We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Friendliest Hotel I have ever stayed in !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Les Grillons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Les Grillons
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Talloires
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Friendliest Hotel I have ever stayed in !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband and I have just returned returned from spending 7 nights at this wonderful hotel. Superb location, the most friendly and helpful staff I have ever come across and our room was really big and comfortable with wonderful views of the lake, mountains, and the swimming pool. I just cannot praise this hotel enough for the care and service given to everyone. I don't think the young manager Aurelie ever stopped smiling and she was busy all day giving advice, helping to serve meals, clear tables or serving in the bar - she was just everywhere that help was needed. Every evening meal was a delight and beautifully presented and although it was a set menu it was displayed in advance and one could always ask for something different and it was never a problem. On one occasion on seeking advise about local wines for dinner, the waiter even said that if we did not like the wine that he had recommended then he would change it for another. Well, you can't beat that !! There was always a wonderful choice of fruit, cold meats, cheeses, croissants, pain au chocolat, eggs, bread and jams etc for breakfast. There is plenty of seating in the lovely grounds to the front of the hotel and around the pool area and a delightful courtyard where one can have lunch or pre-dinner drinks and - if it is a particularly warm evening one can enjoy finishing off their meal by taking their desserts out there as we did on a few occasions - just glorious !! My only slight criticism is that there is not the availability of making hot drinks in the rooms as it would have been nice to have been able to make an early morning cup of tea or a late night hot chocolate. Lots of beautiful places to visit in the surrounding area and the drive through the mountains to Chamonix is an absolute must. We were sad to leave this fabulous area and the pure mountain air. If only we could have bottled it and brought it home with us. This hotel deserves more than 3 stars for the quality of food and service alone. C'est Magnifique !!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor with a balcony and facing the lake. It was very spacious and as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeganKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    54
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
97
216
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Myself, my wife and 6 month old son spent the week here on holiday. Aurélie and her team couldn't have been more helpful, friendly and generally wonderful at looking after us and making us feel welcome and relaxed. The hotel itself is in a lovely location near the charming village of Talloires and a great base for either exploring Annecy and the Alps or just relaxing in the pool and jacuzzi.

The real surprise was the standard of the food. Sebastian is a fantastic chef and every evening was a real treat with a four course meal of the highest quality.

We have had a great time and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bother7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Without question the best value for money I have ever experienced in all my European travels, primarily the result of the helpful and friendly multilingual staff, the excellent dining room and the superb young manager who seems to be everywhere all day long ensuring that her guests are being well taken care of. The location is perfect for a relaxing few days. A fifteen minute walk along the beautiful Lake Annecy shore to the pleasant little village of Talloires and a fifteen minute drive to the picturesque town of Annecy. You can even catch the lake ferry at Talloires , spend a few hours in Annecy, then catch the ferry back around the lake later in the day in time for a glass of wine or two before dinner.

And dinner is not to be missed; nor is breakfast for that matter, which goes well beyond the traditional French baguette or croissant. We ate dinner in the hotel each of the three evenings we were at Les Grillons. There is always a choice of several creative and excellent starters, cheeses and deserts. A single main course selection is offered each night, but, if it isn’t something you like, let them know and they will make you something you will like!! The first evening we had veal, beef on the second and lake perch the third; each beautifully presented and of excellent quality and flavor. Check the website for the menu and prepare to be pleasantly surprised; you could easily pay double at a hotel with one more star. Les Grillons has a large comfortable lounge and bar and a nice selection of local wines at reasonable prices.

In a couple of ways, Les Grillon is a work in process and management is clearly upgrading the facilities as time and funds permit. There is a beautiful swimming pool with excellent new furniture both there and in the gardens. Our large room with a balcony overlooked the lake and pool and had a superb view of the mountains. Furnishings were mixed. We had a very comfortable king-sized bed and modern flat screen TV, plenty of closet and storage space, but only a couple of wooden chairs. Also, the bathroom and separate toilet were rather cramped.

But to be honest, we loved our stay at Les Grillons; relaxing, comfortable, on beautiful Lake Annecy, surrounded by mountains, convenient to Annecy, Geneva and Chamonix, excellent food, great prices, and a wonderful staff. Now beat that!!!

Room Tip: Get a large room overlooking the lake. There as some smaller rooms at the back that you wouldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DiamondBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We have just returned from this lovely Hotel. We had a lovely room with beautiful views of the lake and mountains. The Hotel, food, and the staff was all outstanding. we could not fault the place atall. Very sad to leave this beautiful hotel and the beautiful area. Thank you so much to all the staff for making our holiday amazing.

Paul and jude Spencer-White
Gloucester
England

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUDE072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Group of 4 travelling with Travel Editions May/June 2012. Lovely location, great hotel, very attentive friendly staff, imaginative menu, all this helped by warm sunny weather, made a wonderful 6 days.

Room Tip: We had rooms with balcony overlooking swimming pool, lake and mountains, what could be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFrancisClevedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

beautiful scenery fabulous hotel excellent food and staff who couldnt have been more helpful location was perfect the rooms were lovely clean and modern breakfast and dinner was great would recommend this hotel to anyone. thank you so much staff for making this trip memorable from Jim and Anne june 2012

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annemckibben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Booked this holiday with Inghams as we were travelling with our disabled daughter and thought the airport transfers would make life easier. Certainly the taxi awaiting us with the pleasant and helpful Cristian driving gave us a smooth start to our holiday. Arrived at Hotel Le Grillon at around 11pm so were amazed and delighted to find a gormet meal laid out ready for us in our room. This standard of helpfulness pervaded our whole stay. The meals were of a very high standars, as was the service. Great attention to detail without being stuffy. We have travelled widely with our daughter, but never before has a waiter offered to cut up her meal for us in the kitcher, so that we could all enjoy our meals hot. A thoughtful and considerate touch which was so typical of Le Grillon going that step further to ensure your holiday is special. The scenery is stunning. Out of season boats and buses are infrequent but regular, so trips require a bit of forward planning, but we used both forms of transport each day and all worked well. The work into Tailloire follows the Lake and was manageable even for our disabled daughter.Annecy is a beautiful city, well worth visiting-I can see why previous contributors likened it to Bruge. Altogether a reaxing and memorable holiday-we intend to return! Thanks to all the staff and special love from Louise X

Room Tip: Definitely need a lake view-stunning. A balcony was great too-worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjennifer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talloires
1.2 mi away
Le Cottage Bise
Le Cottage Bise
#2 of 10 in Talloires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
#4 of 10 in Talloires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Du Pere Bise
Auberge Du Pere Bise
#3 of 10 in Talloires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Site
Hotel Le Beau Site
#5 of 10 in Talloires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Logis La Charpenterie
Logis La Charpenterie
#7 of 10 in Talloires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
6.7 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Grillons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Grillons

Property: Hotel Les Grillons
Address: 1199 Route d Angon, 74290 Talloires, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Talloires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Talloires
#1 Romantic Hotel in Talloires
#1 Family Hotel in Talloires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Grillons 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Les Grillons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Grillons Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing