We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away form home”
Review of Hotel Avancher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Avancher
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

What a pleasant surprise! Arriving at this hotel felt like coming home and being among friends rather than the impersonal feeling you get when checking in to a large business- or tourist hotel. We arrived Val d’isere by car, having driven across the French alps from Marseille. Without a hotel reservation we just decided to stop and ask if they had any available rooms. The hotel owner was very friendly and welcoming, and we were soon able to unpack and relax in a small but very nice room. Both the room itself as well as the bathroom looked brand new, or at least it must have been recently renovated. Downstairs there is a cozy living room with lots of different books and board games for the guests to use. Excellent breakfast with healthy and good food. Free Wi-Fi and free parking. We will definitely be going back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sivert80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_LAvancher, Propriétaire at Hotel Avancher, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Hello! Thank you for this review! We really want to give comfort and welcome! Thank you again and see you next time in Val d'Isère!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Avancher
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

Nice hotel with garage for our bikes and an incredibly helpful manager. He even helped us three swedish bikers who had no idea that getting a hotel room in Nice at the beginning of august is nearly impossible, to find a room there.
Will definitely stay there if i come to val d`Isere again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank par_hedberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_LAvancher, Propriétaire at Hotel Avancher, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Nice to see that you had a great time in Nice! I have even received the high-pressure water cleaner for the next time you will come! See you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed her in July so take that into context if you are researching a skiing trip. We thought is was a fabulous stay. A very short walk to the center of beautiful old-town and lots of eating options. The staff (FRED!) were amazingly friendly and helpful and attentive. Some of the best hosting we've ever had. We has a nice room with a terrace for sitting for a reasonable price (I'm sure its triple the price in winter). Nice bar. The best inclusive breakfast we had in france. Great choice!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PelleasPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_LAvancher, Propriétaire at Hotel Avancher, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you very much for this review! I confirm that the price is not the same in Winter. However, it is still on the lower part of the 3-stars hotel. Hope to see you again in Val d'Isère !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We loved our stay. Cozy (small) room. Great breakfast. Friendly staff. Right on the shuttle route and across from a supermarket.

When it came time to leave, we had a super early bus (like 6 AM). The shuttle was not going to be running yet and the proprietress insisted on personally waking up that early to drive us in her own car to the bus station. What amazingly warm hospitality. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2Trave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This "pre"-Easter was our 3rd visit to the hotel, which was sold Autumn 2012. We almost immediately sensed that this was going to bee good, and it was!! They have started the restaurant all week except Sundays, and they are doing well. .We think the restaurant has allowed them to increase from a 2star to a 3 start. Well worth itWe had Raclette " as usual", but the dessert....oh-la-la!! Chocalate lava cake with sprbet - Worth the meal alone :)

A new sauna in in place and it is beautiful. Not tested, but definetely next time. Go there and stay? Do it, we do not think that you will be disappointed.

Next time I think we eat there more often.

Maria and Jorgen Knap, Norway

Room Tip: If you will avoid "singing" people in the middle of the night, you have to afford the room...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jørgen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I always try to equate value to both quality and price. I'll happily spend 250 Euros on dinner or $400 on a hotel room if I perceive it to be value for money. Which presents me with a problem when it comes to anywhere in Val d'Isere. I know that wherever I stay my wallet will be lightened and I'll feel slightly resentful at the value I've received, which is exactly the case with my 220 Euro per night stay in Hotel L'Avancher.

I'd sum up my stay as a teeny room with a bit basic and dated decor in a slightly tired looking little hotel, on the outskirts of town, but with a great breakfast.

If I'd stayed there for my whole holiday, then I think I'd start to find the place rather claustrophobic.

Room Tip: Try to avoid getting a room on the second floor as the narrow steep staircase is a right pain.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkAnnaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_LAvancher, Propriétaire at Hotel Avancher, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your review.

We know that the rates in Val d'isère are really high. However, our hotel is in the lower part in the rates scale in Val d'Isère. Moreover, we are working hard in the rooms to give them the comfort but keep the atmosphere of a real chalet.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We're just back after a week at L'Avancher starting 26th December. The hotel has a great location a few mins walk from the town centre handy for restaurants and shops yet away from the noise at night time when you want to sleep after a hard day on the slopes. There is a ski hire shop opposite the hotel, Iseran Sport 2000, which is great and the slopes are literally a few mins walk away.
Fred and his team were fabulous and nothing was too much bother. Breakfast is plentiful with a very warm and friendly hostess and we ate at the hotel restaurant one evening during our stay which was probably the best meal we had out of all the restaurants we frequented in Val D'Isere. We had free parking just at the front of the hotel which is where the ski room and lockers are located which was extremely handy. Free wifi in our bedroom which was fast complemented our stay. Highly recommended and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#5 of 39 in Val d'Isere
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#4 of 39 in Val d'Isere
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
#13 of 39 in Val d'Isere
119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kandahar
Hotel Kandahar
#21 of 39 in Val d'Isere
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avancher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avancher

Address: Avenue du Prariond | Bus Stop UCPA, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
#5 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range: £200 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avancher 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Avancher spirit remains in a brand new setting. Built more than 60 years ago, the Avancher Hotel has completely been rebuilt during Summer 2017. Frédéric Monneret and his team have managed to reconcile the warm and friendly atmosphere of this historic cottage with the comfort of a hotel of today. The 37 rooms from 24 to 61 m² have got all the equipment for a cozy stay: king size bed, large flat screen TV, high-speed Wi-Fi, bath, refrigerator, safe, kettle... Nothing has been forgotten, a renowned restaurant where we kept the same recipe: a gourmet cuisine with fresh and local products. A bar with two atmospheres: wine bar on one side, lounge and fireplace on the other side. A spa with a Jacuzzi, 2 Saunas, a Hammam and a massage room, all with a breathtaking view of the mythical Bellevarde Olympic face, a children's playroom, a covered parking area with a Tesla charger located in the basement of the hotel. A 5 minutes’ walk from the center of the resort and 50 m from the free bus stop, you can enjoy the animations of the resort without undergoing its noise. In addition, you will return directly skis to the feet to the hotel. Finally, Frédéric and his team know how to make your life easier: they will organize your transfers or ski passes bookings. " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Avancher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Avancher France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing