We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent position but”
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Talloires
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Spacious tastefully furnished hotel in a lovely lake side position
Satisfactory breakfast but very limited dinner menu(only two choices) with small portions, expensive and not particularly appetising. We found it necessary to purchase food outside the hotel.

Room Tip: if paying extra for a lake view room, make sure its on at least the 2nd floor or your view will be o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WilcockBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in a 4th floor room with a balcony and a good view of the lake. The hotel itself is a bit dated, but has clearly been renovated and redecorated quite recently. The rooms are of a good size, well furnished and plenty of storage space. Separate bathroom (with bath) and toilet. The bed was large and comfortable. Decoration good. Small balcony, but large enough for a table and three chairs and with good views across the lake. No tea or coffee making facilities in room. Slimline TV in room.
The Hotel lift is a bit small and could really only take 2 people - however have to say that this was not a problem during our stay.
Staff were pleasant and helpful and all spoke English.
Hotel not actually on lake, but within appx 100mtrs. of nice grassed area next to Lake where you can swim - suprisingly warm ! There is also a nice pool at the Hotel.
Plenty of car parking available at the Hotel during our stay.
We ate in the restaurant for 2 evening meals and were quite impressed with the quality and service.
Talloires is probably one of the nicest places to stay around the Lake and the small town is off the main lakeside road and thus quite quiet.
We paid 130 Euros per night which would appear a bit expensive, but this is a premium price area and seemed to be in line with prices at other hotels in the area.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Niel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Talloires is incredibly beautiful but very expensive so although E150 for a basic room seems expensive, you have to put this in context of the exhorbitant prices being charged by LAuberge du Pere Bise, L'Abbaye etc..
The welcome was fine, the staff are very friendly and helpful.
We had a twin with a balcony and a view of the lake and were able to have breakfast on the balcony which was great. The room had been refurbished not too long ago, but the decor was not very inspiring. The bathroom had the cheapest looking tiles, baths, sinks and showers I have ever seen (except in hospitals), there was no shower screen or curtain so masses of room for improvement there. Plenty of cupboard space and the room was blissfully quiet at night.
We had lunch at the hotel. The setting is nice with a shady courtyard by the pool, the food was however quite disappointing: it was my mother's birthday and I had not realised or rather not been told that there was only a fixed menu and no a la carte offerings. I guess this is because most of the guests take on the demi pension option but it would have been nice to have known so we could have gone somewhere else. At 29E it wasnt exhorbitant but not cheap given the simplicity of the offering. The food was OK, wine not cheap but good, and the waitress delightful.
Anone thinking of going to Talloires: you need a car. There are only infrequent buses and boats into Annecy, the countryside is stunning, there are plenty of restaurants around the lake.
So overall not a bad option but wouldnt go out of my way to stay or eat there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and a view of the lake which has been recently refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneDAntigny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We had an enjoyable three days stay at this hotel. The hotel is in a great location with superb views of the lake and close to the beach at Talloires. The beach at Talloires is excellent, with a toddlers' swimming pool and a fenced off larger pool for kids in the lake itself. The adults' bathing area is excellent and you can swim out to and dive from a raft moored a little way from the shore. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful - they were happy to provide access to their garage for bike storage. There is very good on-site parking. For road cyclists, the hotel is ideally positioned for training rides up the the Col de Forclaz, from which there are breathtaking views of the lake. Breakfast is good and restaurant is fine. The pool is OK, but the nearby beach is much better. Beach access is free to hotel residents staying four days or more, but only costs around 2 Euros per day in any case (and you can come and go as you please without having to pay for re-entry). All in all, a very good hotel in a great location and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Errigalclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

A very bad experience - Absolutely NO GO recommendation for two reasons:
1) Compliance to food handling standards
2) Terrible customer service – the owner is not a nice man
We stayed at Hotel le lac in July 2011 with my wife and 3-year old son. The first night we ate at the hotel. The chef served my 3-year old son so called “homemade chicken nuggets”. The outside looked cooked but they were raw inside. It was only after my son ate a large piece that I realized that the meat was raw.
I called the waiter who had no idea at all of the severity of the situation. The waiter offered to serve something else to my son. I explained to him that raw chicken was very dangerous due to potential harmful bacteria; the waiter ignored my comment and continued to serve other tables.
I then went to the hotel reception where the owner screamed at me saying that it was ridiculous that I was complaining about raw chicken since his product was of very god quality. The owner and his staff demonstrated no knowledge what so ever of the dangers associated with eating raw chicken and the harmful bacteria that may be contained in it, regardless of the quality of the raw product.
The owner finally agreed to call a doctor who confirmed that the chicken was not cooked and that certain risks were present. He requested the hotel to keep the piece of chicken in a freezer so that a bacteria search could be made in case my son would get sick over the next 3 days.
Luckily, as of today my son has not been sick. We stayed 4 nights at hotel le lac and at no time did the hotel owner or any member of his staff, asked about the health of my son or gave any apology.
The knowledge of food handling of this hotel is very poor but moreover their customer handling and respect of people is not acceptable. The owner is not a nice man. I could not believe that I was being screamed at by the owner of the hotel who served my son raw chicken. The only reason we stayed was because the other hotels were booked out.
A strong no go.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank renaudbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We stayed again and it was just as nice as last time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

hotel was lovely for a 3* Clean.friendly Staff. we stayed in a refurbished room and was extremley clean and spacious. breakfast was good..typical continental.
resort was lovely. few bars and shops..quite expensive tho. other hotels were lovely with good restaurants attatched. restaurant here at the le lac was very good too.within easy reach of the lake and was easy to get to other places too with good road signs. various watersports available or paraglyding of the mountains, would defo return to this hotel.....

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mia004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talloires
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Site
Hotel Le Beau Site
#3 of 9 in Talloires
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
#4 of 9 in Talloires
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Du Pere Bise
Auberge Du Pere Bise
#5 of 9 in Talloires
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Le Palace de Menthon
Le Palace de Menthon
#1 of 2 in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Logis La Charpenterie
Logis La Charpenterie
#8 of 9 in Talloires
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cottage Bise
Le Cottage Bise
#2 of 9 in Talloires
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Address: 40 rue Andre Theuriet, 74290 Talloires, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Talloires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Talloires
Price Range: £108 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing