We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakeside bliss in a wildflower garden”
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Talloires
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lakeside bliss in a wildflower garden”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Talliores on Lake Annecy is a well kept secret and the Hotel Le Lac is a great place to stay in a beautiful setting. Right in the centre of this small village with views of the lake and the mountains it is good value, the rooms are comfortable and the staff are helpful. We stayed at Le Lac in June for 6 days and had a mountain view which was lovely - we didn't spend much time in our room otherwise we might have chosen a fantastic lake view. There was no dinner served at the hotel at that time but there are several nearby restaurants to choose from which were all good. The breakfast room has a beautifully decorated ceiling and the breakfasts included a good selection of fruit, cheese, meats as well as the usual bread and cereals - only problem was the bread which was a bit of a challenge to the teeth! The transport system is a bit limited, only a few buses and boats a day and no fast boats, only scenic ones, but the setting makes up for that and nearby Annecy seems so busy compared with Talliores. A car is useful for at least a few days as there is plenty to see - the mountain villages are especially interesting with fabulous views. My lasting memory of Le Lac is relaxing by the swimming pool at the end of the day after a day's sightseeing, absolute bliss.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    64
    35
    22
    5
See reviews for
41
84
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The two bedrooms we had were lovely and clean, as were the bathrooms, and quiet. One had a view of the hills behind the hotel and the other had a balcony and spectacular views of the hills and the lake. There is plenty of space to sit outside, either by the pool, or under the trees. There is plenty of space to park (free). Breakfasts are help yourself and are plentiful with lots of choice. The staff are unobtrusive but helpful. You can buy a freedom of Talloires card from the hotel for a few euros which entitles you to free tennis, bike hire, entry to the local beach, entry to the chateau de Monthon and a number of other sporting activities. There is a ping pong table outside and the lake is a couple of minutes walk away.There is no longer a restaurant at the hotel but as it is in the middle of the village there are lots of places to eat (at each end of the budget spectrum) within easy walking distance (which is presumably why they decided not to compete). I think the hotel is a great choice provided you go don't want lots of bells and whistles and luxury and you ignore the initial impression of staying in a student hall of residence. The hotel has had quite alot of lukewarm reviews by people who expect it to be like some of the more luxurious hotels in Talloires - if that is what you want, go there and leave Le Lac to us!

Room Tip: The room (338?) on the left hand side of the hotel (viewed from the front) on the third floor with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane3118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. I had a double room with a view of the alps to the rear of the hotel. I was not thrilled with this room. This place really needs remodeled, the furniture was cheap and the wall paper/decorations weren't looking so good. Worst, the main room light was a bare fluorescent tube light over the window that made the place look and feel like a hot sheet hotel. Breakfast (5euro) was OK but not fantastic. Hotel staff was sufficiently helpful. Overall I felt that this place was a poor value (160 euro/night) but I'm not sure you are going to find anything cheaper in over priced Talloires. A room with a balcony may be better but I hate to think what the rate will be. Talloires is a stunning location but be ready to pay top dollar for food/lodging with very limited choices. The area is really setup for people to drive in, public transportation is present but limited.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bionano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed at the Hotel le Lac for 4 nights to explore the lake Anneccy area. The hotel is nicely positioned for everything. It has a lovely pool (very cold) and plenty of sun loungers. I was dissapointed with our room as l had paid for a lake view but l could just about see the lake through the trees ( a mere glimpse). The room was very dated and the bed was very uncomfortable (very thin matress with no support) and the pillow was awful, foam filled and very thin. Also the shower had no screen or curtain, hence the bathroom got flooded everytime we took a shower. Breakfast was a fairly good buffet and it could be taken in the attractive garden. We enjoyed our trip but l did notsleep well due to the bed, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Hotel Le Lac is tired and smells musty! We booked three nights in June 2012 but when we arrived, we noticed certain shabbiness about the exterior – all shutters closed and it wasn’t a hot day! First impressions and all that! When we entered the reception we noticed a strange musty smell which may have been the drains, dampness or just a lack of cleanliness. It was very unpleasant!
The route to the room through dark corridors was like walking through an unwelcoming space – maybe like a lunatic asylum or care home for older people that is not run professionally. Anyway, it was horrible! The room had a good balcony view but the furnishings, bathroom; bed etc. all needed urgent replacement. The carpet was like a rough rope type material that would have been very uncomfortable in your bare feet.
We complained to reception and said we could not stay in such conditions, particularly the seeming lack of cleanliness indicated by the musty smell. Also, the restaurant was closed which was not obvious from the hotel’s website.
We had stayed at Le Lac in 1994 and it was a good hotel with an excellent restaurant – now it was tired, shabby, uncomfortable and unwelcoming! I don’t think the hotel has been refurbished in all the time since we first stayed there as colour schemes were the same, except now much faded and deteriorated plus those horrible bedroom carpets!
Despite our complaints the hotel refused to refund our one night’s deposit (Euros 124) which did not go down well but we certainly could not stay in such an environment so we left.
Our advice is “Don’t even consider staying at Le Lac and certainly don’t leave a deposit until you’ve seen the place!”

Room Tip: Try Hotel Les Grillons at Angon, just down the road - very clean, completely refurbished and an exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swindphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Talloires hotels

Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed here for two nights on my travels around France. As a lone female I felt incredibly safe and welcome.

The hotel was much nicer than I had anticipated and very close to the beautiful lake. Annecy is just a bus ride, or boat trip on the boat-bus) although both are infrequent and finish relatively early.

The room was small but fine for one person with a very comfortable double bed and lots of storage. The bathroom was clean and had a great shower. The staff were very polite and helpful. I didn't eat at the hotel, choosing to try a lakeside restaurant which was fantastic, and recommended by the hotel and otherwise I bought from the supermarket less than 5 mins away. All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Spacious tastefully furnished hotel in a lovely lake side position
Satisfactory breakfast but very limited dinner menu(only two choices) with small portions, expensive and not particularly appetising. We found it necessary to purchase food outside the hotel.

Room Tip: if paying extra for a lake view room, make sure its on at least the 2nd floor or your view will be o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WilcockBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talloires
0.2 mi away
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
#4 of 9 in Talloires
419 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Site
Hotel Le Beau Site
#3 of 9 in Talloires
205 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Palace de Menthon
Le Palace de Menthon
#1 of 2 in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Logis La Charpenterie
Logis La Charpenterie
#6 of 9 in Talloires
92 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Golf et Montagne
Hotel Golf et Montagne
#8 of 9 in Talloires
72 reviews
5.6 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Property: Hotel du Lac
Address: 40 rue Andre Theuriet, 74290 Talloires, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Talloires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Talloires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing