We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, decent price, clean hotel”
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Talloires
Reviewed 25 July 2009

A lovely experience with a toddler in tow. She had her own little room that kept her quite comfortable. Be aware the bells in the church tower alert for every hour and have an entire musical at 7AM and PM. A comfortable room with WiFi in the lobby. Pool was not heated, but, very clean. The nearby park and lake were minutes walk away and reasonably priced. The staff recommended a parasailing company nearby that proved to be the highlight of the trip. A great location!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRockOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2008

A little nervous after reading some other reviews, what we found was what we should have expected - a traditional family owned French hotel.

Yes, some aspects of decor etc are a little "tired", but staff were good, the restaurant decent, with a pleasent pool and garden. The property position is good rather than great, about 2 plots back from the lake side, but with good views. Well sized rooms, ours were slightly old-fashioned but clean and perfectly functional. It turns out that some rooms are refurbished (not ours) - if you can, insist on one of these and a lake view which will definitely add to your enjoyment but probably also to cost. We paid around GB£100 per room per night includig breakfast - about right for what we got.

We enjoyed our stay well enough, probably won't rush back but would certanly suggest this hotel is worth a look unless you really only want the modern touch.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigmalLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

Stayed in the hotel le lac as part of our honeymoon, and was very pleased that we chose this hotel.
The hotel is has a great location, although not on the lake front like the posher hotels, it was a pleasant minute walk to the waterfront, and our room had a great lake view, which you do have to pay extra for.
The staff were extremely helpful, the hotel was very clean and very pretty, i think a lot of work went into keeping the communal areas pristine.
Our room was large and also very clean but my only gripe was that it was not as pristine as the communal areas, the doors, shutters and skirting boards in the room looked like they needed sanding and painting, I am maybe being a bit critical as somehow they added to the classic French effect of the room.
The Talloire card, is a godsend, that this and some of the other hotels supply in the village, i think the card alone justifies the premium for staying in talloire, and we made great use of it.
Overall i would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank poppetpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2008

The hotel was run down when we visited in August 2006. The rooms were in need of decoration and lacked air conditioning. The hotel workers could be heard making a great amount of noise from our hotel room, late in to the night. this may have explained the poor level of cleaning that was found in the rooms. Luckily I did not have to eat meals in the restaurant as the menu looked over priced for what food was offered, although could not comment on the quality.

Although, the area was lovely. the lake was great for relaxing around, and could hire a rowing boat on the lake. there was a number of very nice looking hotels in the area, so might be worth spending the extra money.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank charlotteWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2007

We have just returned from Talloires and found the Le Lac a pleasant place to stay. For a 3* in this area of France the rates were reasonable. True the rooms were a little dated, however, the beds were very comfortable, the rooms were very clean, and the bathroom, with separate wc, spacious and again very clean. The menu was limited to 2 choices per course, but there were 4 courses and everything was nicely cooked and presented and there was a good buffet breakfast. Whilst we were there the gravel was kept raked clear of leaves and the pool was cleaned.
Staff were always pleasant and curteous and did everything to make our holiday enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorky05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2007

Stayed at this hotel at the end of August. Our room wa pleasant enough but it looked a bit shabby. the bathroom definitely needed refurbishment and we had problems with the lights which kept flickering. The public rooms at the hotel also looked dated and a bit tatty. Also the swimming pool and garden which could have done with some attention (removing dead leaves, clearing the grass growing around the outside of the pool etc.)The meal in the restaurant in the evening was poor - but expensive! Worst of all was a very loud party of young people who partied in the room next to ours until 2 am! The hotel reception was not prepared to do anything about this, or to move us to a quieter room so we checked out after one night. We moved the Le Cottage which was fabulous! I would not recommend this hotel!

JT

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JT27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2006

Like the previous reviewer, I agree that Talloires is a beautiful location for a holiday. Magnicifent scenery on the shores of Lake Annecy. Having just spent some time in the Hilton in Geneva, Hotel Le Lac was a sharp contrast in terms of the quality of the room and the service: and not much cheaper than the the former. I was disappointed that there was no a la carte menu, only a variable fixed price menu, which meant we had to go out every evening for a meal. Overall, the hotel was comfortable, if jaded in places. The (unsupervised) pool was lovely. Hotels in Talloires are generally overpriced and this was among the cheapest; but value for money? The poor menu, rooms in need of redecoration and the lack of air conditioning in 40degC + would make me reluctant to return to this otherwise attractively located hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JMScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talloires
0 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Site
Hotel Le Beau Site
#4 of 9 in Talloires
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cottage Bise
Le Cottage Bise
#2 of 9 in Talloires
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Du Pere Bise
Auberge Du Pere Bise
#5 of 9 in Talloires
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
#3 of 9 in Talloires
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Logis La Charpenterie
Logis La Charpenterie
#8 of 9 in Talloires
97 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Palace de Menthon
Le Palace de Menthon
#1 of 2 in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Address: 40 rue Andre Theuriet, 74290 Talloires, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Talloires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Talloires
Price Range: £106 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing