We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Val D Isere”
Review of Hotel Le Brussels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Brussels
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best location in Val D Isere”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We first had lunch on the sun terrace,which was lovely,before deciding to stay another week in Val. After a disappointing first week in the Blizzard, we decided to try the Le Brussels, as the location was first class and the staff and owners so helpful. The rooms look to have be done up recently, and we had a junior suite on the first floor,which opens onto a massive communal terrace, overlooking the ski slopes and the mountains, the view is amazing!! It is literally one of the few ski in/ out hotels in Val Disere, and the lunch terrace is very popular. The bar has been done up in the last 3 months and looks lovely,but unfortunately is very quiet,needs music and advertising I think,as no-one knows its there!! Swimming pool,sauna,steam room and spa all new and beautiful. The staff at this hotel were really friendly,but sometimes takes a while at lunchtime for your order, but with the sun beating down and cosy pillows, who cares??

Room Tip: First floor, mountain views,have amazing large communal balcony,not so private, but with deck chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackfish365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBrussels, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Brussels, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Family Slater,
We would like to thank you very much for the time taken to share your feedback following your stay at l'Hôtel Le Brussel's.
We are pleased that you noted our great location and thank you for mentionning our staff, you cannot imagine how it's important for us to satisfy our Guest.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in a close future.
The whole team of The Hôtel Le Brussel's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    30
    24
    13
    10
See reviews for
31
32
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Been back a couple of weeks and been thinking about what I want to say about this place. I didn't think it warranted a Poor Rating so have opted for Average to be fair. The only thing this place has going for it is the location and some lovely staff. Can I also add at this point, the incident about a missing pair of sunglasses from my room - it will always remain a mystery - and let's leave it at that. I have the case as a momento of them!

Let's move onto the ski/boot room. One of the best (in size) that I have ever come across. However - no door that is locked - so open to anyone (including non-residents) who would pass it enroute to the toilets. Reception will provide you with a padlock to lock your skis - however, your boots are left in the open.

Food - bordering on poor! I can recount 2 good meals (the rack of lamb) and the steak tartare. I decided on the steak tartare on the last day, as I gave up with my food always being cold (someone else has mentioned - hot plates but cold food). One of the worst was the fish on the first night and 7 hour cooked lamb shank - absolutely freezing in the middle! The boiled egg machine at breakfast was hideous! Only realised on the last morning that I should have asked for fresh coffee/tea from the kitchen - and only overheard someone else do it telling the staff they refused to use the machine with the "dirty water"!

The room - someone has mentioned avoid rooms with a 5 in them. Let's add a 7 as well! We were in room 307. We had one power socket available (well 2 because I unplugged the television) and managed to mount a chair to use the socket near the ceiling for something else. I could manage with the compactness and 1970's orange bathroom suite - but THE NOISE from the bar just below (not hotel bar) was unbelievable. Lucky if it got quiet before 3am. And of course, everyone stands outside smoking!

The spa has the potential to be lovely if rules regarding children were observed. Clearly, acceptable for some parents to think that dive bombing into the pool is acceptable as well as having ice fights! We managed a couple of times to avoid these groups and enjoyed some peace and quiet. Acutally, our bathroom was so poor that we did do our bathing in the spa facilities where they had proper shower facilities.

We were never meant to be at this hotel and were saddened when our tour operator told us that we were being switched here as they no longer had a contract with Hotel Tsantaleina. I will definately be seeking out someone that does have the contract and return there!

Room Tip: I certainly would not ask for 307 again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBrussels, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Brussels, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,
We would to thank you for your review and for your nice comments. However, it seems we haven't be able to meet your expectations, please accept our sinceres apologies for the different inconveniences.
Your feedback is very important for us that is why we took it very seriously in consideration.
Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback, we are looking to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards,
The whole team of the Hotel Le Brussel's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed in a group of 6 and the hotel could not have been better suited to our needs. Great restaurant, great location, great room (we stayed in the 2bed suite which overlooks the slopes), great spa and above all found the staff to be fantastic. We will be returning next year!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBrussels, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Brussels, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the time taken to share you great review following your stay in our hotel. We feel very happy as it seems we have been able to meet your expectations.
We all look forward to welcome you back in a close futur.
Best Regards,
The whole team of the Hotel Le Brussel's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vedbaek, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Awesome hotel, highly recommend it, great location, great food, great spa, so all in all the perfect hotel for a family trip to the best ski resort in the world.

Great staff, clean rooms, great food..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mikkel111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBrussels, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Brussels, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to share your great review following your stay at the Hôtel Le Brussel's.
We have been delighted to welcome you and we do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in a close future !
Best regards,
The whole team of the Hôtel Le Brussel's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Two sides to this hotel. The first is of the restaurant - excellent food with wonderful friendly service. We were told a new chef has taken over. Then there is the rest of the hotel - front of house service is bad - you're told where everything is but not shown and this hotel is like a rabbit warren. Lifts are crazy, you have to go through a lift to get to the corridor leading to the ski room! The room we were in was very small with no drawer space to put clothes. Hanging space was also at a premium. Bathroom had shower with all the sprays and fittings for a massage but if you were a large person you would struggle to get in or out of it. A jacuzzi bath which didn't work. As for breakfast, however, although the variety and quality is very good the service is poor. The egg boiler didn't work (15minutes to boil egg!) and one of the two coffee, tea etc machines didn't work. The bar lacked atmosphere and the spa was very mediocre and again no staff to be seen.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wombourne_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBrussels, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Brussels, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to write your review after your stay in the Hotel Le Brussel's.
I would like also to present you sincere apologies as it seems we haven’t be able to meet your expectations, we feel very sorry about it.
Your feedback is very important for us that is why we took it very seriously in consideration. We shared it with the whole staff in order to take the right decisions to avoid this kind of issues.
We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in a close future.
Best Regards,
The whole tean of the Hôtel Le Brussel's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We all had a good holiday in this ski in/out hotel. We thought the staff were all very friendly and helpful. We dislike excessive service (and the constant need for tips) so the low key approach suited our family group. Breakfast buffet was perfect for us and the 4 course dinner which was included was always good and sometimes very good. The wine list was amazing. The spa pool area was lovely but noisy at times with boisterous children. As the spa staff were anxious about this maybe family swimming times could be introduced ? I had 2 excellent massages from Claudia who was well trained and caring. We were in rooms 405 and 406. Hilarious that there was no 5th floor given previous comments. Yes the rooms were very warm indeed. But we coped by turning off the radiator and opening the balcony door a little. The rooms were a little compact by the door/bathroom but there was lots of storage space and they were well stocked. Towels were changed daily even when hung up neatly. Rooms were very clean and dust free.

Room Tip: 4th floor was very quiet. I enjoyed running up and down the stairs to keep fit !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBrussels, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Brussels, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to post this review on TripAdvisor. We have been delighted to read you and to share your feedback with the whole team.
We acknowledge your comments regarding the noise at the spa, we assure you that a better regulation has been implemented about children since your stay.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in a close future.
Best Regards,
The team of the Hôtel Le Brussel's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Dear All,
A part the situation, the facilities are horrible, elevator is ridiculous, and the rooms is way too small.
The restaurant is ok, nothing exceptional, a part the outside terrace which is quite nice in the afternoon for a quick lunch or coffee.
Service is quite bad, no valet, no one to take care of your luggage.
Overall is hotel is very small and tight...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBrussels, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Brussels, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to share on TripAdvisor your feedback following your stay in our hotel.
Please accept our sincere apoligies as it seems we haven't be able to meet your expectations.
Be sure that we have noted your comments, however, know that your stay was one year ago, as many season hotel in Val d'isère, our team has almost completely changed and many changes have been made since your stay.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel, we will be delighted to organise your stay and to propose you the service you deserve.
Best regards,
The whole team of the Hotel Le Brussel's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Val d'Isere hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#6 of 39 in Val d'Isere
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Avancher
Hotel L'Avancher
#9 of 39 in Val d'Isere
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellier
Hotel Bellier
#13 of 39 in Val d'Isere
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Brussels

Property: Hotel Le Brussels
Address: rue de la Poste | Derrière la Poste, 73151 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val d'Isere
#13 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Brussels 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a beautiful charming hotel located in the heart of Val d'Isère.Located on the slopes, guests can easily goand discover of one of the finest ski areas.You only have to go through the door to walk in the delightful village of Val d'Isere: shopping, leisure and sporting activities are at your doorstep!Enjoy a unique stay, a warm atmosphere in this chalet blending traditional charm and modern Savoyard for a comfort always ensured.The 53 rooms, which include junior suites and VIP Side will seduce you with its unique design that combines elegance with natural wood, precious fabrics and traditional furniture, it is a real invitation to relax.For all our rooms, a range of services is at your disposal:LuggageConciergeRoom ServiceLaundrySafeValetFree Wifi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Brussels France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing