the most awful atmosphere. Noise Noise Noise. Jumping in the pool, running around shouting. Parents thought it was ok to let them do it. On more than one occasion we got up and left. This ruined the quiet atmosphere of the hotel. I know it was only in the afternoon but I do think that people who pay this much expect peace and quiet. Not noisy children. There were other families staying in the hotel but generally they were french and were much quieter than the British.

JACUZZI; In all the time we were there, we didnt use it due to it always being full of children, jumping in it..this happened every day and some of the children were as young as 3.

We will definitely go back but will do it before the english kids get their school hollidays the next time.

INTERNET; Costs €5 for 3 hours of €10 for 6 hours which is excellent. It runs over 24 hours so you could use if for say 30 mins a day and it would last for days !..Service was really good too, fast wifi

We would recomend this hotel highly for couples. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights. 1 on the way to Italy and 1 on the way back. Lovely location. Stayed in the main building on the way out which was great. On the way back some of us were put in a nearby building that was not part of the Hotel. The room was Ok but not as good as the Hotel itself. The lady that ran the other building explained that The Cottage used her when full, but the owner of the Cottage claimed that the other building was still part of the Hotel. Hey Ho. Food was good if the service being a bit slow, but we were on holiday. There is plenty to do locally during the day and its a beautiful area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiggswanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

A beautiful hotel on the Lake with perfect view of lake and mountains. Our junior suite was excellent with a very comfortable bed and big bathroom with bath and shower (wet room type). Free mineral water all the time. And a balony to dream of. The swimming pool was lovely and there were loungers and umbrellas. . The evening meal was expensive and took ages. No idea what we eat but it was nicely cooked. We found the management although always there seemed disinterested in us. There are plenty of restaurants in Talloires but no chemist.. But all in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katekkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

As other reviewers have already highlighted, this is a good hotel in a very quiet and beautiful location. There are a few places to stay around Lake Annecy and Talloires is a complete contrast to Annecy itself which is the main attraction for most. Where Annecy is a city that has numerous hotels, restaurants, bars and shops for all the thousands of tourists, Talloires is a quiet village that has a handful of shops, three cafes and maybe a dozen hotels of various sizes and quality. The only restaurants are those in the hotels themselves though many of them serve excellent food.

Cottage Bise is one of three quality hotels that have prime lakeside positions and is less formal than the other two. One thing we felt was lacking was any form of information about the hotel in the bedroom which meant we were continually asking Reception for details like meal times, check-out time and other services. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent and we also enjoyed a lunch of local lake fish on the terrace overlooking the lake. Unlike the nearby hotels it does have small swimming pool. Like it’s nearby competitors though it is expensive but quality never comes cheap !

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinner Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

This nice hotel on Lake Annecy was better than I expected. Our room was nothing special, although the bathroom was very modern and big. The views are all spectacular. The lake is surrounded by mountains, and the boat trip around the lake was worth the time. The restaurant was the biggest surprise. The food was well prepared, well presented, and delicious. The owners were gracious hosts, helpful and responsive. There are many activities as this is a resort. I imagine it is quite busy in the summer. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheCanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

The hotel is situated in a beautiful location on the lake, and it's well worth getting a room with a view (even if you do have to go out on the balcony to see the water).

The area is perfect for a romantic getaway (although driving on the local alpine roads did take the edge of that somewhat...), but what I really liked was the 'leisure card' that was included with the room. This meant I tried lots of things I wouldn't normally, free of charge (kayaking, rowing, etc.). There are also other more adventurous activities available, mainly involving heights, that weren't for me.

You can also take a boat trip and visit Annecy itself, which is a beautiful quaint town. Nearby is a lovely chateau that's worth visiting, but time it in order to take advantage of the (very good) tour / English speaking guide.

The food in the restaurant is good, but sadly the restaurant service is very hit and miss. Given the restaurant prices, this wasn't something I could overlook.

One of the advantages or disadvantages of this area (according to your wallet) is that there the few restaurants are of a very high standard - in fact, the sister hotel of this place has a very famous restaurant (out of our price range). We did however enjoy a wonderful meal at the Abbaye next door - highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling-Female
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talloires
0.1 mi away
Auberge Du Pere Bise
Auberge Du Pere Bise
#5 of 9 in Talloires
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
#4 of 9 in Talloires
404 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Palace de Menthon
Le Palace de Menthon
#1 of 2 in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
1,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Site
Hotel Le Beau Site
#3 of 9 in Talloires
181 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Les Grillons
Hotel Les Grillons
#1 of 9 in Talloires
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cottage Bise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cottage Bise

Property: Le Cottage Bise
Address: 390 route du Port, 74290 Talloires, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Talloires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Talloires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cottage Bise 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Cottage Bise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cottage Bise Talloires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing