We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Pleasure”
Review of L'abri-cotier

L'abri-cotier
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Talloires
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Total Pleasure”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We are about to leave Geneva after 25 years in this wonderful region and wanted a final taste of Annecy. This restaurant was recommended to us by the man who did the estimate for our removal and we were curious rather than confident. We had a little difficulty finding it as we were looking for a place in Talloires and it is actually in the next village along, Angon (which they could usefully record on the card along with a mini-map showing the sudden sharp turn needed to get there) but once we arrived everything was perfect, enhanced by an oasis of wonderful weather in an unusually erratic summer. For once the a la carte was as reasonably priced as the menus so dispensed with a starter (though they bought us some particularly fine olives) and got straight down to water (reasonably priced by local restaurant standards), a half bottle of Apremont Boniface which turned out to be far better than its 16€ promised - delightfully crisp and fresh with lemony and grapefruity notes. For the main course we both opted for Fera, a wonderful fish only available on Lakes Annecy, Geneva and one other whose name escapes me. A generous helping superbly cooked and accompanied by juslt the right mix of vegetables and the light, fresh bread in which France surpasses all other nations. We could not resist a pleasantly priced cheese plate which we shared and found ample for both of us , leaving just enough room for the desserts. My wife chose the fraises/basilic and found it utterly delightful while I was equally content with a fruit crumble which banished any memories of the stodgy concoctions sometimes offered under this heading. Even the coffees did not disappoint, though generally French coffee is inferior to its Swiss cousin. And when the bill came we found them "offert". Stunning setting almost in the lake! Charming, but not phoney or sycophantic, service. Could anything be improved? Well, the toilets just need a little Swiss attention, but perhaps they are as they are to celebrate French culture but they were not bad enough to deter anyone, though wheelchair users would need to check the place out in advance for this reason. One of many reasons to re-visit Annecy when we no longer live on its doorstep.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Melvyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    44
    12
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Memorable Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We book this restaurant for my Mum's 80th Birthday, and I was concerned after reading some of the previous reviews. We parked outside and wondered if the place might be a bit rundown. Once we walked around the corner to the entrance of the restaurant and the lake front, we were delighted, even in the rain. The interior is all painted creamy white in a shabby chic way - more chic than shabby but very relaxed and romantic.

Our french is not great and the menu was carefully explained to us. The meal was fabulous and well presented. My husband and I had the crusted rack of lamb which was the best. My Mum had fish (from Lake Geneva) and loved it. I had the cafe maison for dessert (a little bit of everything, with coffee) which was the icing on the cake.

We picked from the a la carte menu and with a decent bottle of wine, the menu came to around £100 for the 3 of us. A lovely memorable meal and we hope to return on our next visit to the area I should add that we did want to eat in Talloires but thought we had hit the jackpot after driving an extra mile or 2 down the road.

This would be a lovely venue for a wedding reception.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackieyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place good food”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The location is stunning and the food is really nice. I recommend it for a romantic dinner as there are not so many places like that around Annecy lake.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jean d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect on a sunny day”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Sunday lunch on the Terrace, seated next to the lake. The sun shone. Spectacular views. Excellent food. Friendly service. A perfect 3 hours. Life is good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ck991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmé, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magical location”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We have just celebrated our Son's wedding at this venue and it is probably the best wedding we have attended(we would say that but it's true). If there is a more beautiful setting for an occasion like this I have yet to see it.

From the preparations during the week leading up to the event, to the event itself and after party, it was a magical time. The Staff were particularly worthy of praise. They dressed the restaurant beautifully for the reception and couldn't have been more helpful. They were brilliant, The guys 'n gals who served drinks, food, canapes etc throughout worked so hard. The quality of the food was terrific also.

Thank you folks for your help in making the day so special

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKaysCharm_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'abri-cotier also viewed

Talloires, Haute-Savoie
Talloires, Haute-Savoie
 
Talloires, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to L'abri-cotier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing